Latham & Watkins "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Latham & Watkins Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Latham & Watkins Chair and Managing Partner Rich Trobman
Rich Trobman
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Generally great people below partner level(in 26 reviews)

  • "The culture is great and everyone has a great attitude, not your typical law firm and worth meeting some people here(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, stress from clients(in 32 reviews)

  • "Obviously your work won't feel incredibly high-impact at a large law firm as an intern, you might learn more at smaller orgs(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "First Class Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Latham & Watkins full-time

    Pros

    Extremely capable managers and employees across a variety of practice areas

    Cons

    Long hours, but nothing atypical in big law

    Latham & Watkins2019-11-08
  2. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Latham & Watkins full-time

    Pros

    They care about their employees

    Cons

    Fast-paced environment, and long hours may be required

    Latham & Watkins2019-10-13
  3. "Make cases of adequate importance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Counsel in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Latham & Watkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and amiable coworkers

    Cons

    High stress environment long hours

    Advice to Management

    Hand out specific cases to appropriate counsels

    Latham & Watkins2019-03-16
  4. "Interesting Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Latham & Watkins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice and value mentorship

    Cons

    Long hours and sometimes unpredictable work

    Latham & Watkins2019-01-19
  5. "One of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Latham & Watkins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great management. Collegial culture. Great benefits. Opportunities for professional growth.

    Cons

    Long hours. Demanding Partners.

    Latham & Watkins2019-01-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Latham & Watkins full-time

    Pros

    Excellent resources, training, own office, given a lot of responsibility, there's room to move up.

    Cons

    Long hours and sometime stressful projects. I felt pressured to stay late every day even if I didn't have any work.

    Latham & Watkins2018-09-06
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Latham & Watkins full-time

    Pros

    A firm that really care's about their employees and provides great benefits both professionally and recreationaly. Manager's care about your happiness and push you to become better at your job and future opportunities. Nice work environment. Really good co-workers.

    Cons

    There are the standard office politics. Long hours.

    Latham & Watkins2018-03-29
  8. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Latham & Watkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work; cutting edge transactions

    Cons

    long hours; super demanding clients

    Latham & Watkins2018-02-14
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Latham & Watkins

    Pros

    Working with the best and brightest in the industry

    Cons

    Long hours, stressful environment at times

    Latham & Watkins2017-12-03
  10. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Latham & Watkins for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Laid back (for Biglaw) with reasonable people

    Cons

    Long hours and the work itself isn't very interesting

    Latham & Watkins2017-11-16
Found 32 reviews