Lasell College Reviews | Glassdoor

Lasell College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Lasell College CEO Michael B. Alexander
Michael B. Alexander
1 Ratings
  1. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Instructor in Newton, MA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Lasell College part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great students, culture and emphasis on connected learning

      Cons

      Parking is a little difficult at times

      Lasell College2018-11-13
    • "Fantastic Place To Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Lasell College part-time

      Pros

      Wonderful people work here, and the level of professionalism is outstanding.

      Cons

      Sometimes there is so much to do and it can be overwhelming.

      Lasell College2018-06-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Don’t believe a word they say!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Department Head in Newton, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lasell College full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Nice faculty members, some rewarding students to work with

      Cons

      Inequitable, unkind, shady, privileged, senior managers; pay lip service to social justice and it is taught but not practiced by management; appalling pay inequality; secret deals while lying to students & employees; HR does nothing to address problems, only refers people to EAP; zero consequences for bad actors; school’s money goes to window dressing for prospective students, not to academics or pay equality; faculty/staff...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop giving yourself bonuses & hiring expensive consultants while ignoring employees’ input. Oust some members of senior management & some board members. Board needs competent outsiders not just Lasell village residents

      Lasell College2018-06-24
    • Helpful (4)

      "Adjunct instructor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Newton, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Lasell College part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The closest pro I can come up with is that it is better than unemployment. It's not somewhere I'd suggest working long term. But if you need some quick job experience, then it is doable while you find somewhere better to work.

      Cons

      Horrible pay. Generally only get offered a bunch of introductory courses. They can be fine, but teaching multiple every semester is tiring and not stimulating. Students don't care and don't want to do any work. Students show up to class late, don't read, don't want to do any assignments. This is typical anywhere for a few students, but when it's almost all it is discouraging. I'd rather teach at community college for...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pay more.

      Lasell College2017-09-30
    • "Great School"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Lasell College

        Pros

        Great student to teacher ratio

        Cons

        Can't think of one to say

        Lasell College2017-08-25
      • "Great Place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Lasell College part-time

        Pros

        Great Atmosphere Friendly Opportunity for Growth

        Cons

        Long commute Not a lot of turnover

        Lasell College2017-04-06
      • "Director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Lasell College full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        The college empowers individual employees.

        Cons

        Sometimes takes too much time to make decisions.,

        Lasell College2017-03-07
      • Helpful (5)

        "Troubled Leadership"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Lasell College full-time

        Pros

        Many supportive individuals working for the good of the students

        Cons

        Lack of leadership, not open to innovation, low pay

        Advice to Management

        Pay your employees. Make sure your Directors, Deans, and Managers are actually leaders and not sabotaging the efforts of hard working staff.

        Lasell College2017-04-07
      • "Excellent Position"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Admissions in Auburndale, MA
        Recommends

        I worked at Lasell College part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great people, excellent work environment

        Cons

        I really enjoyed my time here. Not too many bad things to say

        Lasell College2017-03-05
      • "Resident Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Lasell College

          Pros

          Fun environment, nice people to work with

          Cons

          residents can get loud, duty until 2 am

          Advice to Management

          less time on training

          Lasell College2017-03-05
        Found 35 reviews