LUSH North America "pushy" Reviews | Glassdoor

LUSH North America Employee Reviews about "pushy"

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
LUSH North America CEO and President Mark Wolverton
Mark Wolverton
245 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "staff can be a little pushy at times(in 72 reviews)

  • "It’s hard to get hired on full time(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pushy"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Work Environment and Overall Great Company Morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Ambassador in Buford, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LUSH North America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Wonderful ethics in place for both employees and customers - Decent pay - Open management that always listens - Great team environment - In general a lot of fun!

    Cons

    - Can be slightly pushy towards customers - Sometimes needs more transparency

    LUSH North America2019-03-28
  2. "You Have to Unlearn all of your social cues to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Wayne, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some great, upbeat people and comprehensive training. Demonstrating the products was fun.

    Cons

    They really push you to perform their version of customer service, which I found pushy and invasive (ie continuing to ask customers questions after they tell you they're just looking in order to get them to "open up", ignoring customers' body language and not leaving them alone when they don't want help). Also, constant presence of managers or floor leaders who would be watching you and evaluating your performance at all times, swooping in to give "feedback" when you deviate even slightly from their "EC's of Selling"

    LUSH North America2020-02-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Cool company, questionable motives, no protection for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Leader in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount, great staff that work on the floor, high possibility of growth (if you have an active manager)

    Cons

    Intense approach to sales but claim to not be pushy, to much room for managers to take advantage of driven and ambitious workers, no work/life balance, no hr

    Continue reading
    LUSH North America2020-01-16
  4. "Alright Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Ambassador in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with quality products and meeting new customers.

    Cons

    Management claims to be very pro customer but is VERY pushy about sales even when the product doesn’t suit the customers needs.

    LUSH North America2019-05-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company and Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very inclusive No problems with self-expression Good values Good pay Potential to get a monthly bonus 50% off all products (except charity pot, knot wraps, bags) Friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Easily stressful Higher ups can be pushy A constant need to be the best The customer is always right to the extreme Lots of product waste daily

    Continue reading
    LUSH North America2019-01-21
  6. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Buckhead, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discount, environment, free products, hip atmosphere

    Cons

    pushy sales techniques and must maintain very high energy level

    Continue reading
    LUSH North America2019-01-10
  7. "Seasonal Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Seasonal Brand Ambassador in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount (50%) Good company and brand values I can advocate for and feel good about Some nice people You don't work on commision

    Cons

    - lots of problems with the manager there. He was VERY passive aggressive. I called out once in my time there and tried to apologize over the phone, he hung up on me while I was saying sorry. When on the phone, he also asked me if I could make my other shifts that week, next week, and if he should schedule me the week after that too. I said yes, I was only feeling sick that day. Then the next week's schedule comes out and I have one shift. I go in that day and hear all the other employees complaining about being so short staffed that week. So yeah, super passive aggressive. Employees that had been there longer than me complained about him too. - VERY OBVIOUS FAVORITISM. - very low pay for a sales job. they talked up bonuses when you hit or go over the target sales goal, but I've yet to see those bonuses. - no opportunities for advancement if you're not a favorite. Advancement also takes a VERY long time. - constant pushing from managers and floor leaders to go and talk to people who have already expressed that they do not need help. If you're a customer, trust me, I don't want me to be so pushy either, but I have another pushy person pressuring me to be that way, I'm sorry. -low hours. the majority of my shifts were 4 hours long. - you have to get used to customers ignoring you or shutting you down. - constant checking in with a manager after customer interactions. - you have to be an outgoing person to work here, always be high energy.

    Continue reading
    LUSH North America2018-12-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Will start by seeming very positive but negative aspects will start to slowly show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -50% discount -lax on appearance (hair color, tattoos, piercings) -you can wear your own clothes -contests with prizes during the holidays -a few times a year you get free “staff sample boxes” -close knit group of employees

    Cons

    -They will make you feel 100% disposable... there are plenty of applications always coming in for people that can and will replace you. -Youll most likely need a second job to this one. During the non-holiday season you can be on the schedule for maybe ~7 hours a week -Regardless of how good an employee you are, you’ll almost NEVER get a raise -Managers rarely receive repercussions for incompetence/general crappiness, especially if they’re good friends with their regional manager. -It’s a sales job, but they force you to be overly pushy which can put you in an uncomfortable situation when the customer gets angry/annoyed with being constantly bothered. -You get your work schedule 1 week in advance so it’s hard to ever plan things outside of work. -Favoritism is shown in moving up the ranks

    Continue reading
    LUSH North America2018-11-05
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Management/corporate don't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LUSH North America part-time

    Pros

    50% off discount, ability to learn effects of ingredients, gain communication skills on an interpersonal level

    Cons

    If you have a terrible manager, then you're out of luck. Good Karma aka HR doesn't care if you're abused my managers and MITs and 99% of the time will never back you up. Company has expectations that push customers away aka being overly pushy. Sales goals were way too high on purpose so you could never hit goal or just barely hit goal. There is NO room for growth, and you'll have to take pay cuts and bouncing around to different locations if you want to move up, unless you have a manager/MIT playing favorites.

    Continue reading
    LUSH North America2018-08-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great and very supportive of my personal growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LUSH North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Every team I have worked with has been nothing but supportive. The atmosphere, unlike some retail spaces, is very positive. The starting pay is good plus there is a good bonus system. Finally if you choose to move up in the company they work really hard with you to achieve your goals.

    Cons

    The constant demand for really high average sale and conversion can lead to a pushy sales like atmosphere on the floor. Also since you are constantly selling you are always on and there really isn’t down time, so you need some high stamina and good people skills to last on the floor.

    Continue reading
    LUSH North America2018-05-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews