Cover image for Labatt Breweries of Canada
Logo

Labatt Breweries of Canada

Engaged Employer

Labatt Breweries of Canada

Add a Review

Labatt Breweries of Canada Employee Reviews about "no work life"

Updated Jul 27, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 486 of over 486 reviews
3.7
62% Recommend to a Friend
Labatt Breweries of Canada CEO Marcelo (Mika) Michaelis
64% Approve of CEO

Found 46 of over 486 reviews

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Labatt Breweries of Canada CEO Marcelo (Mika) Michaelis
Marcelo (Mika) Michaelis
52 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Labatt Breweries of Canada and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "no work life"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Summer Intern

    Feb 25, 2016 - Sales Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gain a lot of experience, fast paced, competitive industry.

    Cons

    poor work life balance at this company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Summer Student

    Apr 6, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing people Amazing experience I learnt so much while working for this company

    Cons

    Work life balance needs to be looked at

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Labatt Breweries of Canada team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Work hard play hard

    Jun 11, 2022 - Senior Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of perks and great atmosphere

    Cons

    Bad work life balance here

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Labatt Breweries of Canada Response

    Sr. Specialist

    Thanks for your comments! We're happy you enjoy the culture and benefits at Labatt. We also believe in the spirit of ownership, and recognize that work life balance can be a challenge. We encourage you to address this with your manager to review and prioritize tasks.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Warehouse Associate

    Jan 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Limited free beer -Good group of coworkers

    Cons

    -Unrealistic targets -High employee turnover -worker/manager devided relationships (work against one another) -productivity before safety -Pay is near-minimum wage for very physically demanding work. Opportunity to graduate to in-house forklift training with no pay-raise. The trainers get paid the same as everyone else. -Union reps offer no support and are on the same side as employer. Some serious unethical occurances get overlooked on a regular basis. -worst work/life balance i've ever enountered -work descrimination: some workers are offered priviledged duties on a routine basis, while others are expoited and overworked. -Human resources employee rep works on location and is nothing more than a figurehead. The person filling the role does next to nothing to offer assistance to the ones she is assigned to assist. -they blackmail sick/personal days. Only union workers get 2-3 paid sick days (temps get 0). Even if they need to use one of these days the company deducts a large amount from their quarterly bonus. -culture is gone: maximize profit, minimize costs at all accounts. The warehouse is where they always try to cut every year. -company is set on prescedents, only to remove them when convenient.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Labatt Breweries of Canada Response

    The People Team

    Thank you for leaving a review. Please know that we are actively looking to better understand what stands out to our employees in the workplace, so thank you for leaving a review. We have forwarded your comments to the appropriate teams to explore further.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    8/10 recommend

    Oct 18, 2021 - Territory Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They invest in their people

    Cons

    Poor work VS life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Labatt Breweries of Canada Response

    Sr. Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We pride ourselves on our people and we believe they’re our greatest assets, and are glad you have experienced this through your career with us so far. To help create balance in your day, we recommend working with your manager to help place priority on certain tasks to help with work life balance.

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Not for everyone

    Oct 6, 2020 - Backoffice Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Exciting industry that is constantly changing and Labatt is the market leader (by far). -Labatt is not afraid to play offense when needed. M&A and other big moves are always on the table. -Opportunity to take on big projects early on in your career. -Benefit package is average but above average 8% DC pension match. -Very early in inclusion and diversity journey, but open to change under new President and VP of People

    Cons

    -High turnover on commercial team leads to many vacancies that do not get filled in a timely manner. -Work life balance is unhealthy and not suitable to a family or caregiver lifestyle. -Extreme KPI driven organization leading to competitiveness and finger pointing when projects or results are off-track. -Above average bonuses are only paid out on avg every 5th year (last 2 times were 2015 & 2009). -Openly targets salaries at 80% of market reference (you will never make as much as you would with other leading CPG companies). -Visibility to internal job openings is non- existent and not shared internally. -Data and analytical capabilities not prioritized. Years behind leading CPG companies as Labatt refuses to resource this function appropriately. Disclosure: this review is written by a current employee who is actively looking for a new job with another employer.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Territory Manager

    Dec 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great skill development, Industry leaders

    Cons

    Work life balance is not healthy

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Labatt Breweries of Canada Response

    The People Team

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are proud to offer many opportunities to develop our people. As a company of owners, we understand work life balance may be a challenge, and encourage our employees to work with their manager and team to prioritize tasks that will create balance in their day.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Get in Get out

    Apr 3, 2017 - Group Manager in London, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hires right out of university Reasonable pay to experience Looks good on a resume Fast promotions Benifits at 3 months Pension plan at 6

    Cons

    Very negative work place culture (very few people appear to be happy... most will flat out tell you they are not) Poor work life balance Very high turn over Difficult place to maintain a moral compass

    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good company to work for. Have been here for 5 years now.

    Sep 18, 2014 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like the people. Management is good. Benefits are good compared to previous employer

    Cons

    Lack of direction at times. Hard to always get a good work/life balance

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Difficult Culture to Navigate

    May 25, 2021 - Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Benefits Opportunity for Growth Actively trying to improve

    Cons

    Low employee engagement Lack of work/life balance Low on the salary scale Very political

    2 people found this review helpful

    Labatt Breweries of Canada Response

    Sr. Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re always looking for ways to improve, so we appreciate your feedback regarding work life balance and engagement. Employee engagement is something we pride ourselves on and is very important to us. We have shared your thoughts with our internal teams, and we wish you the best of luck in your future.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Labatt Breweries of Canada Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Labatt Breweries of Canada? Share Your Experiences

Labatt Breweries of Canada logo

Labatt Breweries of Canada

or

Reviews by Job Title

Labatt Breweries of Canada Photos

+ Add Photo
Labatt Breweries of Canada photo of: Our employees know that being the best is equal parts enthusiasm and responsibility. Learn more about the Labatt culture: https://buff.ly/2J5Qjxh
Labatt Breweries of Canada photo of: Cheers to our team in Halifax who celebrated International Women's Day at the Alexander Keith's Brewery! They brewed up a delicious Cherry Vanilla Northern London Brown Ale.
Labatt Breweries of Canada photo of: Did you know our Toronto office is located by the beautiful waterfront?
Labatt Breweries of Canada photo of: John Kinder Labatt started a single small brewery in London, Ontario where our hometown brewery still stands. The rest is history.

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Labatt Breweries of Canada Job Seekers Also Viewed

Anheuser-Busch InBev Logo
Anheuser-Busch InBev

3.8

3,983 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 486 Labatt Breweries of Canada reviews submitted anonymously by Labatt Breweries of Canada employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Labatt Breweries of Canada is right for you.