LanguageLine Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

LanguageLine Solutions Reviews

Updated December 10, 2017
167 reviews

Filter

Filter


167 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work from home; excellent training; retirement plan; rewarding: I worked with people from different cultures (in 252 reviews)

  • get to work from home - no commute, pays on time (in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • Low pay considering skills required to perform well (in 57 reviews)

  • No benefits for part time employees (in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Interpreter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Interpreter in Chicago, IL
    Former Contractor - Interpreter in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LanguageLine Solutions as a contractor (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible schedule (previously)

    Cons

    Destroyed the business, very low pay, poor communication from management

    Advice to Management

    Pay interpreters fairly


  2. Helpful (5)

    "Zero communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLine Solutions full-time

    Pros

    If you are a professional interpreter, this employment opportunity will serve as a good platform for continued practice of your interpretation skills in a variety of settings.

    Cons

    - Zero communication. Other than the initial interview, during which the recruiters are very approachable, there is no live communication that would take place during the course of your employment, i.e. other than the feedback after routine monitoring by QA or in other instances when the MANAGEMENT needs to get a hold of you. It's virtually impossible to speak with anyone at any department and on any level.

    - Inadequate reimbursement. The reimbursement level is as grossly disproportionate with the degree of responsibility you will take with various assignments during the course of your employment, as it is disproportionate with the skill set and time and effort it takes to acquire it that are required to be a qualified professional. You may also notice that with the ever increasing level of responsibility, the reimbursement level will stay miserably the same (non-negotiable).

    It is a shame that a professional in an occupation of unqualified labor, e.g. hospitality or restaurant industries could easily make substantially more money than working as an interpreter with this employer. It is large companies like this, who are largely responsible for setting a poor standard for reimbursement level in the interpreting profession as a whole.

    - Zero training. The training that this employer provides is inadequate for anyone to successfully be able to perform the tasks of your assigned area of responsibility, as an interpreter, You will be expected to perform on a particular level without any significant resources. With regards to continued training for your interpretation skills, you are on your own.

    - There is no paid vacation for staff interpreters, and the benefits offered are of a highly questionable usefulness

    Advice to Management

    Be more accessible to your workforce!

    Improve training and promote continued education for interpreters that is provided by the company!

    Reimburse qualified professionals fairly and proportionately with increased levels of responsibility. Provide paid vacation to staff employees and offer benefits more appealing to employee needs and not just for the benefit of the company.

    LanguageLine Solutions Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – President and CEO

    Though it was difficult to hear, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am sorry that your experience at LanguageLine Solutions has not matched our intention of being the... More

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Company doesn't take care of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interpreter
    Current Employee - Interpreter
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLine Solutions part-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Work from home. Ok as part time job

    Cons

    Company very demanding with employees, yet their pay is awful not much more than minimum wage., no raises, no bonuses anymore. No incentives for employees to strive for. Recently just add additional shifts without taking into considerations that you have other obligations. Heavy work load. My opinion company getting worst year after year

    Advice to Management

    You need have better communication with employees., you should offer raises if an employee has outstanding reviews, other wise employees are not motivated to do outstanding job, and we just meet expectations,

    LanguageLine Solutions Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – President and CEO

    Though they are difficult to hear, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am sorry that your experience at LanguageLine Solutions has not matched our intention of being the... More


  4. "This company used to be a great company but not anymore!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Nepali Interpreter in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Contractor - Nepali Interpreter in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLine Solutions as a contractor (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work from home and flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Contractors are getting hardly any calls. Lately I have been getting just about an hour a day and on top of that I recently received a letter saying my hourly rate will be cut soon. It used to be a great company when I first started. But recently they have hired a lot of interpreters as employees (paying close to minimum wage) and have been directing the calls to them. There are lots of contractor interpreters like me who signs in for at least 6 hours a day hoping to get calls and we hardly get any calls.

    Advice to Management

    Please treat the contractor interpreters fairly!

