Lakeland Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Lakeland Health Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Lakeland Health President Loren Hamel
Loren Hamel
27 Ratings
  1. "Considerate Employer With Progressive Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great work-life balance -Transparent high-level policies and practices prove Lakeland is dedicated both to its patients and its employees - Provides a large framework for continuing education - Provides many opportunities for personal and professional growth -Provides meaningful, valuable work so you can feel and know you are making a difference

    Cons

    Disclaimer: I tried entering “none” as a response but a longer explanation was required by Glassdoor. The only thing I can think of is that something salaries are market average or just slightly off of average. This is not a con in my opinion; it is the compromise between Lakeland’s two values of providing low-cost healthcare to its population and taking care of its employees.

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-10-27
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, great team members and provides an environment where you can share feedback open and honestly. The organization is very open to change. Wonderful people that truly care about providing excellent patient care.

    Cons

    The construction at the St. Joseph location is a bit disruptive, but will be well worth it when the new pavilion is complete!

    Lakeland Health2017-10-20
  3. "Working at Lakeland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA/Unit Clerk in Pine Ridge, St. Joseph, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health part-time

    Pros

    The flexibility and the staff memebers that care are some pros here at Lakeland! We're a big family!

    Cons

    I think that pay could be improved.

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-10-19
  4. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Joseph, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeland Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome place to work with even better boss. Very understanding management that worked with you with life situations.

    Cons

    Everything there is great. Very enjoyable

    Lakeland Health2017-10-19
  5. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Saint Joseph, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health part-time

    Pros

    Professional, uplifting, positive, supportive CORPORATE and that's rare in the Medical field!

    Cons

    Non that aren't being addressed.

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-10-19
  6. "Skills Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skills Trainer in Saint Joseph, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lakeland Hospital is a fantastic place to work. It is amazing how many people feel fortunate to have been employed here and what a name they have made for themselves in the community.

    Cons

    Lakeland is undergoing a huge addition and it indeed has interfered with our parking situation. Most of that is expected to be resolved in the next month with an addition opening to the parking garage.

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-10-19
  7. "Depends on the shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Saint Joseph, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great day shift team, fun to work with, management is there when needed and understanding

    Cons

    As a new nurse, night shift was rough. The nurses were totally different and became annoyed when you asked for help. They would give new nurses the heaviest load and then sometimes even refuse to help. The experienced nurses would say things like.. “oh, you need experience with IVs, catheters, etc” and tell you to go do it for their patient while you were trying to care for your own patients.

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-10-19
  8. "Unexpected Gem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeland Health

    Pros

    Management is active & vocal about promoting a positive culture, demonstrating a genuine concern for employee well-being. Excellent facility with construction underway on an even more modern tower (writing this in summer 2017). Slick implementation of Epic EMR. Physicians are well-supported by a surprisingly deep roster of subspecialists for such a small town. Lakeland has done an excellent job wrangling the region's outpatient clinics to become affiliated also, promoting better continuity of care. Excellent corporate leadership, robust benefits / insurance packages.

    Cons

    The town of Saint Joseph is rather small, with few economic opportunities for spouses outside of Lakeland or Whirlpool.

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-09-29
  9. "Manager Associate Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Associate Health 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I absolutely LOVE the people I work with. They are fun, team spirited, achieve amazing results, and put our team members first!

    Cons

    Health care is rapidly changing and Lakeland is on the leading edge. You cannot blink or you will miss the latest and greatest updates around here!

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-05-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I LOVE LAKELAND"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Joseph, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Real people. Genuine and caring. Chance to positively impact people's lives EVERY SINGLE DAY. Purposeful work: we serve our community.

    Cons

    It's hard not to want to get involved in everything because there is such opportunity to make a difference and be a part of amazing initiatives!

    Continue reading
    Lakeland Health2017-05-04
Found 59 reviews