Lakeside Behavioral Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Lakeside Behavioral Health System Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Lakeside Behavioral Health System CEO Joy Golden
Joy Golden
2 Ratings
  1. "Intake Coordinator Coordinator Review Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intake Coordinator 

    I have been working at Lakeside Behavioral Health System

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity for overtime

    Cons

    A lot of the time they were understaffed

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2019-04-08
  2. "Don't work there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeside Behavioral Health System full-time

    Pros

    The pay is above market average.

    Cons

    So short-staffed that it is sometimes unsafe. You will be expected to work way more than 40 hours. Your caseloads will be too high. You are expected to work what should be three different positions. The treatment of patients is unethical at best.

    Advice to Management

    Get a new CEO. Hire twice as many employees. Start putting patient care first.

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2019-07-18
  3. "Difficult place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mental Health Technician 

    I have been working at Lakeside Behavioral Health System part-time

    Pros

    Patients need our help. I felt as though I could make a day to day difference

    Cons

    Administration doesn't care about rehabilitating, this is a revolving-door kind of place. Admins care about money, not health

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2019-05-30
  4. "Coworkers great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lakeside Behavioral Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, a lot of the coworkers are great. Lots of opportunity for overtime.

    Cons

    Working over, not great work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay.

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2019-05-15
  5. "Could be a great place to work but needs much improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lakeside Behavioral Health System part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with patients of varying mental health issues High possibility for advancement

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations, paper charting system, poor leadership, poor work-life balance, unprofessional coworkers (not all), no training

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication between leadership and front line workers Make sure leadership follows through with the information that is communicated Hire more employees instead of dumping everything on existing staff and having unrealistic expectations of those staff members Get rid of the unprofessional employees by giving consequences

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2018-08-16
  6. "Very Draining Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lakeside Behavioral Health System part-time

    Pros

    I worked with a great team of therapists, being able to talk to the psychiatrists was a positive learning experience in being part of an interdisciplinary team;

    Cons

    usually have to work past when you want to leave; hours can be unpredictable; random issues can pop up and through the whole day off; no real employee appreciation; supervisor did not really stand up or speak up for employees

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees for their work & worth, plus extra change!

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2018-07-08
  7. "therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lakeside Behavioral Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Valuable experience working with a multitude of mental health disorders. Ability to learn quickly due to being thrown into everything right away. I honestly do enjoy the people I work with, and they’re the only reason (aside from caring about patients) that I haven’t left yet.

    Cons

    Staff in every department are immensely overworked. Patients are herded like cattle through an assembly line with little effort made to actually help them. There are entirely too many patients to be cared for. Therapist caseloads are astronomical and prevent us from providing patient care. Nursing is grossly understaffed, to the point that staff to patient ratios are in violation with CMS standards. Staff don’t receive...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I get that LBHS is a business and the goal at the end of the day is to make money. But we are also a hospital, and patient care should take a higher priority than making a buck.

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2018-01-18
  8. "Not career worthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Counselor in Bartlett, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lakeside Behavioral Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Insurance is cheap, they offer insurance and pto benefits, nothing

    Cons

    Pay, no way to move up without master degree, raises are like 15 cents and 10 cents no higher.

    Advice to Management

    More pro should be given or, better training, better pay, security needs to be on premises in parking lot

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2017-10-26
  9. "Assembly line like care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lakeside Behavioral Health System full-time

    Pros

    Patients are seeking help for their addiction or behavioral issues and are cooperative and that interaction was fulfilling b/c I was able to actually feel like a nurse.

    Cons

    Extremely rare time to actually have conversations with patients. Poor patients were herded around like cattle. As a nurse, I was not able to ptovide decent care. And pay was pitiful with no raise ever.

    Advice to Management

    More staff needed to assist needed patients.

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2017-10-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Behavioral Health Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Behavioral Health Therapist in Germantown, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lakeside Behavioral Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Baptism by fire- lots of disorders presented in a short amount of time. A chance to learn very quickly and not much hand holding.

    Cons

    Very little security and huge case load, not very much help on obtaining your license, very stressful work environment not very helpful nurses or staff

    Advice to Management

    Over worked therapist, add more curriculum for psycho social groups

    Lakeside Behavioral Health System2017-09-04
Found 24 reviews