La-Z-Boy Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

La-Z-Boy Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
95%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
La-Z-Boy Chairman, President and CEO Kurt L. Darrow
Kurt L. Darrow
5 Ratings
  1. "Best company I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Pineville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission rate is excellent. Company gives you all the tools you need to be successful. Encouraging and fair.

    Cons

    Slow start, it takes a few months to get enough sales backlog to start seeing your commissions.

    La-Z-Boy2019-03-07
  2. "Nice Place to hang your hat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Nice store

    Cons

    Traffic sometimes slow during the week

    La-Z-Boy2019-06-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "San Antonio Locations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at La-Z-Boy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good products, with a good warranty, and great name recognition.

    Cons

    Horrible local ownership, outdated systems, outdated pay plan, expensive benefits, poor communication, and no money spent to upkeep older stores or systems.

    Advice to Management

    Sell to someone that has an interest in running the company properly.....

    La-Z-Boy2019-02-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very relaxed environment, great coworkers. Decent pay

    Cons

    Long hours, a lot of sitting around. Heath insurance is very expensive

    La-Z-Boy2019-01-24
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, excellent owners, staff were always very helpful to one another

    Cons

    can be long hours sometimes

    La-Z-Boy2017-10-24
  6. "Great training, excellent environment, great for going to school !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good liberty of schedule, super friendly environment, great training.

    Cons

    Business has been slow, long hours of sitting in the store with no customers, but great for students.

    Advice to Management

    Promote education !!

    La-Z-Boy2016-04-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La-Z-Boy

    Pros

    They ship product on time and you will get paid!

    Cons

    Will have to learn how to jump through some hoops for customer service

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing, but don't get over confident and increase your pricing to the level where your volume of sales may drop significantly

    La-Z-Boy2015-08-28
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in South San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to meet and talk to a lot of people

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to present to potential employees

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    La-Z-Boy2015-05-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Revolving door of employees/managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Product Liked my co workers

    Cons

    Terrible Training, it consists of a couple of days of online courses/quizzes. Commission Structure is one of the poorest I've ever seen. It's 5% commission on your product sales. Plus a small commission for extras. The top writers at my location only made around $50K per year. So unless you write over a million a year, don't expect to come anywhere close to six figures. The training pay they "guarantee" in their ads is only minimum wage and they limit you to 35-40 hours per week for the first two months. So unless you can live off minimum wage for two months I wouldn't recommend this place. You won't see a decent paycheck til your 3rd or 4th month, you get paid on what you deliver. So if you sell a lot of special order stuff, it takes 3-4 months (sometimes longer) for it to arrive and get delivered to the customer. So it takes a while to get your pipeline built up. Managers encourage lying to customers to sell the "guardian" fabric/leather protection. Encouraging us to tell customers it comes with it and if they decline the treatment we have to special order the chair without it and it'll take them 8-12 weeks to get it. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this place if you're the primary earner for your family. It's an okay place for retired older sales people, or people who have a spouse who makes a lot and they just want this job for supplemental income. There are much better furniture places who have both better training available, and better pay structure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest a little more money in training, make sure management is more competent.

    La-Z-Boy2014-10-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Commission Base Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Product all you need is: People to walk in the Gallery that want to buy furniture and you to be a good La Z Boy Sales Representative. You have to know your product and follow all the steps. La Z Boy is an excellent product you have to be proud of it flip a chair and show why is better than other imitations. You have limited life time warranties, 80% of it is made in USA talk about it!. I LOVE MY LA Z BOY, be proud and work all the programs. Your Interior Design Program, your warranties and special orders these will make you money..Big Time Money . There 4 stores is a franchise company 2 out of 4, Sales Reps. Can make up to $70,000.

    Show More

    Cons

    No frequent ads on local channels the ads are on the newspaper on a Sat. Unless Corporate runs the ads. May be if the owner got a good deal for a Sunday ad he will do a Sunday ad. Pay Structure changed 3 times in 2 years if you want to work for this company. Make sure you ask all the right questions. Vacation is great to take off but you have to make sure you done your monthly goal so it won't hurt your numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Ads, local ads. Product knowledge training is wonderful but what's the point of knowing all measurements, names & whats is in stock and not asking for the sale? If you hire people that never sold prepare a program for them, on closing a sale as well as product knowledge. Don't just throw them to the lions. Give them the tools and you will see, the improvement.

    La-Z-Boy2012-09-30
Found 12 reviews