KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Lake Michigan Credit Union

Is this your company?

Lake Michigan Credit Union

Add a Review

Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 of over 160 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Lake Michigan Credit Union President and CEO Sandy Jelinski
Sandy Jelinski
78 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A Team Focused Company

    Apr 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is willing to help out when you need it. Very understanding when it comes to just everyday little things. Genuinely good people work at LMCU.

    Cons

    Not much room to move up in the company. You apply to jobs at corporate, have the experience and a degree, and just never hear back from them. Even when the job is still posted 2 months later.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

    Human Resources Generalist II

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for providing us with feedback to improve. We are sorry to hear about your experience with career advancement. Our team is continuously looking for ways to improve to internal recruitment process. If you have any feedback for our team on how to improve, please email employment@lmcu.org with your comments for us to review. We agree that the people at LMCU are what sets us apart and we certainly hope you see us as a long-term fit!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Place to work!

    Apr 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Locally and Nationally recognized as one of the best places to work and it is true. You will feel that and live it day one. Competitive pay, with a strong culture, established.

    Cons

    -High potential talent development/ programs not well implemented. Likely will have to wait your turn. (This is not to say career pathing is not strong)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

    Human Resources Generalist II

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for providing us with feedback to improve. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about the culture at LMCU and compensation. Our team is always open to hearing ways in which we can improve and we appreciate you bringing the idea forward for improved talent development processes. If you have any feedback you would like to share with our team, please email employment@lmcu.org with your comments for us to review. Thank you again for your time and for leaving us a review!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work for

    Apr 7, 2019 - Member Service Representative in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They really care about the members and make sure that we are giving back as much as we can. The products are worth talking about and the internal culture is rewarding and welcoming.

    Cons

    Excpections are very high to multi-task and focus on many objectives in addition to role responsibility. It can feel like your job is never fully done and your list never gets accomplished. There’s always work to do. It can also be difficult to move up past an MSR role since there are limited positions per branch.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

    Human Resources Generalist II

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for providing us with feedback to improve. Culture, member-focus, and giving back to the community are all things LMCU strives to excel at and we are happy that you feel that same way! We appreciate your feedback surrounding the nature of our work and would like to hear any suggestions you may have on how we can improve going forward. If you have any feedback for our team, please email employment@lmcu.org with your comments for us to review. Thank you again for your time and for leaving us a review!

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Benefits, Great People to work with

    Apr 15, 2019 - Underwriter in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful Benefits Awesome Colleagues Additional Paid Holidays Flexible with Time Off Safe & Clean Working Environment Room for growth Paid Volunteer Time Pet Insurance Great PRIDE Health Wellness Programs Potential Bonus depends on sales

    Cons

    Not fairly compensated compared to market, Management lacking in leadership skills, Company PRIDE events but not allowed to participate due workload, Favoritism by management, Extremely cliquey, Some Weekends, Limited Positive reinforcement mainly focus on negative, max annual pay increase is 2%

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

    Human Resources Generalist II

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for providing us with feedback. We appreciate your feedback and would like to discuss further. Please email employment@lmcu.org for us to have a conversation regarding your feedback. Thank you again for you time.

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company, Terrible Management

    Apr 26, 2019 - Senior Mortgage Processor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits. Community involvement.

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth. The mortgage managers have each other’s backs even knowing they’re doing a poor job. They don’t trust any employee to do their job. Constant micro managing. Disrespectful comments are regular. Offering ideas for improvement are frowned upon and often disregarded as unintelligent, only because the leaders lack significant knowledge about processing loans. No ownership from the managers. They continue to think they know everything even when confronted with solid proof they are wrong. Many do very little in a day but constantly hound their employees to do more and question why they didn’t get more done in a day. Terrible inconsistencies in underwriting. Many underwriters are too afraid to clear any approval conditions but think they are masters at their jobs. They’re behind the times in Underwriting, significantly. Their processes are ancient and lack any sophistication. They believe they are changing the way loans are done but only because the want to continue to impress the wealthy in a highly conservative area of the state of Michigan and Florida.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

    Human Resources Generalist II

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for providing us with feedback. We appreciate your feedback and would like to discuss further. Please email employment@lmcu.org for us to have a conversation regarding your feedback. Thank you again for you time.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Member Service Rep

    Apr 4, 2019 - Member Service Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment and work culture.

    Cons

    Pay doesn't raise fairly for faithful employees

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun job, but stressful

    Mar 6, 2019 - Teller I 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Standing all day, expected to make customer experience memorable, but also need to be quick with transactions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good job to get into company

    Jan 9, 2019 - Teller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, advancement opportunities, bonuses for sales

    Cons

    Big emphysis on sales, can be hard to move to corporate

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Decent

    Jan 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A lot of great people work here - Fun work events 3-4 times a year - The company cares for its members - Growing company (but see my first con) - Often hires internally - 38 hour work week (usually) - Employees go above and beyond to help each other (but again see my first con)

    Cons

    - With all the growth, the company is not hiring back-office staff fast enough to ease the transition and employees are becoming overloaded. I don't believe Senior Management is truly aware of the workload their staff has. Staff are often doing tasks outside of their job duties to keep things afloat. You could easily add 2 employees to every department within IT and all would still have plenty of work. - Needs to give employees more incentive to stay *Pay is below average *No way to get a raise more than 3% a year outside a promotion, that I know of *Benefits aren't great *Takes 5 years before you earn more vacation days -The politics can be a bit ridiculous - The work environment from a design standpoint isn't terrible, but could really use some life outside the tan cubes, tan floors, etc. - The company just seems a bit stuck "in the old ways" still.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Best place to work

    Dec 18, 2018 - Mortgage Processor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    LMCU is an amazing organization. I have been here for 9 years and see myself here for many more to come. The work environment is extremely pleasant, and we live and breathe our culture! #LMCUPRIDE

    Cons

    I can not think of one right now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 61 - 70 of 151 Reviews

Popular Careers with Lake Michigan Credit Union Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Lake Michigan Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

Lake Michigan Credit Union logo
or