Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
89%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Lake Michigan Credit Union CEO Sandy Jelinski
Sandy Jelinski
61 Ratings
  1. "Finally home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Lending Assistant in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible team work and family culture. Always striving to do what's best for the CUSTOMERS, not suits in an office.

    Cons

    None so far! I have only been here 1 week but have had 15+ years of retail and commercial banking. I am so thrilled and excited to be here.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to make a recommendation to include web-based training through SABA for the many computer systems instead of relying solely on hands-on training.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-11-21
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Call Center Representative 

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, positive environment

    Cons

    Repetitive job, mainly taking back to back calls all day

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-11-13
  3. "The grass is greener at LMCU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mortgage Processing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A refreshing culture that values their employees, listens to their thoughts, promotes growth and appreciates their work and contributions.

    Cons

    Nothing to share at this time.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-10-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was the worst experience I had ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Processor in Livonia, MI
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary was good and nothing else

    Cons

    They use a very outdated system for mortgage processing. It’s so outdated that can’t handle updates which in turn created glitches that are solved with permanent work arounds. Coming from very high tech place it was very difficult to transition. Everyone is very micromanaged and there is no leadership. Direct manager didn’t know himself how to use the system, but explained bcs the company is so small and short on... funds there is no training. They simply can’t afford to train

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mortgage Flex or Flex One is older than mortgage builder!!! It was crated when I was in high school or maybe even before. No one in the industry uses anything like that. Invest into technology!!!! And focus on leadership not micro management. When you request a day off out of PTO time, it’s not manager’s business what I’m planning to do and why I requested the day. It’s my time! I earned it

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-10-25
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Fulfillment Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love working here! Lots of advancement opportunities and a fun work environment.

    Cons

    Poor management communication with staff.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-10-21
  6. "Content but seeking growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EServices Department 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    I truly do love working for LMCU. I think it is a great company with good intentions. There is room to grow at the corporate level and there are many perks for long term employees.

    Cons

    Growth at the corporate level is very slow. Not all employees are willing to wait it out which creates a turnover rate in the back office departments that is alarming.

    Advice to Management

    - Hire employees with the intent to help them grow. More people will be willing to stick around if they can see a clear path towards their growth with LMCU. - As LMCU grows, stay ahead of the curve and hire more employees BEFORE the workload overwhelms the current staff level. This will allow employees to spend more time with our members to ensure they get the quality service that they deserve and have come to... expect.

    Show More
    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-10-17
  7. "Developing Relationships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MSR/Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with customers and developing relationships

    Cons

    Poor pay for work required, working saturdays

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-10-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work at for entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IRA Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Standard benefits and decent bonus' fast upward movement from teller

    Cons

    wages at high level positions are not competitive corporate positions can become stagnantif you don't personally know someone in another department

    Advice to Management

    encourage longterm employment by increasing incentives and ensuring that the wages of current employees keep up with economic changes

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-10-08
  9. "Its fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Mortgage Processor 

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    It's a fun environment to work in. The Pride and Wellness team always have fun things planned.

    Cons

    No ability to work from home. Empty promises from management.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-09-03
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere, friendly culture, lots of room for growth, tons of recognition for great work!

    Cons

    Nothing immediately comes to mind.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-08-02
Found 111 reviews