La Jolla Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

La Jolla Group Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
La Jolla Group CEO  Daniel Neukomm (no image)
Daniel Neukomm
25 Ratings
  1. "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Where I cut my teeth as an artist

    Cons

    Big company easy to get overshadowed

    La Jolla Group2019-10-18
  2. "Nothing is as it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can bring dog to work. Early summer Fridays.

    Cons

    With bringing your dog to work, you’re forced to go through the back entrance, which is quite far from certain associates’ desks that are clear on the other side of the building. Forced to use up PTO when office is closed during Xmas week, when we initially only receive 10 days accrued vacay and 4-5 days are forced on us at the end of the year. Much lack of career growth and mentor ship. When HR and executives are... best friends, nothing gets done. One HR “exec” is very unprofessional and pretends to act by the book, but this isn’t so. Mediocre associates seem to be rewarded while hard working associates are singled out and made to want to leave the company. The facade of being laid back is absolutely not true other than the dress code and hair choices. Allow bullying and reward the bullies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Reward your hard working associates instead of mediocre associates. - Don’t allow others to speak for the work ability of any associate. Let the associates’ work speak for itself. - Don’t solicit positive reviews. Let associates speak for themselves. - Revamp the HR team. - Stop singling out hard working associates because you will run the company to the ground.

    La Jolla Group2019-09-16
  3. "What else?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Men's Designer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La Jolla Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work/Life balance. A lot of great perks working here that they don't address - and I'll leave those awesome things for you to discover if/when you get hired! - Nice and friendly people throughout all departments. - Obviously great job stability because many people have been employed there for a long time and that is rare for a clothing company in the surf industry. - Decent creative environment for... the designers. - Management cares about their employees. Bi-Monthly meetings are held to keep staff up to date on the latest company happenings financially etc. I have enjoyed my time there and would definitely return if the opportunity was presented. Working for La Jolla Group is highly recommended.

    Show More

    Cons

    FAR from the beach.

    Advice to Management

    Please make annual destination surf trips for the staff!

    La Jolla Group2019-08-09
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La Jolla Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good discount, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Stores work weekends and nights

    La Jolla Group2019-07-29
  5. "Super laid back and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, super friendly and helpful team, great work life balance.

    Cons

    Drive can be hard sometimes

    La Jolla Group2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Severely Unethical and Lacking Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Early release on Friday's for summer hours.

    Cons

    Initially, La Jolla Group convincingly paints a picture of a laid-back surf company, where you can bring your dogs to work and enjoy a weekly free lunch. Unfortunately, this facade quickly fades, and you're sadly left with the stark realization that you're representing a company that embodies unethical practices, lack of career growth or mentor-ship, and ultimately leaves you feeling as if being a mediocre... employee is the encouraged status quo.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nurture the employees who are willing to go the extra mile, and invest in programs that promote opportunities and career goals.

    La Jolla Group2019-07-19
  7. "Laidback but fun culture !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy going and chill environment. Free lunch mondays Free Fruit delivery Bagel Wednesday’s Summer hours

    Cons

    Growth opportunity is slow. You have to work here for a loooong time (5-10years) before you get real recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t wait so long before acknowledging talent and effort. People leave bad management not bad jobs.

    La Jolla Group2019-03-06
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Don't solicit for positive reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at La Jolla Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My review does not pertain to this.

    Cons

    A year ago, while I was working I received a phone call from HR asking me if I could please leave a positive review on Glassdoor so they could get their rating up. I was told by HR that I am a very happy person and that they believe I enjoy working there. HR informed me that they only call employees that seem happy and don't call the disgruntled ones. Little did they know I didn't like working there and I was... actively looking for other jobs. I find it very dishonest that this company asks their employees to write good reviews. It is very misleading for job seekers, but also hilariously obvious when you see a slew of 5-10 positive reviews on the same day after a negative review is posted. For example, Oct. 3 has multiple reviews in a row. It’s not a coincidence. But it is up to potential candidates to determine what is and is not real when they read through Glassdoor reviews. I saw a negative review posted on here, on Sept. 3rd, from a former employee a few months back and that person's review is completely accurate of how this company runs. The work environment is very unprofessional. HR is a mess and nothing is confidential. One of the personnel on the HR team is tremendously unprofessional and grossly unprincipled. Honestly, the HR team is far below the standards expected in that department. Take what you will from this review, but here is another honest negative review from one of your former employees that you thought was happy. I guess you called the wrong person.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Don't solicit positive reviews from your employees. -I think it’s time to rethink who you have on your HR team, let go, and hire new HR personnel. -The executive team and HR team are all chummy and will probably always be there. I don’t believe anyone will be able to move up into their positions. No room for growth.

    La Jolla Group2019-02-14
  9. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company really cares about the well being of their employees. This is demonstrated by the many perks they provide including free lunches, fruits delivered every Monday, bagels on Wednesdays, early release days, fun events and generous employee discounts. They even allow you to bring your dogs (and kids) to work. They management is very relaxed and accommodating. Everyone is friendly and willing to help each... other out. Overall enjoyable work atmosphere.

    Show More

    Cons

    So far I have no complaints

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    La Jolla Group2018-12-05
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, professional without being "uptight" Management truly supports and nurtures your career growth, just need to put in the work and show your potential Amazing work culture, all levels of management support a healthy balanced work life, epitomizes work hard, play hard Bonuses: Lunch provided every Monday Fresh Fruits Bagel Wednesdays Early release on Friday all summer long Fun... parties/bbqs throughout the year

    Show More

    Cons

    You have to be self-motivated to excel here, part of the plus of not being micromanaged is that you're responsible to stay on top of your projects and duties.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    La Jolla Group2018-10-05
Found 41 reviews