LandCare Reviews | Glassdoor

LandCare Reviews

Updated February 6, 2019
99 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
LandCare CEO Mike Bogan
Mike Bogan
37 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great people, good work environment" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Growth potential is excellent if your goals are sales-oriented or you are beginning your career" (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is hot work and finding the team members that can jump in and be a part of the culture is difficult" (in 4 reviews)

  • "The company has gone through many changes, but it appears to be on the right track" (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Culture and People First!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frederick, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LandCare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I recently joined the team here at the LandCare Support Center in Frederick, MD and it did not take me long to confirm I had made one of the best decisions of my career. They value ever employee by giving them a voice, treating them with respect, and empowering them to contribute to the big picture operations. It truly is a breath of fresh air to work for a company that has so many smiling faces and so much growth potential at a personal and professional level.

    Cons

    None that I can think of so far!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    LandCare Response

    Feb 11, 2019 – Communications Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback and welcome to the team!


  2. "Great group of guys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Groundsman
    Former Employee - Groundsman

    I worked at LandCare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You will learn a ton from the experienced guys there
    You get to work on some big name accounts
    Opportunity to advance, it's a big corporate company

    Cons

    I worked in PNW and the weather could get pretty wild, and sometimes we were expected to work through that. It's dangerous work, climbing, sawing, using a chipper, factor in doing that work in the snow, it's not for everyone.

    LandCare Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. If you have any suggestions as to how we could have improved your experience, please send us a note at... More

  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Tacoma, WA
    Former Employee - Manager in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LandCare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Local management was good and knowledgeable

    Cons

    Corporate made broad decisions not applicable to all the markets

    LandCare Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate learning ways in which we can improve the experiences of our team members at the branch level. If you have specific suggestions as to what we can do... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Production Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager in Grand Prairie, TX
    Former Employee - Production Manager in Grand Prairie, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LandCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There are opportunities to grow with the company if you can hang in there.

    Cons

    Leadership does not lead at the branch manager level. I was told to coach my crew members but had no one to coach me. Management was focused on sales numbers and did not care about crew members or team members. While I was there, 5 supervisors with tenure left the company because the could not get a $0.50 raise. Most everything is learn on the job. It seems like a great opportunity during recruitment. Not only I, but two other managers were recruited to the Texoma Region. The recruitment was wonderful, until we started working; no promises were fulfilled, the culture was not as described. I do not think it is fair to recruit young professionals straight out of college, get them to move cities and not coach, support or development them. It was an every man for them-self culture.

    Advice to Management

    Work on development of young professionals. We have the education but not the experience. Care about your team as much as you care about your sales numbers.

    LandCare Response

    Sep 27, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for giving us your feedback. We strive to create a positive culture of constant personal improvement and learning for all of our team members during their time with us, and we're sorry to... More


  5. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LandCare full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good work environment

    Cons

    Poor office setting, in trailer


  6. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landscape Laborer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Landscape Laborer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LandCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Reliant, understanding, motivating, and generally very nice.

    Cons

    Rough working conditions when the weather is severe.

    LandCare Response

    Jul 23, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thanks so much for leaving a review! We are happy to hear you had such a positive experience.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive teams up to the CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LandCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone in this company wants to see you grow and supports you in the best way they can.

    Cons

    Long hours can occur. but that is in any landscape profession.

    LandCare Response

    Jul 9, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your review!

  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LandCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture focused on delighting customers and creating opportunities for its employees. Exciting to be a part of a growing company with endless opportunity!

    Cons

    Create better training program for management.

    Advice to Management

    Create better training programs for crew members to increase quality.

    LandCare Response

    Jul 9, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for leaving a review! We are currently developing a new training program for managers and are working on a more interactive experience for crew members. Stay tuned!

    If you have any... More


  9. "A company on the upswing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LandCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This is an exciting environment where we are learning and growing. We have our challenges, but we are facing them as a team. There is support when I ask for it, and no shortage of opportunity.

    Cons

    The green industry is a challenge. Labor and a competitive market are challenges that I look forward to finding better solutions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Don't stop saying thank you.

    LandCare Response

    Apr 23, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thanks for the great review! If you ever have suggestions on how we can further support you and your branch, please let us know at communications@landcare.com.


  10. "Friendly, amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LandCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Executives and managers really know what they're building.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    LandCare Response

    Feb 22, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear your experience with LandCare has been so positive.