La Fosse Associates "ski trip" Reviews | Glassdoor

La Fosse Associates Employee Reviews about "ski trip"

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
La Fosse Associates CEO Simon La Fosse
Simon La Fosse
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "La Fosse seem to have the right balance between the corporate FTSE 250 and the boutique family feel(in 39 reviews)

  • "Perks: Ski Trip, Royal Ascot, Free Gym Membership amongst many others(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are long hours required but I feel that is industry standard(in 12 reviews)

  • "No cons from La Fosse - you get out what you put in(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "ski trip"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Super supportive and ambitious environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really supportive culture - if you have an idea for something internally or want to change directions within the company they'll support you to do so. Worth noting that they're really supportive outside of work too if ever people are having personal difficulties. Culture is big on the agenda, but comes down to rewarding people for their work, supporting ambition, and generally being a nice place to work with nice people. Just got back from our company ski trip where they sent 130 of us to the slopes for a couple of days which was a great chance to bond with people from other teams etc. which always gets a bit harder as the company grows. The role can be hard at times - it's recruitment after all, but the commission scheme rewards good work, and the company recognises those going through trickier times and will offer additional training and support where they can - but asks for a good work ethic in return. Fantastic management at the top - really clued in to the business, and really open. The MD sits on the floor in an open-desk environment and will genuinely make the time for you and listen if you need it.

    Cons

    Company grew really quickly last year and with that there will always be changes which people need to adapt to. Having said that, all teething problems are are always addressed and rectified.

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2017-03-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only been with LFA for 1 month, but have been really impressed so far. I've worked in rec for 3 years and was in a large organisation for a few years before that, and this is the best culture of any business I've been a part of. People have made a genuine effort to get to know new people, coffee, lunch etc, and the business highlights 'culture wins' ahead of company performance, and its still performing extremely well. Combine that with a very high standard of personnel and great benefits e.g massages, free gym, company wide annual ski trip, huge seasonal events and its a pretty great place to work.

    Cons

    CRM needs updating moving forward

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2019-09-25

    La Fosse Associates Response

    September 28, 2019CEO

    That’s so good to hear....especially in the context of you having worked in a number of other companies...thank you. And with regard to the CRM we hear you and it will be updated in due course. It’s a big investment in both money and time but we are building a fund and would expect to have it underway within 12 months assuming continued strong trading.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Initial impressions are all positive... even better than I had expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in the rec industry for 7 years now, starting out with the biggest name in the UK and then moved in to boutique and more specialist firms. La Fosse seem to have the right balance between the corporate FTSE 250 and the boutique family feel. I've only been here a month, but thought right to share my initial impressions - I know from experience that you get a 'vibe' from a company immediately, even at interview stage. I'm treated like an adult, surrounded and supported by the biggest billers in London and have the managerial support to go along with it. The commission heavily outweighs any other package I've looked at in the past and the incentives (ski trip, days out, summer party) are just the icing on the cake. It's easy for a junior recruiter to join a firm and become brainwashed at a new business, but take it from a guy that's been there and done it - I feel proud to be a part of the best in the business and look forward to developing my career further at La Fosse.

    Cons

    There's a level of expectation because everyone else around you is doing well, but it has certainly given me a wake up call as to what hard work actually looks like!

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2019-08-29

    La Fosse Associates Response

    September 20, 2019CEO

    Thank you 😊. As an experienced recruiter it feels especially good to have you give such a positive review. Thanks also for your point about supporting the managers; it’s a really challenging ( and sometimes thankless) job and it’s helpful to be reminded to not take their efforts for granted, and to give them space to deliver outside of just the profit and loss stuff.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to develop a career in recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great culture Annual ski trip Award winning training programme

    Cons

    Overly ambitious growth plans- large turnover of staff.

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2018-08-30

    La Fosse Associates Response

    September 10, 2018CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. It’s good to know that you feel our training is really strong. But puzzling to also realise that you feel we could focus on our current staff better. I guess this probably relates to things other than training. Please do talk to your line manager ( or our Head of Learning and Development) about how we can do this better for you and others. Or please talk to me (Simon) I would love to understand it better. I’m sorry that you feel our growth is overly ambitious. We think we’ve got it about right but I guess it’s a subjective thing! And lastly, with regard to staff turnover we track it very carefully and not only has it been dropping over the last year but attrition is currently at the lowest it’s been for about three years; and it’s always been below the industry average. There’s always more to do however. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  6. "Associate Consultant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Victoria, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Clear and achievable career progression - Excellent training programme - Great environment to work in - Excellent bunch of people to work with - Annual Ski trip!

