Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Lake Michigan Credit Union CEO Sandy Jelinski
Sandy Jelinski
59 Ratings
  1. "Teller 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union

    Pros

    great company care about employees and members great work environment

    Cons

    hard to move up if you cant work full time

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-10-15
  2. "Traning is amazing!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller I 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care and empower you to do what's best for the member.

    Cons

    I haven't seen any so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-09-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provide a lot of training.

    Cons

    Management shows favoritism, taking away previous flexibility, pay lower than other financial institutions.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-08-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mortgage Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training is always available to help sharpen your skills and improve in your area.

    Cons

    I feel like compensation could be higher as I could go elsewhere for more.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-07-31
  5. "MSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great place to work. Member service based financial institution (not sales) you'll never feel like your job is on the line if you don't get 2 more credit cards. Really value members and employees.

    Cons

    Pay and health benefits could be a little better but definitely worth it for the culture vs. other financial institutions.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-07-18
  6. "Great Opportunity and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great staff that prepares you for the job. -Great Culture to be around and happy workers as well. -Good hours, Good pay and great foundation for career building.

    Cons

    -Training aspect could be improved in some areas. But overall Good.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-07-17
  7. "Full Time MSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Msr in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *meet wonderful people *lots of community involvement

    Cons

    *Branch Managers are under trained, not good leaders and attempt to bully staff into performing how they'd like.

    Advice to Management

    *Please train your managers to lead effectively. Happy employee's are more productive, its worth some effort to ensure they feel supported and encouraged.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-07-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Mortgage Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Overall, I've never worked for a company that has been as understanding and caring when life events get in the way of work. Although it probably depends on the department you're in, my schedule has been fairly flexible. Most of the employees on the processing side of Mortgage are eager to assist and kind.

    Cons

    As someone with a chronic condition that qualifies as a disability, I was disappointed when I was hired in and saw that the only health plans available were high-deductible plans. The company has since added another option, but I still find that the healthcare options are limited. When I had to be out on FMLA for a couple of weeks for a surgical procedure, HR was very understanding, but my manager less so. She... was unhappy with the time I missed for the appointments required leading up to the procedure, which I had no control over. I've noticed over the past couple of years that management has been becoming less and less understanding of time off. In addition, the pay is low. I could make quite a bit more at other companies. I feel strongly that we should be more fairly compensated. It adds to the feelings I already have of being underappreciated at work. Low pay further complicates things when you consider the chronic medical condition I mentioned above. With the health care options available, I still have to spend a large portion of my pay on medical care, so it feels like my income is even less. There are also less opportunities and perks for those not located in Grand Rapids.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember that while we do put our members first, you should be putting your employees at a very close second - and not just upper management. Better benefits, a culture that is understanding for those who have disabilities or difficulties (and training regarding ALL types of diversity), as well as better pay, would go a long way towards increasing employee satisfaction and reducing turn over.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-07-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful Employer with Great Intentions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture. I've worked at other companies, and always wanted to feel as though I am doing something meaningful to make the world a better place. I am able to do that at LMCU. From the top down, leadership stresses the importance of always doing what is right for our members. We really want to improve the financial well-being of the people we serve. We are committed to this mission.

    Cons

    While the company has great intentions, they don't always choose to do things in the most efficient or effective manner. If we improved some of our systems, processes, and communications, we could be even better than we are.

    Advice to Management

    Don't ignore the pain points of your employees, or gloss over them. Actively seek out input from all employees regarding the barriers/pain points people face. Then choose to take action to address those issues with solutions.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "The Best Place for your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Regional Mortgage Production in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s such a great corporate culture present at LMCU. If you are starting your career or a seasoned banking professional, you will find a dynamic culture that leads with doing the right thing. Senior management is very accessible and willing to talk one on one about career goals, current workload and a variety of topics. I have been in the mortgage industry for over 13 years, and LMCU has the right mix of products..., pricing, and passion for our employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    LMCU is a very large producing credit union. Be sure to have great time management skills.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-06
Found 105 reviews