LSU Health New Orleans Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
LSU Health New Orleans Chancellor Larry H. Hollier
Larry H. Hollier
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Company to Work for and Great Benefits(in 4 reviews)

  • "The benefits are pretty good, with many different health insurance options that give the employee access to different physician networks in New Orleans(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great benefits package"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRC II 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LSU Health New Orleans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    21 days of paid leave a year in addition to public holidays and 10 days from Christmas to New year

    Cons

    Not a very competitive enivronment

    LSU Health New Orleans2019-06-12
  2. "Toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LSU Health New Orleans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I cannot think of any pros

    Cons

    The work culture is toxic!

    Continue reading
    LSU Health New Orleans2020-05-08
  3. "Nice place"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Research Associate in New Orleans, LA

    I have been working at LSU Health New Orleans full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment and nice co-workers

    Cons

    No vertical mobility or raises

    LSU Health New Orleans2020-03-20
  4. "Supportive Department, Good labs"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LSU Health New Orleans part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Labs are not ultra competitive or stressful, people in departments are friendly to each other.

    Cons

    First year of coursework can be tough.

    LSU Health New Orleans2019-07-15
  5. "Wonderful benefits, but very stressful at times"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LSU Health New Orleans full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits, leave policies (separate sick and annual), great co-workers. Having Christmas to New Years off was an awesome perk.

    Cons

    Heavy workloads and expectations, at least in my department. Raises heavily tied to who was in the governor's office. Worked during Jindal's tenure as governor, who believed in 'doing more with less', and near constant hiring freezes and budget cuts meant worries about job security.

    Continue reading
    LSU Health New Orleans2019-06-06
  6. "very friendly place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LSU Health New Orleans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    people here are very supportive and friendly

    Cons

    the resources are not wealthy

    LSU Health New Orleans2019-03-25
  7. "Great Culture, Dynamic new CEO"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LSU Health New Orleans full-time

    Pros

    After the recent reorganization, the culture has drastically shifted in the direction of innovation. Huge breath of fresh air to an organization that needed it. The executive team is all been in place for about a year, and seem to all be on the same page. Newer, younger staff have also helped to bring fresh perspective.

    Cons

    If your don't have an open mind, it will be hard to keep up.

    Continue reading
    LSU Health New Orleans2018-08-16
  8. "Great 2-3 year position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LSU Health New Orleans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a research associate, my work experience is mostly dependent upon the professor I work for. With that, my general experience with LSUHSC is also good. As a state entity, the hiring process at LSUHSC is very long (1-2 months) because your application has to be routed to a few different people and then signed off on it. The benefits are pretty good, with many different health insurance options that give the employee access to different physician networks in New Orleans. Everyone I work with (in the School of Public Health) is friendly and nice. Because I'm in an academic position, everyone I work with wants me to succeed professionally and are willing to help in any way they can. LSU offers tuition waivers for employees, so the opportunity for gaining more education and resulting promotions/job opportunities is great.

    Cons

    Much like other academic institutions, getting anything done is a process. IRBs, grant applications, etc. If the person needed to sign off on something is on vacation or at a conference, the process comes to a halt until they return. The business managers (who most money related things are relayed through) can sometimes act as if you are making their job harder. Undoubtedly, they do have a very complicated job, managing many grants and academic funding, but you are only asking them to do their job.

    Continue reading
    LSU Health New Orleans2018-08-10
  9. "Great benefits but work atmosphere is nowhere near like it used to be with the previous admin/HR team."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LSU Health New Orleans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Most departments allows flexibility with work hours within reason.

    Cons

    Family/work life balance is not like it used to be. Accommodations are also different. Overall management isn’t supportive anymore.

    LSU Health New Orleans2018-08-06
  10. "Good benefits unless you want to have a family soon."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at LSU Health New Orleans full-time

    Pros

    Excellent leave and health benefits, and competitive salary.

    Cons

    No flexibility for working from home. No paid family leave.

    LSU Health New Orleans2018-07-23
Found 62 reviews