La Madeleine Reviews | Glassdoor

La Madeleine Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
La Madeleine CEO John Cahill (no image)
John Cahill
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great people, fun staff, low stress job, flexible hours(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay for the amount of work they have you do(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of room for growth however(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Worker in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at La Madeleine part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience for first time workers and high school students.

    Cons

    Lots of hard work for mediocre pay

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees more and give more incentive to work harder.

    La Madeleine2019-07-21
  2. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Madeleine part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the job I do but can I get paid

    Cons

    Not getting my money. I have been here one month and still haven't gotten my check. At first it was because they didn't put my time in. Next was I put the wrong account number a week ago on my check. Still haven't got a check.

    Advice to Management

    They need to pay people their money when it's owed to them.

    La Madeleine2019-09-30
  3. "Family Company and Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La Madeleine full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As a former Manager for 14 years with La Madeleine here in DFW area, I loved it, everyday was a challenging to get better, fast paste, you learn a lot as a manager. More support is available when needed, constant training. It became my second family. Long hours though, with young family with kids, I had to take a pause a little bit. But I'll recommend anyone to apply and work for La Madeleine especially if you have... a Management Experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours, but worth it.

    Advice to Management

    As a manager, be ready to work, roll down your sleeves and work. You don't give orders, but you must be a team player, help your associates, maybe in the kitchen, cashiers, wash dishes when necessary, clean tables when necessary, be ready to deal with customers by being pro-active and use the tools to help client. You never say NO to the customers, you make it happen.

    La Madeleine2019-08-24
  4. "Greedy Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Grapevine, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at La Madeleine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Food I guess is ok.

    Cons

    Greedy Management and because of the "wage gap", men don't get promoted as easily as women. Yeah, boss was a feminist that would only promote women.

    Advice to Management

    Get real qualified people in management, not just because of a degree which doesn't even apply to restaurants. A GM with no prior Restaurant experience gets the job because she has a degree in Religion???

    La Madeleine2019-09-24
  5. "Can be fun to work here but the owner of the store is crazy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Madeleine part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give performance raises and PTO

    Cons

    The crazy owner makes the managers and employees on edge and looks for mistakes.

    Advice to Management

    They are doing great, just remind the employees that they are appreciated for what they put up with.

    La Madeleine2019-08-15
  6. "Management Issues/ Unclean Restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busser/Runner in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at La Madeleine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nice Customers - Kind Level Headed Owner

    Cons

    - Unskilled In-House Management - Pay

    La Madeleine2019-09-09
  7. "Love Working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier, Sandwich Maker in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Madeleine part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's room to grow, co-workers are friendly and have a team mentality, managers become friends with you if you're on task, if you're not they will make sure you are.

    Cons

    Sometimes there's hour cuts, Sometimes it feels like staff is always changing, work on all holidays except Christmas (prepare for mother's day because good god)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    La Madeleine2019-07-20
  8. "Drama every day not worth the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at La Madeleine part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off food that’s about it

    Cons

    A lot of favoritism openly displayed. No room for growth. Low pay. Unprofessional managers.

    La Madeleine2019-07-15
  9. "Rotating management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Busser/Runner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Madeleine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customer sometimes leaves tips you don’t have to claim

    Cons

    Bussing and running food ends up becoming impossible if you aren’t staffed correctly

    Advice to Management

    Maybe it was location they were in between gms but it was so unorganized night would pass the blame to norning and vice Versa leaving a couple employees always picking up the workload

    La Madeleine2019-07-26
  10. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pastry Chef 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at La Madeleine part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers Plenty of hours if wanted

    Cons

    Scheduled double after double Moved from pastry chef to line without asking

    Advice to Management

    Be careful scheduling your employees with so many doubles, and don't over hire for a position and let everyone fight over the shifts

    La Madeleine2019-05-28
Found 160 reviews