Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Lake Michigan Credit Union CEO Sandy Jelinski
Sandy Jelinski
59 Ratings
  1. "Fun job, but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller I 

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Standing all day, expected to make customer experience memorable, but also need to be quick with transactions

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-03-06
  2. "Good job to get into company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, advancement opportunities, bonuses for sales

    Cons

    Big emphysis on sales, can be hard to move to corporate

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-01-09
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - A lot of great people work here - Fun work events 3-4 times a year - The company cares for its members - Growing company (but see my first con) - Often hires internally - 38 hour work week (usually) - Employees go above and beyond to help each other (but again see my first con)

    Cons

    - With all the growth, the company is not hiring back-office staff fast enough to ease the transition and employees are becoming overloaded. I don't believe Senior Management is truly aware of the workload their staff has. Staff are often doing tasks outside of their job duties to keep things afloat. You could easily add 2 employees to every department within IT and all would still have plenty of work. - Needs... to give employees more incentive to stay *Pay is below average *No way to get a raise more than 3% a year outside a promotion, that I know of *Benefits aren't great *Takes 5 years before you earn more vacation days -The politics can be a bit ridiculous - The work environment from a design standpoint isn't terrible, but could really use some life outside the tan cubes, tan floors, etc. - The company just seems a bit stuck "in the old ways" still.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All in all, it is a good place. It could be a great place with some forward thinking from a employee-focused standpoint. -If you want to be a growing company, be a growing company from front to back (not just in the roles that directly gain revenue). That means adding new departments, job positions, etc. Hiring needs to be more proactive. If you keep putting bricks in the back of the same truck, the truck will... work harder, less efficiently, and eventually stop moving. At some point you need to get a bigger, more heavy-duty truck to keep moving at the same rate. - I would send out more anonymous feedback requests other than just the ones that are just for getting LMCU on a "Great place to work" list. Have these focus on their workload and manager(s). This will give staff a chance to truthfully give info to management without fear of repercussions. The PRIDE culture is a great idea and the events are too, but I've had time to participate in maybe one in the last year.

    Show More
    Lake Michigan Credit Union2019-01-04
  4. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Processor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    LMCU is an amazing organization. I have been here for 9 years and see myself here for many more to come. The work environment is extremely pleasant, and we live and breathe our culture! #LMCUPRIDE

    Cons

    I can not think of one right now.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-12-18
  5. "LMCU is the best employer I have ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is heavily promoted. Employees have autonomy and are encouraged to be their best self. The management staff has a "can do" attitude. Mistakes are treated as learning opportunities, not as a negative. The overall environment is one of service, community involvement, kindness toward others, and celebration of each employee's achievements. This starts with the CEO and filters throughout the... company.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and keeping the culture thriving.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-12-17
  6. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Culture -Senior Management -Work/Life balance -Giving back to community

    Cons

    -Growth is limited for some Remote branches that aren't in the Grand Rapids area

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-12-14
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers genuinely care about employees Company culture Generous PTO for full-time employees 38 hour work week for full-time employees Ability to grow within the company

    Cons

    Pay is a bit lower than average for some positions

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-12-14
  8. "I loved LMCU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible with my schedule while I was pregnant.

    Cons

    No cons. I loved this job.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-11-27
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Msr in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great life/work balance, great incentives for meeting our branch goals, and the managers I have had are great!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons off the top of my head.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-11-26
  10. "Decent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, offers chances to volunteer within the community, good company culture and vision,

    Cons

    Scheduling time off is a hassle, referral goals unrealistic for part time employees, Opportunities to advance not common within Kalamazoo area.

    Advice to Management

    Be more mindful of those going to school

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-11-03
Found 106 reviews