KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

La Quinta

Is this your company?

La Quinta

Add a Review

La Quinta Employee Reviews about "front desk"

Updated Nov 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 853 reviews

3.3
48%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
La Quinta President and Chief Executive Officer Keith A. Cline (no image)
Keith A. Cline
188 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Your pay check meeting great people working with great people the idea of having a job(in 37 reviews)
  • "Great managers are well paid(in 24 reviews)
  • "Most staff are great.(in 24 reviews)
  • "The coworkers were nice and fun to work with.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Great family owners, flexible scheduling and worked with me while I was working on my Bachelors degree.(in 10 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of La Quinta and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "front desk"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Low wage, high stress

    Jan 30, 2021 - Guest Experience Maker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work was steady, didn't have to worry about layoffs or anything like that.

    Cons

    Lower end La Quinta's have to deal with drug dealing and prostitution at their properties. This adds a lot of stress on the front desk who regularly have to deal with the police or intoxicated individuals. Overall the $9.50 an hour wasn't worth the stress

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome Place to Work

    Dec 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive coworkers, interesting guests and just an overall relaxed and productive . I wouldn't imagine being happy somewhere else

    Cons

    There are a few communications issues between housekeeping and front desk but it is easily fixed if you actually care about your guests

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent College Job

    Feb 11, 2019 - Front Desk Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The managers I worked under were some of the best.

    Cons

    Working the front desk solo during the afternoon shift could be brutal in the summer.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    "Learn as you go" job

    Aug 8, 2014 - Front Desk Service Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, when you see them 5 mins during shift change.

    Cons

    GM doesn't care about anyone but himself. No work-life balance. Not flexible with schedules. Understaffed. Manager doesn't care that they clean the very minimum. Front desk expected to do everything after 4pm. No real training for front desk. You have to learn everything as you go and don't bother asking the manager because he just gets upset like you should already know everything after the first week.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Opportunities

    Mar 20, 2018 - Front Desk Agent in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Started as a house keeper and they recognized my CS skills. Promoted to front desk short time after. Thank you

    Cons

    No cons to mention on the company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Front desk tillmans corner la quinta

    Oct 22, 2017 - Front Desk Agent in Tillmans Corner, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Better than average pay for front desk and $1 more for overnight

    Cons

    Very clickish, write ups for EVERYTHING, customer base more than average corpoate complainers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor management

    Dec 11, 2017 - Houseperson in Flagstaff, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee luncheons. you get your 40 hours, PTO, holiday pay

    Cons

    Management is snarky, rude and has a bad attitude. Weekend manager was sweet gal who spent time helping front desk, housekeeping, laundry.....tried to address concerns and made improvements. Other manager played favorites, did not allow employees to wear jacket when they were cold and sick!!!! I felt like I was a burden when I asked questions about company policy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Job for a Student

    Feb 7, 2020 - Front Desk Supervisor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family oriented and wonderful coworkers. If you are a college student working as a front desk associate can be beneficial.

    Cons

    Not enough pay for the amount of work required.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It is not a good job

    Feb 7, 2018 - Front Desk Receptionist in Reynoldsburg, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    I was making minimum wage which the manger lied and said she would pay me $9/hr and I was working full time doing 3 different jobs. The manager would not allow us any breaks orlunch even tho we were working 12 hours days. I was supposed to be a front desk rep. There are supposed to be 2 front desk reps at a time but she didn't want to hire people so there was only one. The manager had me doing the front desk, breakfast and housekeeping/janitorial/laundry all at the same time at this low pay rate. She was always gone (we assumed with her gf like usual) so we were stuck trying to figure out what we were supposed to do but most of us were new hires. The hotel was next door to a strip club so there were always dealers and escorts coming in I didn't feel safe. They overbooked because they think ppl are going to cancel which is a greedy way of thinking. Some ppl who had rooms couldn't get their rooms because they told us to overbook and we had to send them to lower cost hotels which are usually not safe or clean. We got the heat for it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Popular Careers with La Quinta Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at La Quinta? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

La Quinta Photos

+ Add Photo
La Quinta photo of: Lobby/Breakfast area
La Quinta photo of: This is a ‘deluxe’ room
La Quinta photo of: Picture during daytime
La Quinta photo of: Work Benefits - Our Mascot
La Quinta photo of: I was working as a front office executive here that is the resort hotel
La Quinta photo of: Beautiful Melbourne
La Quinta photo of: Pool
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

La Quinta Job Seekers Also Viewed

Hilton Logo
Hilton

4.2

9,216 Reviews
Compare