Lawrys Restaurants Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Lawrys Restaurants Inc. Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Lawrys Restaurants Inc. CEO Tiffany Stith
Tiffany Stith
0 Ratings
  1. "fun enjoyful laid back place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dishwasher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lawrys Restaurants Inc. full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    well you get a family meal

    Cons

    pay raises are a year wait long

    Advice to Management

    no comment

    Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2016-09-13
  2. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrys Restaurants Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good for the industry.

    Cons

    Can be tough to make friends. Kind of cliquey.

    Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2019-02-20
  3. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Lawrys Restaurants Inc. full-time

      Pros

      stable income, minimal sidewalk

      Cons

      forced to sell VIP memberships, competitive ranking system, preferential treatment from management

      Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2018-04-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "Hateful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Lawrys Restaurants Inc. full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Steady 150-250 in tips and that's it

      Cons

      The customers are old entitled racist. The management is very rude and almost criticizing.

      Advice to Management

      Retire

      Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2017-07-07
    • "Host"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Lawrys Restaurants Inc. part-time

      Pros

      Tuition remmibursment. There are no other pros.

      Cons

      Hostess need a grey pay. Mangers need to be trained on how to be a manager.

      Advice to Management

      Greater pay for host. Better opportunities to move up within the business. The managers say they'll move you up, but they don't. Wouldn't you want people to stay within your company and grow?!?

      Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2017-06-22
    • "Rewarding"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Lawrys Restaurants Inc.

      Pros

      The people I worked with were amazing and all had potential to be amazing chefs, bartenders, and baristas. Our supervisor made it a point to teach us everything he knew about beer, wine, and spirits. This not only helped us with sales, but also made us want to go out on our own to learn more and be better at our job, it was really rewarding. I really miss the people and environment there.

      Cons

      It was SUPER competitive. I know that is how the serving life works. But I came from places that was more of a "lets do this together and make the dining experience better for everyone, not just our section"

      Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2016-08-24
    • "Assistant General Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager in Georgetown, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Lawrys Restaurants Inc. for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great company with proven track record. Family owned. professionally operated.

      Cons

      They need more training at the management level

      Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2016-06-02
    • "The process was super long"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Lawrys Restaurants Inc.

        Pros

        - 50% of food - get a free meal everytime you work - can get free bread, mashed potatoes - managers are super sweet - college students get reimbursed for tuition

        Cons

        - hard to move up in the company - have to be with the company at least a year to move up - have to ask in order to do anything - rude customers - low pay for hostess - long process to get hired

        Advice to Management

        - pay hotness more

        Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2016-05-27
      • "Hostess"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Lawrys Restaurants Inc.

        Pros

        Free creamed spinach, mashed potatoes, and salad while you worked Discounts on dinner if you came in a day you weren’t working. Great benefits with 401K options

        Cons

        Very low pay for a restaurant of that caliber Mirthless job Breaks right when you clock for a longer shift such as a holiday so essentially not a break at all. Power tripping managers who show a lot of favoritism and write some up for silly nonsense while letting others get away with worse infractions.

        Advice to Management

        Provide more diversity in the workplace by not relying so heavily on employee referrals for hiring decisions. Hire more people so staff members don’t consistently call in sick and lets people be able to switch shifts if needed with ease. Rely more on manager opinion of job candidates and from the vibe they receive in person instead of answers from a computer generated personality test. Better yet get rid of the test...

        Show More
        Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2015-04-23
      • "Lauded family owned restaurant group"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Restaurant Manager in Newport Beach, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Lawrys Restaurants Inc. full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        great work culture, professional corporate demeanor, ability for upward mobility, family owned

        Cons

        company growth is difficult to forecast

        Advice to Management

        be weary of bad growth decisions

        Lawrys Restaurants Inc.2013-05-07
      Found 10 reviews