Lam Research Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Lam Research CEO Tim Archer
Tim Archer
252 Ratings
Pros
  • "Technology, work environment and benefits(in 65 reviews)

  • "Best work life balance possible(in 58 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance for some employees is fairly steep(in 99 reviews)

  • "Long hours due to customer base location(in 45 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Lam Research and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Dream job, especially for early career

      Feb 12, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The mentorship you receive is world class. My knowledge as an engineer has sky rocketed since I joined a year ago right out of college. You are given a broad range of projects, never a dull moment. You will be challenged with hard engineering problems but again, you have excellent mentors and many fantastic resources to help you succeed. If you are interested in, Lam also covers further education costs (e.g. part time masters). Lam core values are a big deal. I've always felt respected even as a minority, new college grad.

      Cons

      Literally none. It's my first job out of college. I saw myself working in the semiconductor industry but after working at Lam for a year, I can see myself working here for many years to come.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Lam Research Response

      Lam Research

      Thank you for your review. Our culture and core values are what differentiate Lam Research and we are happy to hear you are finding Lam a good place to work. When you achieve your potential, so do we. We appreciate your feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      May 13, 2021 - Field Service Engineer (FSE) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary Great benefits Great management

      Cons

      Not really any bad comments

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Bad Business Structure

      Apr 14, 2021 - Technical Instructor in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The direct management is good Small group culture is good Work load is good

      Cons

      Contractor practices are bad Too politically correct No raise

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company that truly cares -- sometimes too much

      Mar 26, 2021 - Manager in Fremont, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - very generous. great bonuses (including surprise bonuses) - high quality standards - commitment to becoming diverse and inclusive. not quite there but making strides. - ESPP is like finding a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow - people stay for the long haul. lowest attrition rate of any silicon valley company I've worked at.

      Cons

      - fear of decision making at lower mgmt levels sometimes means slow process changes - very high stock price means very few RSUs awarded to "regular" employees in recent years - employees below director don't get unlimited PTO and 7-10 of 15 normal PTO days are used by "forced shut downs" so very limited vacation time in first several years of service - I haven't seen a strong push to encourage internal transfers/promotion. new reqs seem to be a surprise when someone is hired. employees aren't encouraged to inquire about transferring within the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Lam Research - #LamCares #UniquelyLam

      Apr 29, 2021 - Master Engineering Technician in Fremont, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lam is not only a great place where great people want to work, but in the community, Lam has made its voice heard in support of many social issues. All the while, LAM’s Exec Staff continues to break records corporately. I’ve been employed for almost 10 years, and my contributions both in-house, and as a community advocate for STEM Education in our African American & Latino communities, LAM’s support is Stellar!!! #LamCares #UniquelyLam

      Cons

      In my role, there’s nothing I can say that is negative.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lam is a great place to grow your career

      Apr 26, 2021 - Human Resources Manager in Fremont, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care for people and Social Justice

      Cons

      We are PowerPoint heavy/there is an imbalance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company

      May 6, 2021 - Supply Chain Manager in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity Total compensation (Pay for performance) Core Values that are really part of the culture

      Cons

      Work life balance can be a challenge, depending on the role

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lam Research is a great place to work with a strong values based culture

      Apr 30, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cares about people, performance, total rewards

      Cons

      Slow to adopt to workplace flexibility that enhances work/life balance and productivity.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to work overall but doesn't fully acknowledge veteran experience.

      Mar 24, 2021 - Production Supervisor in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lam overall is a great company that strives to maintain high diversity and inclusion standards to make sure everyone gets a fair shot. Not 100% perfect and I'm sure no company is but you can see the genuine effort is still there. Also the benefits and stock purchase options have provided me a considerable boost financially the past 4 years I've been on board.

      Cons

      Lam does well to try to hire military veterans but could improve on considering our experience to higher level roles, especially for manager positions. I had 20-plus years military experience with 15 of that in some of a leadership role plus a Master's Degree but was only hired on as a junior supervisor experience, a position that required no previous experience and no degree. Meanwhile, individuals with only 10 years of civilian experience are hired on as senior supervisors giving them more opportunities to gain experiences that will make them more competitive for manager and beyond.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very friendly colleagues

      May 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Fremont, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues are very collaborative. Company culture is friendly.

      Cons

      Hours can be bad when the project is hot

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 947 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Lam Research Job Seekers

    Process Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Supply Chain Business Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Lam Research? Share Your Experiences

    or