Lake Michigan Credit Union "lmcu" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lake Michigan Credit Union Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
89%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Lake Michigan Credit Union CEO Sandy Jelinski
Sandy Jelinski
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of diversity and effective communication."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, LMCU is great because of the employees it has working here. Employees go above and beyond to go out of their way to get work done and the family atmosphere that we promote is unlike any other place that I have been. Additionally, the flexibility with scheduling is VERY nice to be able to do your work when/where you want (with some limitations) as needed.

    Cons

    This company promotes a strong focus on our company culture - PRIDE, but unfortunately, the culture we promote is not what we do day-to-day as an organization. I have many examples to support this reasoning, as I will list below. Our culture is one that promotes respect for others and those we serve. However, this company is extremely insensitive to diversity and how it makes up who we are as an organization.... Being a financial institution, we tend to be conservative in nature, but the fact that we do not offer any sort of diversity training as an organization is inexcusable. We have employees from so many different backgrounds (cultures, ethnicities, sexual orientation, geographical locations, etc.) yet we ignore the fact that this type of training does not exist. Our own CEO sends out quarterly update videos that say “God Bless”, “Merry Christmas”, etc. that many times offends employees. We fail to recognize MLK day, but we can dedicate a day towards veterans? We have many employees who fall under the LGBT group, but yet this is not recognized in our recruiting, in our benefits offered, or on our website? Our own CEO has NEVER come out to show her support for these groups and that is noticed. It’s also important to note that we have employees from all the generation groups, but yet we fail to take input from each group before making decisions. We want our office spaces to be collaborative, engaging, etc., but the buildings are all one color, with a lack of conference rooms, collaborative workspaces, parking, etc… as an organization we have a LONG way to go in this area and if it continues to go untouched, we will not continue being successful. Literally, take a look around West Michigan at other companies and around the country. The traditional, conservative viewpoints that once were very limiting are being challenged every day, as those entering the workforce want something different. If our company does not change, employees will force us to change because they will not be working here or WANT to work here. As an example, our locations in Florida have employees with very diverse backgrounds due to population makeups of those markets, but we don’t take this into consideration? By ignoring topics like MLK day, LGBT rights, etc. we are taking a stance on what we believe in as an organization even without saying it – “We do not support diversity” The comment that “we are in West Michigan, which is not diverse” has no merit. Along with how we approach diversity, is having a strong focus on communication. In order to have an organization that continues to be successful it requires there to be a high level of communication throughout the company. For example, in past years we have communicated through the President Newsletters, quarterly updates, all staff emails, etc. that share our company performance for the past year and our strategic goals moving forward in the coming years, but we did not have that this past year – it’s almost worse that we had it in years past and then nothing this year. We focus so much on our continued growth that we many times skip what we were already doing well or jump over issues that are right in front of us because “we don’t have the time”. Effective communication also means having a true deep understanding of those that work for the company as mentioned in the section I wrote above on diversity. If you communicate, but fail to realize the message you are getting across or that is perceived, did you really communicate well? Again, this goes back to seeking input from employees and making sure that what we are considering all the different backgrounds that make up LMCU.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seek input from those of different employee groups and be more forward thinking in how we approach different topics. Very traditional, conservative viewpoints were at one point in time "the norm", but what employees want is changing regardless of their generational association. If we as an organization continue to ignore many of these topics mentioned above, it will be VERY apparent that we are not as great as we... promote ourselves to be.

    Show More
    Lake Michigan Credit Union2018-02-09
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Good challenges, management is lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are always new projects. If you’re after greenfield development it can be fairly rewarding in that regard. It’s also nice if you like working on your own, as it’s very siloed even when on a team. Just make sure you cover your butt and can justify every design decision ever made. Developers receive an MSDN account. Pay is good if the negotiation was done before starting. There are days you can wear jeans and... LMCU approved t-shirts.

    Show More

    Cons

    Development is siloed. Weekly on-call rotation. There is no opportunity for advancement. Titles indicate pay-grade, not leadership ability/potential. Even the Team Lead role is side-lined by management most of the time. The focus is on developing hacky systems that “just work”. Laptops have 8GB of RAM, 19in 900p monitors, etc. Not a huge deal, just an indicator of how tight the budget is for basic items. TFS. Very... aggressive Websense policies (even sites like imgur.com which tutorials or blogs might use). If you use more than 4 sick days a year you’ll be reprimanded.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management doesn't seem to take the role of management seriously. Hope they can stop coding and focus on facilitating us/removing barriers. It's difficult because it's clear they love coding and stuff, but it's ultimately detrimental to the team (and creates a huge bottleneck). Listen more to developers. Try to take back seat and let discussion take place. Might take some time for those natural leaders to show... through, but they will eventually.

    Show More
    Lake Michigan Credit Union2017-10-15
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Amazing Culture, Great place to Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union

    Pros

    I had an amazing experience as an intern at LMCU. From day one every person I interacted with at the credit union was so kind and extremely willing to help me in any way that they could. I was inspired by how much Lake Michigan prioritized their culture initiative and was always looking for ways to improve and grow. Not only was Lake Michigan Credit Union looking to grow themselves, but they also invested time into... me to help me grow. I felt that each person truly was invested in my success and was genuinely trying to help me reach my goals. LMCU is a place where you can enjoy spending time with your coworkers as well as work together to create results. It is a perfect balance. I enjoyed everything about Lake Michigan Credit Union and I would come back to work here in a heartbeat.

    Show More

    Cons

    That I was unable to stay for longer!

