Lansing Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Lansing Community College Reviews

Updated Feb 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Lansing Community College President Brent Knight
Brent Knight
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you are flexible and do mind rapid changes in policies LCC is a good place to work(in 14 reviews)

  • "Just about impossible to get full-time position(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Library Assistant in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lansing Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time for homework Good work environment

    Cons

    Some of the supervisors were not the best

    Lansing Community College2020-01-03
  2. "flexible schedule and free tuition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lansing Community College part-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule, free tuition for courses you take as an employee, after achieving continuing contract status, free tuition for your dependents

    Cons

    attempt to keep hours low enough so you don't qualify for reduced cost health insurance, pressure to lower course standards so more students pass with less work, students often do not have the prerequisite knowledge needed to be successful in a course

    Continue reading
    Lansing Community College2020-03-01
  3. "Friendly Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Lecturer in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lansing Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment and professional colleagues

    Cons

    I am aware of none

    Lansing Community College2019-12-09
  4. "Just Ok - Nothing Special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lansing Community College full-time

    Pros

    Free Parking, Nice office space. Locatin is

    Cons

    PTO is accrued at a slow pace based on the number of hours worked in a pay period. Takes forever to build a bank of hours. There is a lot of fear among employees about being fired.

    Continue reading
    Lansing Community College2019-08-31
  5. "Helping students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Lansing Community College full-time

    Pros

    Everything was a pro when it came to lcc

    Cons

    None at all, nothing to complain about

    Lansing Community College2019-06-21
  6. "Part Time Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lansing Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked in the Technology Support Services Dept for three years. My co-workers nice and my boss was very pleasant and listened to our thoughts and concerns. Upper management in the department strive for everyone in the department to know each other because we mostly communicate via phone or email. I was taking classes at MSU at the time and they really care for your school schedule.

    Cons

    None for my position.

    Lansing Community College2019-06-12
  7. "Hourly Rate can be deceiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Lansing, MI

    I have been working at Lansing Community College part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Opportunities to contribute to policies. Opportunities to work on extra projects. Union protection.

    Cons

    Amount of extra work that is required without compensation. Initiatives designed to try to get more students to pass their courses often result in lowering standards instead of helping students do better. Many decisions are already made by the time faculty and staff get as chance to discuss an issue.

    Continue reading
    Lansing Community College2019-06-21
  8. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lansing Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with a diverse group of people

    Cons

    No Con I can think of

    Lansing Community College2019-05-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "LCC is more trouble than its worth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lansing Community College part-time

    Pros

    If you can get hired in pt/ft you get free tuition and the option to pay for overpriced health insurance as LCC is too busy planting trees, tearing down multi family dwellings, and putting up statues to really chip in to your insurance and or any other benefits you have.

    Cons

    They do not see any need to invest in current employees, rather they have their 'search committees' often staffed with people who are not well versed or savvy for that speciality interview you. If they don't like you regardless of your skills or qualifications you will get passed over. The truth is, the typical LCC employee is subpar at their job at best.

    Lansing Community College2019-05-23
  10. "LCC has lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lansing Community College part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    LCC has a lot of talented people. Great people to work with in general. The skilled trade division is top notch.

    Cons

    Decision making can be erratic without much thought in consequences. And there seems to be a never ending stream of non-instruction related mandates which distract from the educational process. If you are flexible and do mind rapid changes in policies LCC is a good place to work.

    Lansing Community College2019-04-09
Found 93 reviews