LUSH North America Reviews | Glassdoor

LUSH North America Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 426 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
LUSH North America CEO Mark Wolverton
Mark Wolverton
207 Ratings
  1. "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Emeryville, CA

    I have been working at LUSH North America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount Meet new people Management supports you when you ask for it

    Cons

    They are slow to give you more hours so that's mainly the reason why most people leave. The job is emotionally demanding.

    Advice to Management

    I really love the people I work with including my manager. Management I've met so fair have been really nice. I just hope that Management knows that they have a lot of good people working for them and too make sure they don't forget us and how hard we work.

    LUSH North America2019-04-17
  2. "Sales Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Ambassador in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LUSH North America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount, 50%, wonderful uplifting/positive environment and they will help you grow weather you want to stay with the company or leave. PT/FT both get PTO and Bereavement.

    Cons

    No full time position other than Store Manager or Assistant Store Manager (in retail stores)

    Advice to Management

    Give the lack of full time positions feedback to corporate.

    LUSH North America2019-04-10
  3. "Great values, great people, great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Ambassador in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to be yourself Good benefits Employee Discount Fun, inactive environment

    Cons

    Very few positions to move up in because every one loves their job.

    LUSH North America2019-04-02
  4. "Great Work Environment and Overall Great Company Morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Ambassador in Buford, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LUSH North America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Wonderful ethics in place for both employees and customers - Decent pay - Open management that always listens - Great team environment - In general a lot of fun!

    Cons

    - Can be slightly pushy towards customers - Sometimes needs more transparency

    LUSH North America2019-03-28
  5. "Great as a part time gig, but psychologically extremely demanding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist, in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally positive outlook and uplifting atmosphere. Depending on the manager, some free product through contests. Open to discussion about mental health in the workplace. Good as a stop in your career, not a good final destination.

    Cons

    Extremely focused on meeting monetary goals (obviously, it's a retail environment) so much so that it is detrimental to the psychological well being of the employees. Inconsistent and erratic skill development despite purported focus on it. Rules around everything and anything change constantly and with little concrete reasoning. It's a multi-national company with a mom and pop mentality- with all the problems that would...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of when your personal prejudices are impacting promotions, scheduling and feedback.

    LUSH North America2019-04-11
  6. "Great ethics positive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working here because of the environment. The training was very efficient and the managers always worked with you and even did a review at the end personally every shift to see what you progressed in. The discount is also amazing at 50%! I was able to grow as a person and learn so many things about the environment and good ethics. Everytime they saw you progress, they'd always recognize it and encourage you which...

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons is varying from management. When I worked there, there was a MIT that was pretty biased on who she liked or disliked. If she disliked someone, it showed very clearly and aggressively. Another con may be that they push really hard on sales sometimes and can give you a bit of anxiety. The pay is terrible as well for such a big company. Also to advance or get raises is nearly impossible.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend to be less pushy about sales and continue the positive environment.

    LUSH North America2019-03-22
  7. "I miss the smell and free samples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I always felt super clean and loved getting to be around all of the products. The apron was cool.

    Cons

    Some of the people I worked with were annoying and I was once pressured... almost forced... to go talk to some customers theee times in a row, after they angrily told me they were just looking and did not want any help.

    Advice to Management

    I think they’ve mostly got it down. Really know how to create a brand.

    LUSH North America2019-03-20
  8. "Must be very comfortable with people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free products/discounts, freedom of self expression

    Cons

    You pretty much have to invade people's personal space or you get reprimanded.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    LUSH North America2019-04-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Their discount is everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at LUSH North America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount activated as soon as you get onboard Samples samples and more samples

    Cons

    Catty coworkers. It’s like being in mean girls

    LUSH North America2019-03-06
  10. "Rewarding, Engaging Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, campaigns and work environment,

    Cons

    Not paid a livable wage. No advancement easily obtainable past certain levels

    LUSH North America2019-02-28
Found 426 reviews