LaRosa's Cook Reviews | Glassdoor

LaRosa's Cook Reviews

Updated 12 Apr 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
LaRosa's CEO Mike LaRosa (no image)
Mike LaRosa
6 Ratings
  1. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LaRosa's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, excellent coworkers, advancement, plenty of hours.

    Cons

    Low base pay, monotonous work.

    LaRosa's2016-11-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't make enough money and weekends and evenings on lock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Oxford, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LaRosa's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've had a good learning experience and taught me more how a business is ran which is what I am going to study.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is extra food to eat when someone messes up but other than that we only get 25% off, and it's still expensive so I always find myself skipping dinner.

    Advice to Management

    Feed your employees

    LaRosa's2018-04-12
  3. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LaRosa's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall a good family restaurant

    Cons

    Workers were nice, but not great at working

    LaRosa's2016-07-22
  4. "Larosas cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LaRosa's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, prep, cook, clean station

    Cons

    Bad management, unorganized & confused

    Advice to Management

    Find better motivated managers

    LaRosa's2015-07-03
  5. "Hardworking company, where the people are easy and enjoyable to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook/Server in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LaRosa's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a server the pay is pretty great, but a cook receives minimum wage, however there are potential pay raises if hardworking and dedicated

    Cons

    Management isn't always the best, but do what they can to solve problems. Not a high chance for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Need to make workers more accountable for their actions (i.e: an employee doesn't show up for their shift)

    LaRosa's2014-07-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unprofessional, repetitive, and plenty more."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook/Cashier in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LaRosa's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There really weren't any. There was a 5 dollar discount IF you were on duty, but that's pretty much it.

    Cons

    Management was rude and condescending, supervisor was unprofessional and rude. When I was hired, the manager who hired me didn't tell anyone he hired me, or that I was coming in, I wasn't trained, I was expected to just know everything even though I had never had a job prior to working there. As a first job, it's terrible. I wasn't put on the schedule so I had no idea when to come in or anything, the management was... lazy and the training was non-existent. I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer, try harder with your workers and be nice to new people, and be more responsible.

    LaRosa's2014-05-31
  7. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Cincinnati, OH
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LaRosa's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked with some good people, discounted food, and also a flexible schedule. Opportunities to move up to management position. Clean environment.

    Cons

    Managers not good at dealing with employees. Unprofessional atmosphere at times. Fast turnover rate of employees, but that's expected at a restaurant.

    LaRosa's2014-03-19
  8. "great until recently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LaRosa's

    Pros

    we are a franchise. the owner is wonderful. i think if it was not for him i would not still be working there.

    Cons

    too much gossip. management communication problems, not treating employees fairly. not fair with promotions and raises. work you to death without caring about you.

    Advice to Management

    pay attention to your employees' needs. we are working hard and it goes unnoticed. this restaurant is not the only thing we have going on in our lives.

    LaRosa's2011-04-26
Found 8 reviews