KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Langley Federal Credit Union

Engaged Employer

Langley Federal Credit Union

Add a Review

Langley Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 of over 82 reviews

3.2
44%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Langley Federal Credit Union President/CEO Thomas Ryan
Thomas Ryan
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and people to work with(in 9 reviews)

  • "Decent starting salary, good benefits although health insurance was very expensive, Sundays off as they closed(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is tone deaf and overbearing, fear driven environment(in 4 reviews)

  • "The bank is full of clicks, if senior management likes you there is nothing you can ever do wrong and the glass ceiling is broken for you(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    3y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    793

    83 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 24, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flat management, IT department has a great team

      Cons

      Salary and benefits not competitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you so much for your review of Langley! We are delighted to hear that you would recommend working at Langley and appreciate the IT department. We are fortunate to have a great team and IT has really shown up in big ways especially over this last year. We appreciate your contributions while you were at Langley and we wish you all the best in the future!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Financial Service Representative

      Sep 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Support education and take care of their employees.

      Cons

      Limited growth if you're not near their corporate offices.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Abd

      Sep 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy work and early pay

      Cons

      No help from management’ , long Saturday hour, no work life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and your review of Langley. We are glad to hear that you found the job easy to do and enjoyed being paid early! We love that we can provide that to our employees. We are saddened to read that you did not feel there was a good work/life balance for you. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your contributions to Langley!

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No

      Aug 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fringe benefits, paid and floating holidays.

      Cons

      Office politics, overwhelming pressure from executives, burn out.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for your review of Langley. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very proud of the generous benefits we offer our employees as well as taking time off to rest. We are disappointed to read that your experience was not positive. Thank you for your contributions while you were at Langley and we wish you all the best in the future!

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Jul 15, 2021 - Bank Teller in Poquoson, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to move up, good benefits

      Cons

      Understaffed, but everyone is these days

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for your positive feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion. We are happy to hear that there are opportunities to move up as that is very important to us at Langley. Thank you for your contributions to Langley! We appreciate you.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok for entry level

      Jul 22, 2021 - Financial Services Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Holidays, student loan repayment, and tuition reimbursement were great perks.

      Cons

      This is 100% a sales job. The financial service reps are required to fill out sheets for every member even for the most basic transactions. You were to ask questions such as “how many children do you have”. It was a double sided sheet meant to sell products to people that don’t need them. They tell you that you will get every 3rd Saturday off, but I was forced to work 7 Saturdays in a row.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for your review of Langley. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our perks like student loan and education assistance, we are very proud to offer those programs assistance to help our employees. We love to see our vision come to life as we help members save, borrow, and spend wisely. Thank you for your contributions while you were at Langley. We wish you all the best in the future!

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Honest Review

      Jun 25, 2021 - Branch Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits such as: New grandparent time off, vast number of vacation days (three weeks a year), educational assistance, gym reimbursement, etc. The list is really long. Upper management does genuinely care about you, I just think they are not aware of what all goes on at the branch level. Tom Ryan is a great CEO.

      Cons

      Zero work-life balance, branch management is unprofessional and immature at times. Not enough staffing at several branch locations. They give you a 45 minute lunch break to help prevent overtime because the can’t afford anyone to leave the branch early due to staffing. They try to sugar coat this by making it sound so “exciting” you get to take a 45 min lunch instead of a 30. You will average 2.5 to 3.5 hours of overtime a week depending on the branch which equals about 14 extra hours a week you could be spending with your family. FYI if you do leave they do an exit interview to ask for your feedback. Even if you had to leave for other circumstances and not because of your view of the company, do not provide critical feedback or advice. They do not view it as your wanting to better the institution. It’s viewed as a personal attack and will hurt you if your ever tried to return.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience at Langley. We are happy to hear that you loved the benefits that we have to offer. Using vacation time to spend time with a new grandbaby sounds like a great use of it. It is exciting to hear that you felt cared for by our upper management. That is important to us! We value your feedback and we are disappointed to hear that you did not feel supported by your managers. We wish you all the best in the future and appreciate your contributions while you were at Langley!

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Benefits, Under Paid

      May 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Newport News, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are phenomenal, best in the area. Plenty of professional development opportunities for those who know where to look. Senior Management has good vision for growth.

      Cons

      Staff are under paid and over worked. Very little work/life balance.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for your review of Langley! We are so happy to hear that you love the benefits we can offer our employees. We definitely take pride in finding the right mix for our team. We are also thrilled to hear that you are aware of the opportunities available for professional growth. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with candid feedback about your experience at Langley. We wish you success in all your future endeavors and thank you for your contributions while you were with us.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I hope it has gotten better

      Jun 3, 2021 - Collector 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not being a front line associate

      Cons

      Morale, poor leadership, strict metrics

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for your review of Langley! Our Collections team has such an important role in helping find solutions for our members and could be seen as an extension of our front line. We are disappointed that you feel you did not experience a high morale or good leadership. We appreciate your contributions and hope you find much success in the future.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 19, 2021 - Senior Teller in Poquoson, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      best place i've ever worked at

      Cons

      Sometimes have to work 2-3 Saturdays in a row.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Langley Federal Credit Union Response

      Talent Partner

      Thank you for your review of Langley! We are happy to hear that it is the best place you have ever worked. We appreciate you working on Saturdays to help take care of our members who are unable to get to the branch during the week. I know they appreciate us being open as well. Thank you for all your contributions to Langley!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 81 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Langley Federal Credit Union Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Langley Federal Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

    or