La Jolla Group Reviews | Glassdoor

La Jolla Group Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
La Jolla Group Chief Executive Officer  Daniel Neukomm (no image)
Daniel Neukomm
26 Ratings
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La Jolla Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    atmosphere, CEO, and management amazing people

    Cons

    company downsizing and loss of brands

    Advice to Management

    ask every employee what they actually do when incorporating new procedures

    La Jolla Group2017-02-08
  2. "Senior accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at La Jolla Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual environment can bring dogs to work

    Cons

    Hostile environment fire good people keep because someone doesn't like them

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together you have a terrible reputation with recruiters can't keep a full staff in accounting revolving door close during holidays without pay

    La Jolla Group2017-02-03
  3. "Retail is very poorly managed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group

    Pros

    Discount. Promos. Coworker's. Clothes. Could go in drunk, you'll blend in.

    Cons

    Lacking direction, drive, trust, motivation, enthusiasm, and MANAGEMENT. Everyone acts like they care through email, but little action in person. Upper management act like they know what's going on, but never visit stores for more than 10 minutes. Plus, team and I never understand memos due to the lack of grammar. Very poorly operated. Easy to get away with anything...ANYTHING.

    Advice to Management

    communicate and manage face-to-face, not from behind a keyboard. Know what's going on. Communicate with all levels of the staff and hear what they have to say. Work a shift to have a real understanding of the business.

    La Jolla Group2016-12-21
  4. "Overall a great place, well oiled machine."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La Jolla Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New CEO is a people person, educated, understands the dynamics of multi brand functionally in the marketplace. Solid group of staff you'll work with. Work / Life balance environment. Operations is firing. Fun environment on all levels of employment. Deeply rooted into the industry and is a respectable company to have on your record. Technology is advanced

    Cons

    Favorites game from Staff level to Managment level. ( former Sr. Level so I saw it all ) Communication Needs to resource better marketing plans and direction for specific brands.

    Advice to Management

    I'll start by saying the grass is never greener on the other side. I've read all the reviews on here and some comments are telling of overall work ethic from an employee who left. Overall, LJG is a amazing place to work and if you take advantage of all it has to offer, you'll become even more successful if you leave. I mentioned favorites game well, some staff members honestly bust there butts daily, and put it all out there doing 200% while others work the 50% effort. Management seems to have it all unnoticed and it's what makes the moral fade. I'd say my only advice is to establish more key values you want your employees to live by; ( loyalty- duty - respect - selfless service - integrity ) and insure management can do the same and recognize who, are killing themselves. The fix is easy, have Managment spend 30 minutes a day actually talking with their employees and actually turn in a review on time. Also the clear communication will really help with budgeting for the right projects, hiring gaps needed for the company and overall success. Work environments are team environments right?

    Show More
    La Jolla Group2016-10-13
  5. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People make this place awesome.

    Cons

    Compensation could be much more competitive.

    La Jolla Group2016-04-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Worst experience of my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at La Jolla Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great customers! Developed some great relationships with customers who are still friends two years after I left. Difficult to come up with pros without feeding you Bologna.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management. If your not in their "friend circle" and hide their wrong doings they plot to get rid of you.

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes to what area and district management are really up to! You are hurting and firing the wrong people.

    La Jolla Group2016-01-06
  7. "Great working environment, very process oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with cool people, opportunities for lateral and vertical advancement with good benefits included 401k matching. Good lunch perks as well! New business model seems to be attracting strong brands to the portfolio

    Cons

    Action sports and surf culture not what they used to be, given focus on retail and the volatile climate it can be challenging to see aggressive growth for the company in the future.

    Advice to Management

    Share more, learn more.

    La Jolla Group2015-10-03
  8. "original surf company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Store Manager 

    I have been working at La Jolla Group

    Pros

    great employee discount, easy job

    Cons

    horrible micromanagement from all areas of upper level management

    La Jolla Group2015-09-26
  9. "Nice Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at La Jolla Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work. They balance between life & work.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the best in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Connect with your employees more and understand what they could bring to the table.

    La Jolla Group2015-06-12
  10. "An evolving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Jolla Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, company provided lunch on Mondays, very pet friendly, no one going around yelling at people or paging over an intercom. Rank and file have a positive team relationship.

    Cons

    Consumer spending dictates much of the financial success, and has rendered increases non-existent for the past few years. Turmoil at the executive level has created confidence issues.

    Advice to Management

    More honest communication. Everything is so secret now that no one knows what to expect. If you're not going to do reviews at least do something to let the employees know how much you realize they are the heart and soul of the company, not just the newest promoted manager.

    La Jolla Group2013-06-19
Found 43 reviews