Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Director Bill Goldstein
Bill Goldstein
311 Ratings
Pros
  • "Exceptional work-life balance at an inclusive workplace(in 176 reviews)

  • "Cutting edge work with some of the best scientists in the field(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "red tape so it takes longer to get things done(in 47 reviews)

  • "Housing in the Bay area is absurd(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "The Greatest Place I have ever worked!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Electronics Technologist in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Livermore lab is the greatest place I have ever worked in my 40-year working career. The Livermore lab is known as the “Smartest square mile on Earth”. Great salary, benefits, people, management and work life balance with their alternative work schedule. The site 200/campus is beautiful. I have only worked at the Lab for 1 year and my only regret is that I didn’t start working here 20 years ago. I work on the 8th Wonder of the World, the National Ignition Facility (NIF). The National Ignition Facility is the world’s largest and most energetic laser system. Continued NIF experiments will one day lead to Fusion. The diversified research the Livermore Lab does is world class, second to none. The Lab’s past, present and future research is so vital to our country and our national defense. As a veteran I am proud to serve my county once again, this time as a civilian.

    Cons

    Communing from the Central Valley to the Lab takes on average 50-60 minutes, to a from work.

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2019-12-12
  2. "Excellent work environment with superb management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management works with you to advance your career and pay, you work with some of the smartest people on the planet, and work-life balance is supreme.

    Cons

    Housing in the Bay area is absurd. I have experienced no cons as a direct result of lab policy.

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-05-30
  3. "Incredible place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Scientist in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with awesome people who are incredibly smart on meaningful work and the work-life balance is excellent. So many different opportunities, if you get bored it is relatively easy to switch to a completely different project. Excellent job security as well.

    Cons

    Not a lot of vacation time offered and it takes many years to earn more.

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-05-27
  4. "Best place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Progran Leader in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mission that matters, cutting edge science, work-life balance, management cares about our people

    Cons

    Large organization can be slow to.make change

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-05-19
  5. "Working at LLNL"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is very safety conscious and allows for great work life balance. The opportunity to work on different projects throughout the lab is excellent, and team work accross disciplines is great.

    Cons

    Managment! The managment system at LLNL is confusing and lacks communication to employees when it comes to job performance, and advancement opportunities. You really need to be a loud advocate for yourself at the lab and push to persue any personal/professional growth.

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-05-17
  6. "Opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Scientist in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    opportunity, environment, work life balance, office room

    Cons

    hot weather, a little isolated, travel limit

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-04-26
  7. "Interesting and important work good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work done at LLNL significantly impacts the world around us. There are lots of opportunities for career growth and changes in program. This is a challenging and stimulating company.

    Cons

    No student loan repayment benefits, traffic to and from the work location can be a big factor.

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-05-07
  8. "LLNL"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always able to access help from almost anyone in the lab

    Cons

    Lots of overworked employees had little time for their interns

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-04-14
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Challenging Science - Good and efficient organizational structure

    Cons

    - No help with relocation/housing for Summer Students

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-04-15
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work and life balance, coworkers are extremely smart and friendly, the lab cares about their people

    Cons

    red tape so it takes longer to get things done

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory2020-04-09
Found 600 reviews