Cover image for Lab49
Logo

Lab49

Part of ION Group
Engaged Employer

Lab49

Add a Review

Lab49 Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 156 of over 163 reviews
3.9
70% Recommend to a Friend
Lab49 CEO  Roman Trachtenberg
73% Approve of CEO

Found 156 of over 163 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Lab49 CEO  Roman Trachtenberg
Roman Trachtenberg
35 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

400

132 Comments

Consulting

413.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Lab49~257101
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decently varied projects to take on

    Nov 11, 2022 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had a great experience at Lab49. Lots of opportunities for growth, the company does its best to stay focused on its commitments to clients. The advantage of being in a consultancy is variety - my experience shows that in established product companies you will be shoved into a dusty corner of a single module that you will keep maintaining forever. Like how we (almost always) have cross-functional teams - working with smart product owners makes life so much better for us mere developers. Overall, impressed how many smart people I meet here. Great conversations

    Cons

    Fast growth led to some chaos, especially during project starts. But if you are proactive, a good time to get noticed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    "Steep learning curve but pays off!"

    Oct 21, 2022 - Product Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are really great about giving others the freedom to pursue interests and explore new ideas and methodologies. There's a lot of trust - I feel like I can really own the direction of my career and build skills in many areas. Plus, Lab49 is doing interesting work in humanizing complex domains and making them more accessible and intuitive. I'm also part of a few of communities that have popped up organically and help make the transition onto these projects much easier and collaborative. I think one of the great things about consulting is the steep learning curve - keeps you on your toes and always growing. So many people here are amazing at their jobs - there are a lot of experts to learn from.

    Cons

    Even though financial services is known to be behind the curve and there are ancient legacy systems, we are modernizing that through new methods, ideas and tech. The work can be hard and challenging with different clients. You have to be adaptable and able to switch directions quickly.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Lab49 team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Management ok, crypto work seems promising

    Oct 6, 2022 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's a promising crypto team, exciting projects, lead by good leaders Hoping there's more as I am just learning blockchain technology

    Cons

    CEO doesn't seem to add much Communication is non existent

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Hard work but worth it

    Aug 30, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart people Good management Initiatives like hackathons Clear communication from leadership Flexibility for home/ office work

    Cons

    Projects can be on tight deadlines and a bit chaotic

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Talented people and interesting projects.

    Aug 26, 2022 - Talent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lab is known in the industry as a “premium” consultancy, and you can feel this externally when dealing with clients but also internally when interacting with colleagues. People here are extremely talented and will work with you to push a deliverable to its best – and that doesn’t just apply to the Engineering side of the business, but HR and Comms and other typically “support” teams too. Every team is made to feel like an important part of the equation by the leadership team and I really value that! As a whole, the company’s grown 3x over the past few years, and the projects keep on coming. Lots of exposure to different tech stacks and people to sponge knowledge from.

    Cons

    There’s a pretty high bar when it comes to the quality and standard of work expected by clients and colleagues. Not necessarily a con but this definitely isn’t somewhere where you can sit idly... We deliver some impressive work in almost record time that none of our competitors can match at a quality that none of our competitors can match. So that does probably translate to delivering high quality in pretty tight deadlines which can be stressful at times. The company is also still evolving when it comes to career progression and development which is a positive, but it means there may not be as much structure in these areas right now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great exposure and variety to unique problems

    Jul 26, 2022 - Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I left a large consultancy because I was looking for more impactful projects to work on. At Lab49, the projects can be much more central to a client’s business, and as a result, our work can make a real difference. I feel like an actual partner to the client bringing solutions rather than fulfilling a skill set. We’re growing enough to be winning exciting new projects, but we’re still small enough where if you see an open bit of daylight, an opportunity that you want to own, you can absolutely take it. The leadership team are open minded, ambitious and driven to really build out how we do things and grow the business in interesting ways.

    Cons

    The sector we work in demands a level of rigor and meticulousness that you may not get in others and can be quite tense at times. A lot of our work is put under the microscope and challenged, but that's because things need to be working exactly how they should. Like anywhere, some projects are good, some projects aren't as exciting. But the good thing is because we’re a consultancy, we do change projects with regularity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fast Growing Firm and Interesting projects

    May 19, 2022 - Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. I get to work from home 100% with occasional travel to a Client site (since we both are located in the same area) 2. Get to attend some conferences (Blockchain, Fintech related) 3. Big focus on learning and development 4. A fun and engaging Book Club 5. Colleagues (across all the global locations) are very passionate about their areas and this has given momentum and support from Senior Management to build in-house innovation pods / hackathons that are open to anyone across the firm 6. Overall, very interesting projects!

    Cons

    Bonus could be better. Hopefully it improves with the accelerated growth that the company is experiencing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Making an effort to stay relevant

    May 4, 2022 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great to see them supporting people to embrace interesting tech like blockchain and cloud

    Cons

    So-so benefits, and weak 401k match.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Pursuing Your Interests Is Not Only Allowed but Encouraged

    Apr 12, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Pursuing your interests and being proactive and vocal about it is encouraged rather than something that management attempts to suppress. I took a risk joining this company as a frontend engineer wanting to eventually get into the crypto and blockchain engineering space, thinking there may be possibilities for this as Lab49 does fintech software consulting, but nothing was a certainty to me. As a new employee I initially was quite tentative and hesitant about pursuing this as the "new guy", and that I should stay in my lane, deliver well on my client work, and maybe do some crypto/blockchain lessons on the side through the company provided Pluralsight membership... and maybe eventually I could speak up about it after some time. It turns out, from a chance conversation with a colleague on the same client assignment as me, that there were other individuals interested in the crypto space as well. Not only that, but on a very short couple days notice they encouraged me to join them to go to the Bitcoin 2022 conference where we were able to network and speak with other industry level individuals, professionals, and companies in the space about what they were building and potential partnerships and opportunities. Not only was it a great experience at the conference given my interest in crypto, but I am now assured that there is certainly opportunity for me to get the further exposure I wanted in the crypto/blockchain space here at Lab49 (on top of attending the conference we are very active about it, having several meetings a week about working in the space and discussions in our Teams chat daily). More importantly, however, I now understand that anything I truthfully want to pursue that would benefit not just the company but align with my career interests is not just a possibility but encouraged. It is great knowing that you are able to speak up about your feelings and desires. -Highly intelligent, technical, friendly, and empathetic team members and colleagues that encourage and root for you -Great compensation and benefits

    Cons

    Nothing that I have experienced yet

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great People, Great Energy

    Apr 7, 2022 - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, projects, leadership are all great

    Cons

    Can’t think of anything at the moment

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 156 Reviews
</>Embed

Lab49 Reviews FAQs

Lab49 has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 163 reviews left anonymously by employees. 70% of employees would recommend working at Lab49 to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 32% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Lab49 employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Lab49. This rating has improved by 14% over the last 12 months.

70% of Lab49 employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Lab49 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Lab49 to be compensation, career development, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, management, culture.

Popular Careers with Lab49 Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Lab49? Share Your Experiences

Lab49 logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Lab49 Job Seekers Also Viewed

Bloomberg L.P. Logo
Bloomberg L.P.

4.1

6,969 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 163 Lab49 reviews submitted anonymously by Lab49 employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Lab49 is right for you.