KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

LaGrange College

Is this your company?

LaGrange College

Add a Review

LaGrange College Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 9 reviews

4.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
LaGrange College President Dan McAlexander
Dan McAlexander
1 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Happy ad Caring Community

    Jul 31, 2020 - Assistant Director in Lagrange, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Focus is on the students and each other. Always thinking of ways to do better. Environment that is open to sharing ideas and trying new things. Very patient people and tons of opportunities to collaborate with other departments.

    Cons

    Insurance and salaries could be a bit better/higher, but I'm sure everyone says that about every businesses.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pretty good place to work

    Jan 19, 2021 - Assistant Professor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very community oriented, colleagues are friendly, facilities are mostly very good

    Cons

    Salary not up to national standards, benefits only decent

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    9m

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,842

    955 Comments

    Join the conversation on
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Experience Outlook Depends On Department

    Jul 29, 2019 - Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    LaGrange College has a very friendly environment for the most part. The campus is beautiful and most of the faculty and staff work hard to make you feel a part of the community. It's exciting to be a part of campus life and to take in the environment. The students are also wonderful for the most part and are a constant reminder of why you do what you do. The environment can be pretty relaxed and taking PTO is very easy.

    Cons

    LaGrange College is a non-profit, private school so prepare to make way less than the market value of your salary for most lower-level staff positions. In my case, my wage was barely livable. Because of this, most staff are overworked and disgruntled and it affects their work ethic. Depending on your department, leadership/management is very bureaucratic and if you do not have a leadership role, you will not have much say in decisions. In my experience, I felt overworked and underpaid with no room for advancement or increase in pay or professional development. "Small campus politics" are a HUGE factor here when it comes to dealing with conflict and the "mood" of the campus changes frequently.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Major Gifts Officer

    Jan 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent community of individuals who all share in the common goal of educating students.

    Cons

    You are expected to be part of the overall college community which means attending events and programs.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Work Environment

    Apr 16, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    LaGrange College has an encouraging and supportive environment, and I have enjoyed my time there. It is a great place to work!

    Cons

    No cons from my time there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Staff Position

    Feb 17, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the best experiences of my professional life. LaGrange has one of the most sincere, loving faculties one could imagine. It is a great environment and attracts students who truly aspire to live the College's mission. I have heard countless stories of faculty keeping life-long friendships with students

    Cons

    The financial crisis crippled small, private colleges. I suspect the LaGrange's leadership - and currently LaGrange's leadership has been siloed to one person - has felt the pressure of the crisis and hasn't handled it well. Luckily, the school's history, tradition and fact that it has such amazing people around the campus has been able to overcome the top spot's misguided "leadership"

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    I am a graduate assistant coach.

    Feb 6, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The academic program is great, and the town is a nice area to live in. The price of living is cheap.

    Cons

    The athletic department receives little to no support from the rest of the school. The salary is not liveable at all.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent place with friendly people!

    Aug 28, 2015 - Professor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    LaGrange College is an excellent place to work. The people are very friendly and helpful. The students are wonderful. I feel lucky to work here!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Could be great

    Aug 14, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Lagrange, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -lots of independence at work for you to follow your own plan -community atmosphere

    Cons

    -many expectations that are not in job description -not fairly compensated for work and time -really disorganized management

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Popular Careers with LaGrange College Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at LaGrange College? Share Your Experiences

or