Lawson Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Lawson Products Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Lawson Products CEO 	Michael G. DeCata
Michael G. DeCata
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lawson allows our sales reps to earn as much as they are capable of(in 10 reviews)

  • "If you are a eager individual who wants an opportunity to advance in your career, Lawson is a great company for you(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only thing I find challenging is the lack of car allowance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Some indecision at upper management level can make for inefficiencies at the "worker" level(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance Plenty of support from DSM & RSM Great training personnel A lot of great new things coming that are proprietary to Lawson I’m not sure what some of these reviews are talking about but my DSM and RSM will do whatever they can to help you. I even call the corporate trainers when I have questions and never get turned away. Also all the new products were promoting get mailed to you, I’m only... buying extras or other items I want to demo

    Show More

    Cons

    Every company has challenges in certain departments and ours is the “Specials” but things have been changing for the better

    Advice to Management

    I will say keep doing what you’re doing.

    Lawson Products2019-06-12
  2. "GREAT BUSINESS THAT MOTIVATES GROWTH!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere! Awesome training Good communication throughout (especially DM and RSD) Full on support Flexibility Good Benefits Good opportunity to make money

    Cons

    Be sure to practice practice practice what you're selling! it will make your selling career better

    Advice to Management

    keep on doing what you're doing!

    Lawson Products2019-07-26
  3. "Fine Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lawson Products full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The people you work with

    Cons

    - No Direction and unsure of what company's plans are

    Lawson Products2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don't bother."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FT Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lawson Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to ORD, Rosemont, and I90.

    Cons

    Antiquated processes, entitled employees who have been in their positions too long who are unprofessional, and unwilling to change.

    Advice to Management

    Company needs an entire re-org. Pay close attention to how managers manage-there are a few that are very unprofessional and talk to staff like they were children.

    Lawson Products2019-07-22
  5. "Stupid pay program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company lots of help and good reputation.

    Cons

    Really stupid pay plan for reps. No reason to go above and beyond on sales. Due to the fact that you will hurt yourself for the following year.

    Advice to Management

    Make a better pay plan for reps.

    Lawson Products2019-06-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You have flexibility and can make your own schedule. But that's about the only pro.

    Cons

    Greedy corporate doesn't support salespeople. No car allowance. No expenses covered. Floods territory with so many reps...hey why not we are 100% commission. Very little support. Can't remember the last time I got a lead...definitely favoritism. Commissions have gradually been reduced so company makes more and we make less. Completely antiquated systems. Website horrible. Mobile web even worse. Keep looking if you... want a decent sales job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your salespeople for God's sake. This company has gone downhill. I realize your stock price has gone up, but probably because of how much you have squeezed us. Notice all the bad reviews from sales??? Pretty soon things will come full circle. You can't continue this and expect to have quality people. We are the heart of your business. Remember that.

    Lawson Products2019-06-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Outside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can work around your own schedule.

    Cons

    Change, change and more change. Want you to demonstrate new products but you have to purchase them yourself. Sell more and make less.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the needs of your Salesforce. Come out in the field, I have not seen or heard about upper management being in the field in years!

    Lawson Products2019-04-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good entry level outside sales position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to succeed or fail based on reps own effort.

    Cons

    Very little technical support and nearly no leads. Limited product offering in comparison to competitors. Very little incentive to do more than your goal.

    Advice to Management

    Spend some time with the boots on the ground to experience the impediments first hand.

    Lawson Products2019-03-08
  9. "Outside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Daytona Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training program, make your own hours, endless resources

    Cons

    long hours in the beginning

    Advice to Management

    Stay close to your new by and continue to be a great resource

    Lawson Products2018-11-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Company Summary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawson Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good salary with great commission, and awesome retirement/benefits program. You are your own "boss" and decide how your day looks

    Cons

    Depending on territory size, you may have a lot of windshield time but you receive a car allowance

    Lawson Products2018-10-26
Found 162 reviews