    LanguageLine Solutions Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – President and CEO

    Though they are difficult to hear, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We consider our team of interpreters to be our greatest asset, and it is of paramount importance to... More


  5. Helpful (5)

    "The worst EXPERIENCE ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LanguageLine Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Don't ever think of working with them. No bonus , no insurance,no vacation and they don't give notice when they decide to fire you

    Cons

    I live in houston, TX and they fired me because I wasn't able to attend work during hurricane Harvey

    LanguageLine Solutions Response

    Sep 28, 2017 – President and CEO

    Though it was difficult to hear, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am sorry that your experience at LanguageLine Solutions has not matched our intention of being the... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Spanish OPI interpreter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LanguageLine Solutions part-time

    Pros

    Work at home flexibility

    Cons

    They pay .25 a minute to their employees. Some get more some get less but it’s around the same wage for everyone. While they charge their clients dollars for minutes. So you do the math.

    Advice to Management

    Raise your pay because your competitors are better.


  7. Helpful (5)

    "It's a sweatshop. Poor management who disrespects an interpreters and pays a bare minimum."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interpreter in Monterey, CA
    Current Employee - Interpreter in Monterey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLine Solutions part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work from home. No commute to work.

    Cons

    Although there's no pay for a vacation or a sick days, you still can be denied it. Misleading work description: however you're hired as a medical interpreter, sometimes you don't receive clinical calls for a days. You have to answer all kind of calls: banks, mobile and cable operators, health and auto insurance, IT companies, hotels, courts and other legal and federal institutions, 311, 911, etc. You, basically, work in a high volume call center, which provides an interpretation for any type of business. You have to be a " Jack of all trades" and be familiar with terms and specifics in many areas ( which is practically impossible). You'll get paid bare minimum and your physiological and emotional needs will be disregarded. Meaning, because most of the time, calls are coming non-stop, you wan't be able to go to a bathroom or take a short break, to calm down after an emotionally hard call.
    Even after working for a company for more than 8-10 years, interpreters don't get a raise. On the contrary, at any time your pay can be reduced and if you disagree, you'll have to quit. Or again, at any time, they can force on you a video interpreting, where you'll have to do more work, pay out of your pocket for a high speed internet, without a pay raise.
    You have to wait for a help or an answers from a management for a days. Sometimes you have to call a Help Desk or send a Support Request several times before your issue will be resolved.
    Bottom line, think carefully, before you'll decide to apply for work here. It'll cost you a great stress for a very little pay.

    Advice to Management

    Become a humans and give a decent pay, respect and support to THE people who earns money for you.
     And oh, it's not suspicious at all, that lately Glassdoor was flooded with a nauseatingly sweet reviews of the company. Put your energy into a good cause of taking care of your interpreters.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "interpreter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLine Solutions full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    work from home, good for stay-at-home moms

    Cons

    low salary, no raises, no actual training, no benefits

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees,

    LanguageLine Solutions Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – President and CEO

    Though they are difficult to hear, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am sorry that your experience at LanguageLine Solutions has not matched our intention of being the... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Most horrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interpreter in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Interpreter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLine Solutions full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    work from home
    but sooner you will miss seeing people
    two days off

    Cons

    bad compensation
    bad benefits
    no paid vacations
    a stressed work environment
    they push the employee to the edge with silly commands and bad reviews
    no encouragement
    the supervisor is biased

    Advice to Management

    if your employee is working hard at least appreciate their efforts and pay them well because s/he has to tolerate stupid and biased people

    LanguageLine Solutions Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – President and CEO

    Though they are difficult to hear, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am sorry that your experience at LanguageLine Solutions has not matched our intention of being the... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Interpreter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LanguageLine Solutions part-time

    Pros

    Working from home. That's IT!!

    Cons

    NO communication from company. Everything said on web page about how they value employees is a lie. Have to communicate to everyone through a request. No one take responsibility at all for anything. No raises of course (we are told NONE ever!!) Tech Support.. you are joking right??

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and see how to make this a great company. I left for greener pastures and believe me they weren't hard to find!!

    LanguageLine Solutions Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – President and CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I’m sorry to hear the reasons for the change and I take them to heart. I wish you the best of luck in your new role. The fact that you have left... More


Showing 167 of 522 reviews
Reset Filters