    Cons

    - Long hours, as expected with any recruitment job

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2018-02-08

    La Fosse Associates Response

    July 21, 2018CEO

    Thanks for the feedback!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "La Fosse champions diversity in the workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time

    Pros

    Having recently graduated from university, I had mainly heard horror stories about what the world of recruitment would be like. I had done my homework on La Fosse, however I was still unprepared for how genuine the working environment would actually be compared to others. I could go on about the Ski trip and Gym benefits, but for me it's the small things that make a massive difference. There is a really positive attitude towards women in the work place, with a lot of women in senior roles. It's also demonstrated on a smaller scale by having sanitary pads and things in the toilets, which is such a small thing but it's incredibly thoughtful and clearly someone has put effort and money into making women feel comfortable in the workplace. Another little thing I like is the kitchen which is well stocked with free fruit and little pastries in the morning, and lots of different types of milk from lactose free to almond milk. The ops team have clearly put a lot of thought into providing for everyone and making sure everyone's needs are looked after.

    Cons

    Honestly, I did feel the long hours when I joined but everything that can be done to make it more bearable is- getting to leave early on Fridays really helps too.

    La Fosse Associates2017-10-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "La Fosse Associates - 1 year on..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very tight-knit team; sociable, supportive & friendly - High quality and detailed training from your first day, with different modules depending on your experience level; new starter, consultant, the business development accelerator, future business leaders etc. - Down to earth, approachable and visible leadership team, who engage with you on a daily basis, directors sit on the sales floor and always find the time - Clear and relatively quick progression structure (if you are willing to put the hard work in!) Perks: Free Gym membership, Annual ski trip, Weekly Football & Rugby (free), Friday drinks and early finish, Daily breakfast (Pastries & Fruit), Good commission structure...

    Cons

    - To echo previous reviews, the CRM system can be frustrating. There are systems on the market which would not only be more user-friendly but also make daily tasks a lot simpler (saving time and enabling the business to make more money.) - As a relatively young business, account development is certainly an area for improvement. With so many new clients, commercially we should now be focussed on maximising and improving our partnerships rather than focussing on 'new clients' - Naturally, cross-team collaboration has been an area of difficulty, you make more commission from filling your own roles, rather than passing work over. This is improving though and it's everyone's responsibility to make this shift. - Attrition, whether new talent are not screened sufficiently or it's a natural consequence of high growth, I'm not sure - but this has been significant in my 12 months here.

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2017-09-13

    La Fosse Associates Response

    September 22, 2017CEO

    Thanks for both the pros and the cons. I agree that our account development could and should be better. There's now a programme in place that focuses exactly on that and we'll be reporting back results soon to everyone. We should be doing it alongside winning new business rather than instead of but either way we should be doing it better. We've always done a good job for our clients first time round so it's pushing against an open door. Importantly we need to ensure that it has the same profile internally as winning new business. I agree also with having a continuous focus on cross selling. Nearly 70% of our business is cross sold and it continues to benefit us all. And yes management have a role to play in this alongside everyone just stepping up and doing what is culturally right at our heart. And lastly yes attrition has been a little higher than we would have liked mostly down to growing fast but we shouldn't use that as an excuse. Again, we're aware of it and there's a whole range of actions that have been taken to ensure that our graduates are cared for even more in their first year. It's a tough time not least because it's generally their first full time role but also because recruitment is a demanding business when you're starting out. It's easy when you're established with your clients and your candidates to forget the effort that went into getting to that point. And once we have helped them to get past that first anniversary everything just seems to click into place much more easily. You have the start of a network and a whole bunch of skills to deploy that you just didn't have when you first joined us. Lastly, your advice is just spot on. We will strive to do exactly that...thank you

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture: The way that people treat each other internally is reflective of the brand that LFA tries to promote itself externally. It has none of the reputation of a sales company - it is supportive and collaborative. Management: Many of whom are managing for the first time, the Managers at LFA are great. Always looking out for your best interests, supporting your career growth and helping you personally as well as professionally. Commission: A very rewarding scheme that means you can make serious money quickly. It also financially rewards the sharing of work - which makes people naturally more inclined to work collaboratively. Development: LFA must have some of the best training around - delivered by internal and external trainers, but also managers who give up their time to help those new to the job. Perks: Ski Trip, Royal Ascot, Free Gym Membership amongst many others.

    Cons

    Future Direction: There are some question marks about what sort of company La Fosse wants to be, and it is not that convincing whether it will be able to keep the positives listed above as it grows. Recent high turnover: 2017 has seen a lot of new people leave after a brief time, the Directors need to work out why, because it's very noticeable in a small(ish) company. It could be related to the points above and below. Clarity when hiring: A number of present and past employees have cited the fact that it wasn't clearly defined how the commission structure works at various levels, as well as desk costs etc.

