Land O'Lakes Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Land O'Lakes President and CEO Beth Ford
Beth Ford
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance, cooperative(in 38 reviews)

  • "meaningful work, awesome resources, good benefits, happy people(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but that is manufacturing for you(in 10 reviews)

  • "One strike and you're out policies set by upper management with no trucking industry experience whatsoever(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Land O'Lakes and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company with strong culture

      Jan 10, 2021 - Commodity Analyst in Arden Hills, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, cooperative

      Cons

      Doesnt award higher performers for high performance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      Jan 2, 2021 - Change Architect in Arden Hills, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is great and I like working here

      Cons

      Not a great work-life balance for some

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      great place to work

      Nov 10, 2020 - Fork Lift Driver in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      compensation and work life balance

      Cons

      disconnect with managers who are remote

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Honestly? It's really nice.

      Jul 14, 2020 - Marketing Analyst in Arden Hills, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Given the current environment, I think one of the most relevant questions to ask is "how did this company respond to COVID and their employees' well-being?" Well, for HQ employees, there's always been a standing policy that working from home was totally fine. Some companies say you can but will judge you for it, but it wasn't like that at Land O'Lakes. The company reacted to COVID relatively early; we all went full-remote in March. Guidance passed down from the CEO from the get go was "hey we understand that things are going to be tricky, so do your best to get your work done but it's totally understandable if you're less productive". As time went on, everyone got into their stride and tempo went back to normal. Work life balance has always been good. Some people will work slightly different hours if that works better for them (e.g. 8-3, and then an hour in the evening), but most just work 8-4 or 9-5. I don't really get emails on the weekend or holidays, and there's no expectation to answer them if I do. As for inclusiveness, the company does seem to make a real effort to promote inclusiveness and diversity, it's not just superficial. One final note, there is a constant conscious effort to recognize people's efforts, from teams to the entire org. It's refreshing.

      Cons

      Work load can be daunting at times, and prioritization can be an issue. That said, management is understanding, and will do what they can to help. There are definitely people with too much on their plate, or involved in too many projects. Some of that is involuntary, some is self-inflicted. It can be an issue either way, and that can affect projects and timelines.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Supervisor

      Sep 2, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits! Competitive salary! Some of the people you work with are genuinely great spirited people.

      Cons

      It all depends on the plant. The one I worked at the management was awful. Very unorganized, terrible communication and did not invest in “talent” . To start they didn’t mention the work hour which is 50 hrs a week (it wasn’t written anywhere on my offer) and had to work Saturdays whenever they needed. It’s a salary job so one would assume a 40hr work we but instead I averaged 55-65 hrs a week (no real work life balance) Management just wants you to keep the production floor moving that’s really it they don’t want to teach you more than disciplining your employees making sure they are at their posts on time not even a second late. Production is so much more than that but they refuse to teach you more. They don’t communicate with you why changes are happening or production schedules are higher than normal they just expect you to adapt to what’s happening with no understanding of the end goal.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love the CEO

      Feb 6, 2020 - Senior BI Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back, Work-life balance, Training and Development Opportunities

      Cons

      No bonus, no promotion, no career growth

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Local MN firm outsourced

      Nov 9, 2018 - Senior Systems Engineer in Arden Hills, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overpay and good benefits/Health Insurance.

      Cons

      1. Outsourced 2. They will pay specific folks very high to maintain diversity. Even thou team does the same work. 3. No growth: After staying several years the career path is stagnant unless you impress your manager with happy hour. In the name of growth they will assign you work of retired employees and blame you end of the year for not picking up new initiatives.. 4. Under performing : Some upper level folks are under performer and whole job is to keep an eye on employee hours and approve time sheets. 5. Several re orgs in past 5 years, so no clear vision. 6. Employees are billed hours and treated like contractors. 7. You may end up working weekend hours so no work life balance. 8. Unethical Environment: You will often hear from your boss that since you don't have kids so you are not supposed to have a break or spend time on weekends in Middleware and devops. 9. Too many lies: in one instance they said no layoff and there was layoff the following month.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Decent company, good people, but hard to move up and benefits aren'

      Dec 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is nice. Pay is above average for what your responsibilities are (at least in my department) Lots of time away from work while on the clock such as volunteering, parties etc.

      Cons

      Extremely difficult to move-up within the company. Had five interviews, but none of them pulled through for me. I was told I could get some on-the-job training in the transportation department I was looking to join after interviewing with the hiring managers(for one of the jobs I didn't get). I arranged time to meet with them, but when it was time, my manager in my department told me that the company doesn't allow that unless you take hours from your PTO. Hard to move up here.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice company to work for

      Jun 4, 2019 - Customer Development Manager in Arden Hills, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good leadership, good work life balance.

      Cons

      Big company, lots of moving parts.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Committed employer

      May 24, 2019 - Senior Process Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and work life balance

      Cons

      Some lack of leadership sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 45 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Land O'Lakes Job Seekers

    Supply Chain & Operations Intern
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Land O'Lakes? Share Your Experiences

    or