La-Z-Boy Interior Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

La-Z-Boy Interior Designer Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
9%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
La-Z-Boy Chairman, President and CEO Kurt L. Darrow
Kurt L. Darrow
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Design Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer in San Marcos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stress free zone, ability to work around my work schedule.

    Cons

    Would like to have more coworkers for emergencies.

    Advice to Management

    i do not have any advice for management.

    La-Z-Boy2018-03-04
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Okay place to work and get experience, not a long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Somewhat able to control your own paycheck, not a cutthroat sales environment, somewhat flexible hours

    Cons

    Corporate is unbelievably unorganized. Constantly changing comp plans to benefit bottom line, not employees. Management within the building are as unhappy as employees, and they can't do anything about it.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management (market, regional mgrs) are so distant from the stores and pretend to be friends with lower employees. It feels fake, and would rather prefer them not be around at all since they don't offer sincere support.

    La-Z-Boy2019-07-18
  3. "NEPA - Employees Don't Mean Anything!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interior Designer in Scranton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None - was warned by other employees to run away from this company. All were looking for new jobs.

    Cons

    Don't trust employees - don't treat employees well. No time for family time or emergencies. Welcome back to high school and the world of the 'cliques'. NEPA - grow up!

    Advice to Management

    Was glad I wasn't there long. Found something better. Just needed a job. It is just a typical sales job. No Interior Design knowledge needed - stop advertising that. Start treating people like humans. Trust is key with employees. You are just a number and get thrown away - them thinking you are easily replaceable. Not in NEPA! Northeast Pennsylvania -- my experience -- always lookiing for employees because they don't know how to treat people right. Pay is low, poor treatment of employees. Other employees warned us during our 'training' to stay away. If offered a position don't take it!!! Work/Life Balance, Senior Management and Culture & Values don't even deserve one star. If there was a negative rating for NEPA it would apply.

    Show More
    La-Z-Boy2019-06-30
  4. "Pretty good place to work for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management team, great company mission and vision,

    Cons

    LONG hours, no weekends or holidays off (except Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter), lots of stress, low pay for designers (but decent pay for sales associates.)

    La-Z-Boy2018-11-20
  5. Helpful (8)

    "I would NOT recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interior Design Consultant in Spanish Fort, AL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time

    Pros

    Assisting clients was the best part of the job.

    Cons

    Micro management to the nth degree,Below average salary for interior design job. Management having employees work with a salesman who was on Felony probation and created a hostile work environment.

    La-Z-Boy2018-03-03
  6. Helpful (4)

    "design assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    close location not many hours

    Cons

    too many to list, inadequate pay, no health benefits, on your feet for 5 hours and lucky to have 15 minute break, work worst hours possible...

    Advice to Management

    pay better, better hours and conditions and benefits

    La-Z-Boy2017-11-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Interior designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great health insurance benefits but it keeps on changing every year so not sure for much longer.

    Cons

    High turn over of employees, low pay, pay structure changing constantly, poor upper management skills, constant problems with furniture quality. Upper management pretends the quality problems do not exist and get angry if you bring it up.

    Advice to Management

    You need to treat your employees in a more respectful way and pay them a decent living.

    La-Z-Boy2017-09-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Interior Design Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Design Assistant in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and hours available.

    Cons

    The store is dated, my job description doesn't match what I do on daily basis. Constant negativity and criticism from management.

    La-Z-Boy2017-07-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lead Interior Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Interior Designer in Sterling, VA
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth within the company

    Cons

    Being retail centered, job has long hours and a requirement to work both weekends and holidays

    La-Z-Boy2017-03-29
  10. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love that the owners a passionate about their employees and their products that they offer.

    Cons

    The company closes it's brick and mortar location each winter.

    Advice to Management

    Stay open year round!

    La-Z-Boy2017-01-24
Found 24 reviews