Lawrence Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

Lawrence Companies Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Lawrence Companies CEO Peer Segelke
Peer Segelke
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Employee Owned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very Diverse Business - Lot's of different things you can do here Benefits are excellent - (Medical, Dental, 401K, bonuses, etc..) Employee Ownership - Adds about 10% additional value to compensation / benefit Very energetic leadership! This company is changing. Increasing its use of technology. Focused on positive / motivated people. Family atmosphere. (we've gotten pretty big.. but, never forgot how we got here..)

    Cons

    This business is built on hard work.. If you're not motivated or willing to do what it takes, this probably isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Companies2018-03-05
  2. "Communications & Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications & Marketing Manager in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee-owned, Collaborative, Fast-paced, Dynamic Leadership

    Cons

    Vision insurance is not provided by the company

    Lawrence Companies2018-02-26
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Established and Growing Employee-Owned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lawrence Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Eligible to receive stock options in the company each year for free AND a 401K (employer-matched) -Excellent health benefits + employer-matched FSA contributions (plan is much better than plans offered by my friends' employers). -Work with experienced, motivated, and talented group of employees -Diverse business with many segments, which provides many opportunities to advance or pivot in your career -Relaxed working environment (casual Fridays) -Holiday bonuses -Well-respected by and involved in the community By working at Lawrence, you will receive health and retirement benefits that most companies do not offer anymore (or, if they do, they are meager).

    Cons

    No opportunity to work from home

    Lawrence Companies2018-01-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very different than I expected. Started expecting one thing and quickly deteriorated to something much different."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lawrence Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Salary Reputation in community Health care benefits Employee wellness program ESOP Christmas bonus Meeting the 20 word minimum...... no other pros.

    Cons

    Management Lack of communication Lack of stability HR is not employee oriented Favoritism Lack of structure Play by their own rules No sick days High turnover Work environment

    Lawrence Companies2017-12-15
  6. "The best company I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Owner Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lawrence Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dispatch bends over backwards to give you miles and home time you want. If you don't want to run then you don't have to. The staff is very courteous and professional.

    Cons

    I just can't pay my bills as an owner operator at $1.04

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Companies2017-01-04
  7. "Flatbed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lawrence Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Home time Money some weeks Left alone for the most part

    Cons

    Management Trucks are usually older but run good

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Companies2017-01-07
  8. "Great company to work for...even part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lawrence Companies for less than a year

    Pros

    Very well organized. Job duties were clearly communicated which made my tasks easy to perform. Great management and friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Non. I enjoyed working with everyone there.

    Lawrence Companies2016-07-06
Found 7 reviews