Lakeway Publishers Reviews | Glassdoor

Lakeway Publishers Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

1.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
5%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Lakeway Publishers CEO R. Jack Fishman  (no image)
R. Jack Fishman
9 Ratings
  1. "mail room clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lakeway Publishers part-time

    Pros

    the work is easy and get to work in an air condition place and not alot of people just a certain amount of people makes it easy to know everyone the work hours are not bad

    Cons

    just part time and only allowed to get a certain amount of hours a week and only get paid every two weeks

    Lakeway Publishers2015-07-31
  2. "Death by micro-management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lakeway is a terrific group of newspapers full of hardworking individuals. Community journalism, in many ways, at its best.

    Cons

    Don't expect to make a decision. EVERYTHING is controlled from the home office.

    Advice to Management

    None they want to hear.

    Lakeway Publishers2019-09-16
  3. "Micro Management to the extreme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time

    Pros

    Can be used as a learning experience for what not to do.

    Cons

    Poor pay scale, no raises for years, micro management to the extreme. Ownership makes incredibly poor decisions to promote growth and success. Not a company to work at for the long haul.

    Lakeway Publishers2019-09-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Laid Off 2 weeks after starting with no explanation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Writer in Tullahoma, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was a staff writer for one of their newspapers, which was fun. I got to interview people and write stories.

    Cons

    I was laid off abruptly 2 weeks after I started. I had just gotten a work email the day before. When I asked what I was laid off for they hid behind Tennessee being a right to work state and wouldn't give me a reason for being dismissed.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lay people off right after hiring them with no explanation.

    Lakeway Publishers2019-08-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unfullfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher in Clermont, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a whole lot of pros other than the fact we were located far from corporate.

    Cons

    Pay is a little low by most standards. They expect you to work hard, which is fair, but don't want to pay you for success. The CEO always finds some excuse to get out of paying bonuses. He moves money and expenses around and gives some sob story about why you aren't getting your bonus even though the objectives were clearly met. CEO doesn't have the common courtesy to return phone calls or emails about why he... won't pay bonuses or the integrity to honor the commitment to his employees. The CEO will have you chasing windmills constantly on projects that have come and gone 10-20 years ago. He's out of touch and thinks we are still in the glory years of print. If you like to be micro managed, this is the place for you. You'll get to track many different metrics that don't help you one bit to achieve goals, but instead you'll spend hours writing reports that they never read. A very disappointing experience.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    CEO needs to retire. He needs to honor his commitments to employees and pay up when the objectives are achieved instead of looking for ways to take it away.

    Lakeway Publishers2019-04-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No raises....ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being able to work with your community.

    Cons

    The management, the low pay, unprotected accounts, bad/expensive insurance, extremely high turnover, no room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and Take a look at why they are leaving

    Lakeway Publishers2018-03-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "They hired me without thinking about it; then laid off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - News Reporter in Warsaw, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Editor-reporter conversation can be fun It's a paid position (low wage) It appears to be full time position at first glance. . .

    Cons

    Long, unnecessary meetings with staff Publisher lays you off after 6 days

    Advice to Management

    Think more carefully about how many employees you as a company are ready to actually hire. If you are not realistically and mathematically able to hire more than ONE full time employee, then don't do it! Be more upfront about what types of articles of what you are looking during the 1st interview Actually try to be CLEAR about what the expectations and hours are; actually try to manage your employees and... expectations on how long they must stay in newsroom Lynda.com is not much of a "paid job training," I could watch it at home, and I should not be laying out copy pages InDesign Poor use of technology, my computer did not turn on the whole week I worked there. . .

    Show More
    Lakeway Publishers2018-02-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Please do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time

    Pros

    -Guaranteed work for recent college grads

    Cons

    -No direction from superiors -Rude and unprofessional corporate management -No raises -Low morale -Incredibly understaffed, and the few staff members are overworked and underpaid

    Lakeway Publishers2017-12-21
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Corrupt company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for entry level or post-retirement journalism, no competition for beats, allows you to write for different styles of publications

    Cons

    Horrible management, extremely low pay, lots of illegal employment moves, expected to work multiple jobs for one low salary, really bad HR "department"

    Advice to Management

    This was one of the worst jobs I had in terms of management and work for the pay. For one, just about all the staff was a revolving door. You can't put out great content for your community when you are constantly having new reporters and editors who know nothing about the community or journalism itself. Treating people like they're disposable creates a hostile work environment and therefore they can't focus on... putting out the best publications. The community sees it and doesn't have any respect for Lakeway's local papers. Another thing, forcing employees to do multiple jobs for the price of one is not only illegal, but completely disrespectful. Reporters get paid a little over minimum wage and are expected to write for multiple newspapers and magazines, covering multiple regions for that price. And they're not allowed overtime. It's nearly impossible. Editors are expected to do the same, laying out multiple papers for little to no extra compensation. They also allow multiple forms of harassment to happen in the workplace without any compliance or investigation from their single HR person and are facing multiple lawsuits for these reasons. This company isn't going to last, there's nothing they can do to save it now. I just hope these people get right with the one above before they go to sleep at night.

    Show More
    Lakeway Publishers2017-09-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Too much work, too little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Editor in Morristown, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lakeway Publishers

    Pros

    Freedom in position, good start in journalism

    Cons

    Low pay, too much work expected - on top of the newspaper you are required to put together booklets, tabs, magazines on a regular basis for a wage that is hard to live on.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more.

    Lakeway Publishers2017-01-22
Found 14 reviews