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2017-09-08

    La Fosse Associates Response

    September 22, 2017CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write this and I think you make a lot of valid points. It's especially rewarding to hear you talk about the more caring side of our culture . Supportive and collaborative is exactly what we aim for and we're really focussed on maintaining this as we grow. It won't be easy but it's what defines us and I believe there's a strong collective desire to achieve this. It's good to hear that you feel our first time managers are also reflecting this as to an extent, our future culture is going to be determined by them. Looking back, I think that growing our headcount by 50% in one year meant that it was difficult to give everyone the attention they should have had. We're in a great place now but absorbing this growth was more challenging than we would have wished for and I think that going forward we are keen to grow as quickly as we can but will only do this whilst ensuring that everyone has all the time and attention that they rightly deserve.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A Unique Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive atmosphere: With everyone receiving equity in the company, people are genuinely interested in seeing their colleagues do well - Fantastic commission structure: 33%, plus revenue splits on cross-sold work, which allows for the opportunity to make serious money - High quality and volume of training for all seniority levels - Perks: Free gym membership, annual ski trip, shares, massages/hypnotherapy, the list goes on... - Genuinely sociable and friendly atmosphere, the people who act against that are a tiny minority - Clear leadership figures who always have time to help, no matter who asks for it

    Cons

    - The CRM system! In definite need of an upgrade and would be a change that would benefit everyone in the company - Higher attrition rate in the last year, partly due to the massive growth the company experienced prior

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2017-09-02

    La Fosse Associates Response

    October 21, 2017CEO

    Thank for your comments and for giving us such a high rating. Thanks also for highlighting our commission structure. Whilst we don’t shout about it we have designed it to be the best in our industry so it’s good to know it’s appreciated. Thanks also for your advice WRT to transparency. It’s a good point and one that anyone in a management role should be focussed on. I personally believe you can never over communicate and we will continue to be open with the whole company in terms of things we feel are less than perfect and to be clear about what we are doing to resolve the issues. Apart from anything else if the whole company is aware then everyone can play their role to help implement the solution. Thanks.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Fosse Associates full-time

    Pros

    - A great platform to earn a lot of money (not without hard work and commitment), however a lot more than recruitment average & not having to be 30+ a director to earn it. - Tranaparent commission structure - 33% - Big brand - 9/10 times, when I pick up the phone, candidates and clients know who we are, having previously delivered, this is a good thing & instantly feels like a warm call. - Internal L&D team who are pretty decent and will offer range of training (just ask for it). - They back you if you deliver & give you autonomy to hire, build new markets etc. - New CEO (promoted from MD) sits on sales floor, as do Directors etc. - Perks (shares (if we sell), free gym, monthly massage, fruit/croissants in the morning, annual ski trip, Friday drink (s) etc. - 99% of the people are sound and will be friends (very socialable environment) you will be guaranteed to make a friend for life along the way too. - Good environment, there's no sharky business that takes place like what from you here at other agencies. No candisate ownership and cross sold culture where you're financially incentivised. - Genuine candidate care aim, candidates come friends, there's no internal ownership, our only KPI is getting back to candidates which is the right thing to do and massively appreciated.

    Cons

    - Hangover effect from a tricky period of ambitious growth, whereby several bad hires were made. - No working from home (for those that it may appeal to, personally, I'm not bothered) culture. - CRM system - we need an upgrade. Please. Having said this - these are all fixable and at the beating core, LFA is definitely one of the best outfits out there & an amazing opportunity to build your career.

    Continue reading
    La Fosse Associates2017-08-31

    La Fosse Associates Response

    October 22, 2017CEO

    Thanks for all the points you make. Good to hear that our brand helps you when you’re doing your work. Not just in terms of brand recognition but also that the name represents a quality way of working. It’s something we’ve aspired to from the first day’s trading and its great to know that 9/10 times you get this reaction. I didn’t realise it was this high :) It also makes me realise what a debt we owe the people who have worked in a certain way every day over many years to create this brand. And also the collective responsibility we have to do our bit to at least maintain, and preferably enhance this brand reputation through our own day to day efforts. CRM...yes we’re on it! Working from home does go on actually. Not across the board but certainly available if it makes sense. Most of the Mothers at LFA work from home at least some of time and there’s also flexibility for others. I like your advice about light KPI’s. We’re not against them per se and they do help people to have structure and understand what they need to do to be successful. So as a guide they are helpful but we will always avoid using them over rigorously or they become counterproductive IMO. With regard to promoting from within this is always our preference and we have a great track record of this. I think about 70% of our managers have been internally promoted into their roles. Our recently promoted CEO started as a team leader seven years ago. Our Director of the Contract division ( 60 people) joined us as a graduate 6 years ago. And Tom who recently opened our operation in Los Angeles joined as a Consultant in the UK five years ago. All great examples that we’re very proud of. And lastly our internal team of trainers spend a lot of their time helping our recently promoted managers to adapt to their new role and develop the skills they need to allow them to move quickly up the career ladder. One thing we’re thinking of is giving people management training before they are promoted into the role. So if you have aspirations to move into management please get in touch with the training team and see if you can’t help accelerate that process. Best of luck!

    Continue reading
Found 13 reviews