KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

LawnStarter

Engaged Employer

LawnStarter

Add a Review

LawnStarter Reviews

Updated May 9, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 of over 78 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

389

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "No benefits until after a year of employment(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company to work for

    May 9, 2022 - Finance Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Terrific company culture and values

    Cons

    No cons for the time period I have been employed there

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    We're so glad to hear you're enjoying your time here at LawnStarter. Thank you for the review!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Mar 9, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair pay, live help, great team of people to work with, can request time off when needed.

    Cons

    Pay could be hiring with more benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    Thanks so much for the great review!

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    helpful

    Mar 17, 2022 - Lawn Mower in Rockwall, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great experience with customers, clean and well organized products.

    Cons

    Unprofessional scheduling, rude managers, disappointed staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    We really appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We're always looking for ways to improve our team's working experience, so please do reach out to HR with any concerns. Thank you!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun time

    Nov 16, 2021 - Landscaper%2FMaintenance in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay/Ouside Work/ Nice coworkers

    Cons

    Not much notice for time off but comes with job

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    We appreciate the great review!

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good job, terrible customers

    Sep 29, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Cookeville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful team and management. Excellent life-work balance. Incredible resources to assist

    Cons

    Nearly completely uneducated customers. No benefits - contract worker unless hired on at end of mow season. Training kind of rushed people through. Different managers had different ways to do things.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    Thank for taking the time to share your experience working at LawnStarter, and writing a great review. Even though some customers can be a little more challenging than others, we definitely appreciate all of them! Thank you for the suggestions as well.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Cut throat, sexist

    Oct 18, 2021 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some nice people, decent pay, 100% remote. Offshore work is in similar time zones. Culture may change for the better, but it’s more a hope than anything. Change has to come from the top.

    Cons

    Loyalty is a one way street here. Zero career pathing, zero opportunity for growth. No yearly raises. Expect lots of talk about upholding core values, but it's just talk. Unprofessional “HR” department. Favoritism and immaturity permeate everything. People are disposable. Performance reviews are for show. A threatening gag order tied to severance pay may skew out negative reviews on here.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We’re sorry about your experience while working with LawnStarter, and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. This year we’re working on rolling out a new and improved performance review process which will address some of the growth challenges you mentioned. We’d also like to learn more about some of the other concerns you raised and how we can improve. Please feel free to contact HR to discuss anytime. We wish you the best!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company

    Aug 18, 2021 - Provider in Noblesville, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Jobs are with in reason for pay if you want to take the background office work away

    Cons

    Jobs don’t roll in that fast

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    Appreciate your great review!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    nice please to work

    Aug 5, 2021 - Custpmer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    wfh all day long nice

    Cons

    money not enough for real bills

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Pros and Cons

    Aug 6, 2021 - Provider Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work from home opportunities Flexible schedules Work life balance

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth Low salary No benefits until after a year of employment Unorganized training process Management is not respectful or kind towards their contractors

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    We appreciate your feedback! We’re sorry your experience working with LawnStarter wasn’t ideal. Our team is really important to us, so we’ve made some changes to our benefits package to allow employees access to benefits quicker. Wishing you all the best!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fast growing amazing place to work

    Jun 10, 2021 - Vice President of Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Openness - Great culture - Fast-growing - Plenty of opportunities - XXI century mindset -> distributed all over and hires the best talent ...the list goes on!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share but there is a lot of things to do and get better. In case you like innovation, smart people, a high-collaborative diverse environment, you are comfortable with change, and you have the desire to win, LawnStarter is the place for you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LawnStarter Response

    HR Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at LawnStarter! We're so happy to hear your enjoying your time here.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews

LawnStarter Reviews FAQs

LawnStarter has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 78 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at LawnStarter to a friend and 80% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, LawnStarter employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at LawnStarter. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

75% of LawnStarter employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated LawnStarter 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at LawnStarter to be career development, coworkers, culture and the cons to be management, benefits, compensation.

Popular Careers with LawnStarter Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at LawnStarter? Share Your Experiences

or

LawnStarter Photos

+ Add Photo
LawnStarter photo of: Halloween
LawnStarter photo of: Work Besties
LawnStarter photo of: Kickball Team

Have you worked here?

See All Photos