    Advice to Management

    Keep helping your employees grow and reach their goals

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2017-04-15
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great culture, poor pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Msr 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company culture is great here! LMCU really promotes innovation and is an enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    While LMCU gives back to its' members, the credit union fails to stay to stay competitive with employee earnings. Raises are now capped at 3% compared to 5%, incentives are harder to qualify for, even for the best employees. Each location/department currently makes a mortgage, credit card, and loan payment every month with the new I am LMCU initiative but employees are underpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Start giving back to your employees on ways that will really benefit them. Restructure the pay grades so when the brackets change, existing employees benefit also, instead of receiving the same pay as new employees. Develop a management training program and continue to coach and empower your managers instead of micro-managing.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2017-04-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Manager Full Time, Excellent Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    101 best companies to work for, National and Statewide for a good reason. I have worked here for 5+ years as a teller, member service representative, and currently a branch manager. LMCU has invested many resources to make the best company culture to work in. You are family when you work for LMCU. Your opinion is heard and your future matters. Consider more than the annual salary, consider your benefits, 401 K,... Pension, Health Benefits/Cost, and other family circumstances. LMCU is in the banking industry, but family life is valued here.

    Show More

    Cons

    I know I could be making more annually working for another company. However, I do not feel for the companies that have approached me they would provide me the results and growth LMCU has. My con in regards to income, is a pro, as LMCU has invested into my career growth and recognized that I as an individual wanted to show the leadership capacity to serve at higher levels. Income will come in the future.

    Advice to Management

    Every employee likes a raise. But for internal movement and promotions more often a think the manager's input should be considered for what employee they are staffing or promoting should get paid. Especially if you know your staff members are not being compensated hourly the same and one produces or services members better. Additionally, with internal promotion I think more often than not managers are being put the... low end of their bracket, but the company would be consider hiring new managers in at a higher rate. Consider improving current wages for longer retention.

    Show More
    Lake Michigan Credit Union2016-12-12
  7. "A great organization to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is outstanding here. Over the course of my career, I've experienced a variety of cultures, and this by far is the best. The people who work at LMCU are very friendly and personable.

    Cons

    A formerly smaller organization that at times struggles with the mindset needed of a rapidly growing organization, but progress is being made.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency is good, but could be better, keep working at it.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2016-12-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Loved working at LMCU. The culture was amazingly positive and everyone was generally pleasant to work with. Work/life balance is paramount and management is understanding and flexible with needs.

    Cons

    Not a very progressive organization and sometimes it felt that management was lacking direction and guidance for their employees. Not their fault, likely stemmed from upper leadership. Compensation was also an area that needed drastic improvement. Sure, everyone wants more pay. But really, truly, people were underpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Work on training and developing employees more, offering more guidance and transparency of the direction of leadership. Consider evaluating compensation.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2016-10-22
  9. "Awesome Company Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lake Michigan Credit Union

    Pros

    LMCU is a fantastic company to work for! The great company culture is prevalent throughout all departments, as well as individual branches. Such a large part of life is spent at work, and LMCU ensures that life at work can be fun. Management does a great job of empowering employees to improve their processes, further career development, etc. Company is growing quickly! There will be more and more... opportunities to move upward in the future. Work/Life Balance is important to Upper Management - Flex-Time available, Personal Days, and Sick Time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some processes could be updated - but this is most likely due to the rapid growth.

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2015-09-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Love LMCU, but not impressed by the CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller II in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome corporate culture, and great pay for a college student. 75% of the branch employees are fun to work with and make going into work easier. I've worked at many different branches in the GR area, and every branch manager and assistant manager I've worked with have been awesome. They are all very helpful, encouraging and create a comfortable environment in each branch. I graduated college and left LMCU... because wages are too low and it is nearly impossible to move into corporate starting as a teller unless it's VP of Sales; all other functions of business they hire externally for, even though they tell you they only hire internally upon interviewing.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is not enough for someone with a college degree (which they prefer)... especially for branch management positions. Everyone works very hard every day, and it's a very stressful job, and to only be making $11-$16 / hr, that is not enough. LMCU's employee turnover has been abnormally high in the recent months, and I believe it is due to them hiring externally for corporate positions and branch management positions... and low wages. Now onto the CEO... I was working at a branch right out of my branch training and Sandy Jelinski, the CEO, walked into the branch I was working at. I had never seen or met her prior to this, so obviously I did not recognize her. She walked up to my station and stood there like she was a celebrity and I should know who she is. I asked her for her name so could pull up her account since she was not handing me an ID, and she said her name was Sandy. No last name, just Sandy. Then I asked her what her last name was and she said Jelinski and I had to ask her how to spell that. Then my Lync messaging system blew up with messages from my coworkers letting me know that was the CEO. After I had finished Sandy's transaction I thought everything went great and didn't think it was any issue that I didn't know who she was. The following day I go to work and my branch manager called me into her office to discuss this interaction with Sandy. Sandy had reported to my manager's boss about how I didn't know who she was and she wanted me to get in trouble. My manager defended me because I was so new. The teller training class was 3 weeks long and they had mentioned Sandy's name once. There are one million things to remember, and I was not concerned about the CEO. I was at the lowest position within the credit union and never expected to meet her. I would expect someone with an ego that big to work at Fortune 500 company, but never a non-profit credit union in West Michigan. Lake Michigan Credit Union is an awesome credit union and place to work, but the CEO does not reflect this.

    Show More
    Lake Michigan Credit Union2014-08-09
  11. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller II in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lake Michigan Credit Union part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved every aspect of LMCU

    Cons

    Tough to get full time hours

    Lake Michigan Credit Union2014-04-28
Found 20 reviews