Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Lake Michigan Credit Union CEO Sandy Jelinski
Sandy Jelinski
59 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful Employer with Great Intentions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture. I've worked at other companies, and always wanted to feel as though I am doing something meaningful to make the world a better place. I am able to do that at LMCU. From the top down, leadership stresses the importance of always doing what is right for our members. We really want to improve the financial well-being of the people we serve. We are committed to this mission.

    Cons

    While the company has great intentions, they don't always choose to do things in the most efficient or effective manner. If we improved some of our systems, processes, and communications, we could be even better than we are.

    Advice to Management

    Don't ignore the pain points of your employees, or gloss over them. Actively seek out input from all employees regarding the barriers/pain points people face. Then choose to take action to address those issues with solutions.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "The Best Place for your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Regional Mortgage Production in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s such a great corporate culture present at LMCU. If you are starting your career or a seasoned banking professional, you will find a dynamic culture that leads with doing the right thing. Senior management is very accessible and willing to talk one on one about career goals, current workload and a variety of topics. I have been in the mortgage industry for over 13 years, and LMCU has the right mix of products..., pricing, and passion for our employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    LMCU is a very large producing credit union. Be sure to have great time management skills.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    -They focus just as much on the employees as they do the members. -Lots of open positions constantly, always room to move up. -Multiple tools available to learn more

    Cons

    You never get a chance to really meet any of the people you work under, even if it just is a handshake and a hi.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love LMCU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Norton Shores, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    LMCU cares about their Members and their Employees unlike any company I've ever worked for before!

    Cons

    Wish more full time was available

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-04
  6. "Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great culture! Supportive team environment!

    Cons

    Would like 40 hours per week, not 38.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We have a Culture here that values employee feedback. Your manager will take the time to get to know you and where your strengths are and help you get to the next level. Realize that it might not happen overnight; that is actually a "Pro" because you don't want to be put in a position you are not ready to handle well. Easy to build relationships with many departments. People really like each other here!

    Cons

    A "slight" Con: we are growing! You may have a manager or a staff you like and then they move on to another opportunity within the company. You'll need to be flexible and positive at all times.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-07
  8. "Mortgage Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, good team, encouraging manager. Good benefits

    Cons

    Clunky LOS, slow technologically, lower mortgage pay

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the tools needed to do the job well.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-06-05
  9. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great company, just the pay isn't the greatest.

    Cons

    There is a lot of growth, some may say too much at once.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-05-15
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Not as great as they used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ummm depends on the department. But right now, decent benefits.

    Cons

    Raises, promotions, etc go on length of service only or who you know. Not performance. Takes 6 months for decisions to be made. People can also get hired in as seniors but don’t know anything while those that have worked here 5+ years are treated like nothing. The FMLA plan sucks. Low low pay for the industry.

    Advice to Management

    You need to value your employees and make better decisions on management. Also the FMLA you have stinks. Using every minute of your time for maternity leave is horrible when everyone knows doctors appointments are normal after coming back to work.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-05-10
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Keeping up with the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    LMCU has a vibrant staff culture. There is a feeling of family and mutual respect for one another. Beyond the core workplace culture, LMCU also is dedicated to helping our communities we serve and empower all employees to be active in those efforts. I believe this inspires others to work hard and feel a feeling of joint ownership in how they can make a difference.

    Cons

    Overall, the corporate workplace is lacking in the modern approach to working space. Our demographic of employees are shifting to a younger generation, but the workplace approach is not shifting with that change. Most of the working conditions are left to tall cubicles and dated furniture.

    Advice to Management

    Our demographic of employees are shifting to a younger generation, but the workplace approach is not shifting with that change. If we want to continue to entice new talent, creating a work environment that is both welcoming and modern will achieve that better. There are several new companies opening in West Michigan that are incentivizing great talent to join them by not just financial composition, but with also... workplace amenities and design. For many of us, we are at work more than we are at home. Creating a space with vibrancy and sophistication, I believe, allows for better creativity and employee appreciation. A great example would be Gordon Food Service corporate center in Wyoming.

    Show More
    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-04-12
Found 107 reviews