La-Z-Boy "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

La-Z-Boy Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Mar 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
La-Z-Boy Chairman, President and CEO Kurt L. Darrow
Kurt L. Darrow
202 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co-workers and atmosphere for the work environment(in 23 reviews)

  • "I work with great people and I have an excellent manager(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Slower payouts with custom built furniture(in 28 reviews)

  • "Long hours over holiday weekends (which is expected)(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best Job I’ve Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work environment, close coworker relations, best quality furniture in the business, beautiful store, great compensation, different every day..keeps it interesting

    Cons

    A little stressful at times, but not really a con. The job is so rewarding that it’s worth it

    Advice to Management

    2 years ago this would have been far different and much less positive. But this company has taken many positive steps in the right direction regarding upper management involvement and leadership.

    La-Z-Boy2019-03-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Motivating work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Assistant in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and atmosphere for the work environment. A place that keeps you challenged, educated and motivated to be at work each day.

    Cons

    Downside of working at La-Z-boy at the time was salary. A LARGE pay Gap between designer and assistant with no bonuses to compensate even with a degree and doing as much or equal to the lead designer.

    La-Z-Boy2019-02-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience until store closes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Sales Associate 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time

    Pros

    Very big on promoting from within the business. Always looking for ways to make the business and work environment better.

    Cons

    Only given about 4 months warning of store closing. Bump in hourly pay to offset not earning commission doesn’t make up for what employees could be earning. Watched company pull key employees to roles in other stores months prior to official announcement of store closing and then leave the rest of us hanging out to dry.

    Advice to Management

    Lying to your employees to stop them from leaving too early before the store closes while pulling the “important” staff to other stores is not the right way to do things. Honesty goes a long way.

    La-Z-Boy2018-11-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful company and I am honored to work for them!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Monroeville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and leadership. This company cares about their employees Big on promoting within the company. The corporate people listen to are concerns and work on making improvements! Company has a 401K and also contributes when they do quarterly profits to the associates!

    Cons

    Must work summer holidays Concerns with the delivery teams (3rd party) Wish we had quicker lines of communication to the distribution centers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good Work and that goes up to Kurt Darrow, Dan King and Chuck Hausfield down to my immediate leaders Mike Korzin & Jessie Heath. You all are an inspiration to the teams!

    La-Z-Boy2018-10-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company to work for. Work environment is suppprtive and mostly fun. Opportunity for growth is fantastic.

    Cons

    pay structure just recently restructured and is terrible. 46+ hours a week at 10k salary. Commission is ok but could be higher for level of work.

    Advice to Management

    If you want talented sales manager to stay or be recruited in pay accordingly.

    La-Z-Boy2018-08-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Monroe, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with great people and I have an excellent manager. My manager is truly employee focused, concerned about the employees' work-life balance and consistently works to create a consistent, fair, team focused work environment. The staff respect the manager and work hard to help support the manager and the rest of the team. When the time comes, I will have to seriously consider the pro's and con's of leaving my... work location for a new position. It's a great place to work. Also, there is an EXCELLENT employee discount on La-Z-Boy furniture, lamps, rugs and accessories.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay rates are lower than other places but I do like where I work and who I work with....

    La-Z-Boy2018-07-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at La-Z-Boy

    Pros

    Everything is structured, the work is not stressful, diversity in the work environment

    Cons

    You work long hours on Sunday, the selling process can be tedious, no room for creativity. Extremely hard to get into the headquarters

    La-Z-Boy2018-08-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work environment, people, and the training is all there to support your growth with the company.

    Cons

    The compensation is not competitive enough versus the work loads and the hours (50hrs/week) you put into the job.

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate the compensation plan for the retail store full-time employees.

    La-Z-Boy2018-02-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "La-Z-Boy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Non-competitive work environment Paid time off Excellent design possibilities

    Cons

    Late hours with little life in the store Not too many avenues to advance unless you relocate

    La-Z-Boy2017-11-01
  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at La-Z-Boy full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment and people

    Cons

    The hours and pay structure

    La-Z-Boy2017-06-03
Found 23 reviews