Lakeland Regional Health (FL) Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Registered Nurse

Lakeland Regional Health (FL) Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
Lakeland Regional Health (FL) CEO Elaine Thompson (no image)
Elaine Thompson
16 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great atmosphere to work in.

    Cons

    The requirement for BSN after 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    Be active in what is happening on the floor with your team.

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-08-06
  2. "New nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends

    I worked at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good teamwork. As a new nurse they were very supportive. They had plenty of overtime opportunities.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-11-22
  3. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    fast-paced, room to learn and grow

    Cons

    the usual circumstances for nursing, short staffed and little support from management/administration in many units

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-09-01
  4. "New Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time

    Pros

    Easy and friend hiring process

    Cons

    None that I can think

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-07-29
  5. "Good first job as nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I worked at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time

    Pros

    I was able to learn a lot as a new nurse in my first two years

    Cons

    I did not have any cons at the time. I loved my job there.

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lakeland Regional Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lakeland Regional has a friendly work culture. They also have a good training program.

    Cons

    There have been layoffs and low staffing. We are subject to frequent low census. Budget cuts have placed an increased workload on the nursing staff.

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-07-26
  7. "ICU Nurse Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nursing Union. It's a teaching hospital and they hire new grad nurses into a RN residency program, which offers a longer orientation/training phase and really helps you feel grounded as a new nurse.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, they can't seem to hold onto people hospital wide. They're chronically understaffed, especially in the winter months. I heard someone in HR say approximately 60% of the nurses in the entire hospital have less than 5 years experience. LRMC has a base pay that's somewhat comparable to other hospitals in the area, but they have poor shift differentials. Also, they don't offer ICU pay, which is... frustrating. Base pay: $26/hr Evening differential (3p-11p): $4.18/hr Night differential (11p-7a): $5.67/hr If you're hired into weekend nights, they give you approximately $12 additionally for the Saturday/Sunday night combo. Not sure what the day shift weekend differential is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I like my manager, charge nurses, and coworkers. Our crew works really well together. Shift differentials are poor and a lack of ICU pay is frustrating. Change those things and LRMC would likely hold on to more people.

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-05-16
  8. "One of the best jobs I've had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hospital. My floor is very friendly. You always have the union for any information.

    Cons

    Driving to Lakeland, not always getting a bonus.

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-05-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Change in the ED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Emergency Department RN 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High volume and great opportunity to learn new skills and advance provided you have the self motivation.

    Cons

    A change form more employee and patient centered to time line and bottom line.

    Advice to Management

    Retention rate would go up if employees were more appreciated and compensated more competitive way.

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2019-04-14
  10. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeland Regional Health (FL) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment conducive to learning and open to changes.

    Cons

    PCAs are not paid well.

    Lakeland Regional Health (FL)2018-10-25
Found 29 reviews