KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Landry's

Engaged Employer

Landry's

Add a Review

Landry's Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 of over 858 reviews

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Landry's Chairman, President, and CEO Tilman J. Fertitta
Tilman J. Fertitta
414 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Landry's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Intimidation Management Style

    Aug 11, 2011 - Corporate Legal Department in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent discounts at restaurants. That is it, no other pros or reasons that I can think of to work at Landry's.

    Cons

    Upper Management uses fear and intimidation as their management style. When Downtown Aquarium first opened, management required the corporate office employees to assist on opening weekend. We showed up at the DT Aquarium and were informed that we would not be paid for working that weekend. Just one example of many where management treats employees as servants.

    8 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bad place to work

    Jun 18, 2016 - Executive Chef in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are competitive with pay in the area

    Cons

    They treat people horribly! Upper management very aggressive and arrogent.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Benefits are lacking and the hours are extremely long.

    Jan 2, 2018 - Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is slightly higher than average massive pay gap between upper and mid level management. Five more words five more

    Cons

    Benefits are below par. Bi-weekly program you pay into for discounts. Open for every holiday apart from Christmas. Hours are extreme.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great restaurants, Great People, BAD Company Culture

    Nov 14, 2017 - General Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice salary, decent benefits package, large corporate office & support teams, and the ability to bonus monthly however the pros do not outweigh the cons.

    Cons

    Spent years at the same restaurant and have watched the culture slowly die due to upper management. Very dishonest company; extremely close minded and do not value the opinions of their operators. Feel like I wasted 6 years of my life in this place.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Restaurant manager

    Aug 17, 2020 - Restaurant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Comprehensive training program, ability to grow career, employee discount program, knowledgeable HR department.

    Cons

    Upper management leadership is focused on instilling fear as a way to motivate it's employees. Long hours combined with endless amounts of redundant paperwork makes for a poor work/life balance.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The definition of micromanaging

    Nov 29, 2014 - Manager in Galveston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interacting with guests and being a part of the company's foreign exchange student program during spring/summer months.

    Cons

    Managing with fear and intimidation is a turn off, let us do our job as managers. I can literally count on one hand the number of times upper management would say something positive towards us. There were numerous times where our management team would be belittled and yelled at in front of hourly associates for minor issues.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    ATROCIOUS! CHEATED ME OUT OF $$$ RUN FROM ANY OFFERS

    Jul 19, 2014 - Sales & Marketing Manager in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros? I cannot think of one!

    Cons

    I worked as a Sales & Marketing Manager for Morton's in King of Prussia. My training was set up on the fly, with someone who have never trained before, and was thrown into it. I cannot fault my trainer because they only put me there to save the expense of sending me to a 'training location' at which I would incur travel expenses. The GM of my location had NO concept of how to motivate people which I thought was a trait of his, only to find out the corporate culture is one that has ZERO concern for its employees. Note to management: if you don't care about your employees and in turn they are not hospitable or have concern for your guests...THESE TWO THINGS ARE DIRECTLY RELATED!!! DUH!! I reported issues with my GM to upper management who seemed to take action but these this was all smoke & mirrors...NO IMPROVEMENTS! Not even a glimmer of hope that issues I addressed would ever be resolved. The management mantra, of King of Prussia and the company overall seems to be: MANAGE BY WHO YOU CAN THROW UNDER THE BUS. There is ZERO accountability!! I found out from many long term employees, that when Landry's acquired Morton's they did so only to buy the company cheap, cut all corners, and only care about money. They do so with upper management that tries to squeeze blood from a stone rather than having any care or concern for employees who are directly responsible and capable of producing profits. NOTE TO ANY CURRENT EMPLOYEES/MANAGERS: DO NOT GIVE TWO WEEKS NOTICE WHEN RESIGNING!! YOU WILL BE CHEATED!!! Most everyone knows that the proper/appropriate thing to do is resign professionally by providing two weeks notice. I did and got SCREWED. I found a job in my field (pharma) and after I felt there was no resolution to the issues I brought to upper management, chose to resign, and did so in writing, by a professional letter with concise information: I did not burn bridges or 'put them on blast'. In my position I had a very paltry salary and earned commission on business I booked. I explained I was not going to a competing business or company and asked to work at least the following week out of commitment to my clients. I booked and managed Private Dining Events and sold the largest event the restaurant had all year: at the slowest period of the year, a great win. The day after RESIGNING (I make this point, because I was not fired, they had no cause against me) I was walked to the door by the GM like I was a criminal. I was told I would only be paid for that day (not buying me out for the 2 week notice I gave!) and I was told I would not be receiving the commission for the event TWO DAYS LATER that was worth about $500!!! THIS COMPANY AND MANAGEMENT ARE AWFUL!!

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    WORST Experience ever

    Jul 17, 2017 - Payroll Processor in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    laid back culture, casual clothes to work, catered food, lots of company events

    Cons

    Upper level management clearly shows favoritism to certain employees not even qualified because they know they're not qualified either for their management position. The base pay is very low and there's very little work-life balance. The environment i worked in was very toxic, and people were getting fired left and right due to gossip and the manager being involved in cliques and getting rid of hardworking individuals who they didn't like. It wasn't just my department though, because I've heard it was rampant throughout the company. Very little to no growth in terms of career development and raises. My coworker who was there for over 10 years said she didn't receive a bonus or raise in years. HR is just as corrupt. Benefits are very expensive as well.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Manager

    Sep 12, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employment and experience making it happen on your own because you will not get support.

    Cons

    Extremely negative company culture. Upper management enjoys sending emails that are insulting and demeaning. They like to cc the entire division you are in also to make an example of you. Upper management treats the restaurant management including ones with very experienced management with contempt, arrogance, rudeness and in a very unprofessional way that would not be acceptable in most business settings. Rather than promote tenured managers they will hire unemployed General Managers that can be paid reduced salaries.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Front Manager

    Jun 24, 2015 - Front of House Manager in Kemah, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are known for developing talented managers.

    Cons

    If you do not fit their mold you will never move up. Do not expect to be appreciated. Upper management still think that they have to manage their rrstaurants with an iron fist...even if the restautant is doing great

    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

Popular Careers with Landry's Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Landry's? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Landry's Photos

+ Add Photo
Landry's photo of: heaven
Landry's photo of: Bubba Gump a Landry’s restaurant
Landry's photo of: Out Front
Landry's photo of: Aircraft
Landry's photo of: bubba sign

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Landry's Job Seekers Also Viewed

Chart House Restaurant Logo
Chart House Restaurant

3.2

156 Reviews
Compare