Lam Research Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Lam Research CEO Tim Archer
Tim Archer
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, company and employees care about their core values, challenging but rewarding(in 55 reviews)

  • "Work life balance for sure , On time salary & educational assistance(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "work life balance could be a challenge(in 85 reviews)

  • "Expect long hours in the fab and office because hardware is hard and getting harder(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Committed to people and business growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Tualatin, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lam Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Transparency about where we are successful, and where we can improve. Leadership is committed to taking action, and sharing progress over time. Development opportunities are available to everyone and you own your career path.

    Cons

    Business success influenced by external forces that are outside of the companies control, like trade issues or market cycles. But the company has managed through a tough backdrop this year to deliver solid revenue and good bonus payouts.

    Continue reading
    Lam Research2019-11-13
  2. "Great place to grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Design Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lam Research full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart committed people, many opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance, difficult alignment

    Lam Research2019-10-08
  3. "Values-driven Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lam Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lam has clear Core Values and expects its managers and employees to operate by them. Invests heavily in employee training. My VP is very inclusive, promotes reasonable work-life balance. Long term business prospects are very good. Company's COVID-19 response has been very fair, supportive to employees.

    Cons

    Company's operating divisions are siloed--can be hard to learn information from outside your organization

    Continue reading
    Lam Research2020-05-27
  4. "great company and culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lam Research full-time

    Pros

    good team work and growth potential

    Cons

    slow decision making sometimes by upper management

    Lam Research2020-05-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "OK first job out of grad school, don't stick around"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lam Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is a reasonable transition between grad school and industry. Solid health insurance options and generally good people working there. If your manager likes you, you can move up very quickly, but this isn't guaranteed

    Cons

    Your job happiness is going to depend largely on customer happiness and your relationship with that customer. If you are fortunate enough to have a US customer, your hours can be reasonable, but if not, good luck. There's a weird culture that emphasizes putting in hours, regardless of output. Coupled to the fact that many people are dependent on this job for their visas, the work culture can be unpleasant. In my time there, there were so many discussions of improving WLB through smarter experiments, automation, etc. I never saw any of this come to fruition, and as we all know, talk is cheap. Get some experience working with high tech equipment and if you aren't promoted in a year or 2, look elsewhere, ideally away from the OEM industry, because this isn't going to get easier. I saw people there for years who worked 12h per day and still didn't get promoted. Fortunately in the early stages of your career, a lot of these skills are translatable within the Bay Area.

    Continue reading
    Lam Research2020-05-18
  6. "Great place to grow. Fast paced and for someone who likes to work hard!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Designer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lam Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. An innovative company. On the cutting edge.

    Cons

    Need help with Project management.

    Continue reading
    Lam Research2020-04-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Generous and Efficiently Run Company--Hit or Miss"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NCG Rotational Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Lam Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Despite the company's emphasis on 'customer, company, individual,' Lam does invest quite a lot of time and money in the success of the employee, whether it be through private consulting/job coaching, training seminars, or technology talks. One of the most positive aspects of my experience there was being able to present in front of the corporate executives a few times--despite their being 'executives,' the top brass of the company really cares and invests energy in building and improving the company from the bottom up. Because of this, one is better able to gather a sense of purpose in their work early on in their career, as the company's visions are clearly elucidated. Lam also is a place with a very collegial environment; I got to work with the smartest people I've seen in my career thus far, and it can be very inspiring to be around people who are driven, focused, and intellectually curious. While no company is perfect, one can easily find camraderie with colleagues and learn from their expertise in a 'take and give' type of fashion. In other words, I did not experience people protecting themselves or hiding their knowledge for their own benefit. The company's benefits are top of the line, and although unrelated to the work or the industry, the location in Fremont is next to some of the prettiest nature trails in the South/East Bay, making it a great location to decompress during or after work. The company also grants an employee fitness benefit and educates employees about fitness and wellness, which is a great feature.

    Cons

    The environment can be a little intimidating at times, due to the rush of customer demands and fast paced, around the clock work. Some of the work can be deemed esoteric (i.e. going to great lengths to please a customer about the color of a coating), and not directly impactful (i.e. finding causes of diseases, etc.). Also, despite company core values which are generally adhered to, there still remain some (note some) 'old guard' employees of 20+ years service who embody a militaristic way of treating people. Humans are humans, and while we all make mistakes, I was treated a few times early in my career like a new recruit to the NAVY by a guy who arrogantly thought he was running a military boot camp. His cursing the worst of foul language in a fab and trying to intimidate by telling me what a layoff was (as if I didn't already know), was inappropriate in full. This culture is seen much more in the etch dielectric portion of the business. Depending on how one manages themselves, it can be difficult to 'breathe' in an environment which can be fast paced. Time off and hobbies outside of work are imperative to success.

    Continue reading
    Lam Research2020-04-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not the worst job for a PhD"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lam Research full-time

    Pros

    It's not the worst job if you made the mistake of getting a PhD in chemistry or a related field and can only find jobs in process engineering (or continue slaving away for peanuts in academia). Be grateful you're working for an equipment vendor and not a 24/7 fab with on-call duty. You'll make enough money to put a roof over your head, support your family and get to work on cutting-edge process technology and equipment.

    Cons

    The semiconductor industry is very globalized and have been moving away from North America for a while now. Expect to travel frequently, deal with jet lag, and miss your family. Expect long hours in the fab and office because hardware is hard and getting harder. Expect to make much less money than your buddies in software and work on Friday and Saturday nights because a tool is down or that is the only time when a tool is available. Meanwhile, your buddies in other fields will be spending time with friends and family while you get micromanaged by your stressed-out boss because a customer across the world is having issues with your product. And, of course, this also means conference calls at ungodly hours due to the time zone difference. Don't expect other players in this industry to be much different. Good luck getting out once you're in because it will be hard to transfer your skills to other roles.

    Continue reading
    Lam Research2020-05-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Technician in Tualatin, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lam Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits with many different shifts available

    Cons

    Average, at best, leadership with little to no room for upward mobility.

    Lam Research2020-04-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "If you enjoy staying in your box"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Hillsboro, OR

    I worked at Lam Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary. That's about it.

    Cons

    Your troubleshooting skills will whither and die working here because you're not allowed to troubleshoot on your own but must follow a script. Forced to do all the crap work at customer site. Hi tech janitor

    Lam Research2020-04-28
Viewing 1 - 10 of 720 Reviews