Laura Laaman & Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Laura Laaman & Associates Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Laura Laaman & Associates President Laura Laaman  (no image)
Laura Laaman
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Fulfilling role in a growing yet solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Coordinator in Southbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Laura Laaman & Associates for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Team of committed professionals who work well together -Cool work environment (casual yet super committed) -Clients are down to earth and genuinely grateful for the results we produce -Great benefits despite being a smaller company

    Cons

    They are based out of Connecticut which makes it difficult for me to be full-time (if I lived closer I would love to transition to full-time)

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2016-09-18
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Unprofessional and disappointing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Southbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Laura Laaman & Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy commute and nice area. Office is neat and clean. The parking is adequate and safe. Dress is business casual.

    Cons

    Egotistical owner. No feedback is given unless you make an error. Owner does not show an ounce of interest in speaking to you as a person. You are expected to work 42.5 hours per week to make an "annualized" salary, so this inflates your earnings to where you want them to be, but by adding unnecessary hours to your work week. Salary does not meet location average for job.

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2015-09-25
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Fantastic progressive growing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant to Chief Executive Officer in Wilton, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Laura Laaman & Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked as Executive Assistant to the CEO at LL&A for more than 3 and a half years and have to say that it was the most varied and enjoyable job in my career so far! This thriving niche consultancy in the Pet Care industry has truly enabled hundreds of its clients to become more successful than their wildest dreams, which is down to the dedication of the team at LL&A. Laura Laaman is the most amazing person i have ever had the pleasure to work for. She is caring and understanding, appreciative of dedication and commitment and exceedingly kind. Her energy is boundless though so as an employee you do need to have plenty to keep up with her! The ethos in the office is one of hard work but this is definitely balanced with a fun and rewarding atmosphere and a great deal of fun times too. In my time working for LL&A I travelled to many fabulous locations for amazing events, seminars and conferences and worked with the nicest group of clients imaginable.

    Cons

    That the office is located in Wilton CT and I am located 3500 miles away in Horsham England! The commute and the 5 hour time difference have been a little challenging but these are the only reasons for me leaving the company in May 2013. I'm still hoping that one day there will be a second office in London!

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2013-07-10
  4. "Sales Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coach in Wilton, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Laura Laaman & Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Laura Laaman and Associates has been a benefit to me both personally and professionally. Laura’s clients often comment how her methods have brought them great success. A successful business is one that if of course profitable. That profitability can only be achieved with satisfied and successful customers as well as employees. Laura’s primary goal is to service her clients beyond their expectations. She has achieved and continues to do this. Laura’s expectation of employees is to share in her passion of excellence in serving clients. Sometimes this can be demanding and no different than any other business demand. Not every environment is suitable to any one individual. Personally, I have grown within my position at Laura Laaman and Associates in many ways that I did not expect.

    Cons

    Traffic conditions may commuting longer than expected some days.

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2013-07-12
  5. "Great Company that offers Valuable Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Laura Laaman & Associates

    Pros

    I have worked for Laura Laaman & Associates for the past two summers and am currently going on my third! I have gained valuable experience within the field of marketing that I can say my friends at larger firms have not had. It is a rewarding experience to see the work you're doing make a direct impact on a company

    Cons

    Traffic on Route 7 can be a little tricky in the morning when commuting to Wilton

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2013-07-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Position with a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Coach in Wilton, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Laura Laaman & Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is incredibly rewarding. Its such a pleasure to have clients that are forward-thinking and very appreciative. We really make a difference! and it's wonderful to help business owners and their employees succeed. We have a proven system that helps countless business succeed even in really competitive industries.

    Cons

    Sometimes the traffic to and from Wilton can be a bit challenging.

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2013-07-07
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Negative work environment harbored by abrasive, egotistical "leader"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilton, CT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Laura Laaman & Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free flowing booze at lunch (and no, I'm not kidding.)

    Cons

    1) Work "environment" is above her garage at her personal residence. This environment isn't good enough for her, however, as her palatial office is in the "main residence." 2) The limited staff she does retain are so busy kissing up that no one has time to cross train/communicate. 3) In conjunction with comment #2 above, communication/direction from Ms Laaman is minimal at best - attempted communication to Ms Laaman is uncomfortable and rushed.

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2013-06-04
  8. Helpful (7)

    "A less condescending boss could make for a more positive work atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Wilton, CT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Laura Laaman & Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The industry being serviced (pet care) is extremely rewarding, however, the work environment was so undesirable that it did not warrant making the investment.

    Cons

    Communication is only one-sided, not thorough, and delivered in a demeaning, abrasive tone.

    Continue reading
    Laura Laaman & Associates2013-02-13

    Laura Laaman & Associates Response

    July 8, 2013M Partner

    We are glad that you share our passion for helping pet care businesses thrive and find our mission extremely rewarding. Nearly everyone who discovers these fascinating people is overwhelmed by their passion, optimism, and humility. It saddens us that you didn't find our work environment similarly satisfying. We strongly value each of our team members and their important contributions. And we make every effort to create a warm, comfortable, fun, and rewarding work place. However, we do take our work product very seriously. Our clients' livelihoods often depend on our recommendations and it is absolutely essential that we honor their trust with our best efforts and impeccable attention to detail. We constantly strive to improve, but unfortunately the demanding nature of this work is not for everyone. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any misunderstandings. Thank you for your contributions to our company and we sincerely wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews