KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Learning Care Group

Engaged Employer

Learning Care Group

Add a Review

Learning Care Group Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 354 of over 372 reviews

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Learning Care Group CEO Mark R. Bierley
Mark R. Bierley
54 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,927

972 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Learning Care Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Best place I have ever worked.

    May 3, 2022 - Operations Integration Specialist in Lacey, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, incredible support, Tuition assistance. Growth within the company. Truly love education and are always brainstorming ideas with teachers and leadership on ways to navigate the ever changing ECE field. No other place I would choose to work.

    Cons

    I do not have anything to add.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Learning Care Group Response

    Recruiting Manager

    Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Aug 10, 2022 - Coordinator in Novi, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Their work your way program is great. You can either work from home, at their office or hybrid if you want. Management is invested in your growth. Discounts on childcare.

    Cons

    Complicated hiring process, 4 interviews before an acceptance letter.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Supported and pleased

    Aug 16, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits Education support and growth within the company support Staff retention encouragement

    Cons

    Financial push with little regard to personal and professional sacrifices just to make ends meet within the center

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Terrible work environment

    Jul 7, 2022 - Lead Preschool Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The children! The location- it is a short commute for me!

    Cons

    Management does not care about you- you are just a body to them They do not give raises/ no career advancement possible from working here unless you want to be a director at the Young School Four directors at the Young School Ellicott City, MD (too many people giving orders and not nearly enough workers) Directors treat staff and children with disrespect- you wonder why some of them are even working in this field when it is clear they do not like working with children They do not buy new materials or replace broken and worn out materials and classroom furnishings/ decor - the teachers have to pay for new classroom materials, decor etc. out of their own pockets if they want nice, new things in their classroom and on the playground

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Learning Care Group Response

    Recruiting Manager

    We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear the level of support you had received from management. It is important to us that our employees feel they have the support they need to be successful in their role. Thanks again for sharing your perspective.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Would be a great job if you are in a school that is well-staffed.

    Apr 15, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong programming. Various opportunities for growth. I experienced supportive upper management (district manager).

    Cons

    When short on staff, Directors are expected to wear multiple hats - as in doing the job of 2-3 other full time people (teaching, cooking, etc) on top of their (full time) duties. They don’t have the opportunity to support their staff because they are focused on filling the high priority needs of the school (cooking, covering a classroom, driving the bus). Teaching staff is over worked and nearly everyone in the school is working 50+ hours per week. (Of the school is fully staffed, this usually isn’t an issue, unfortunately I was at a school that was extremely short staffed). There’s virtually no work life balance for management. Even though people are over worked, they are still expected to perform at 110% and not miss anything. There is very little training and support resources for school management. (And if you moved up within the company, it’s seems that they assume you already know what you are supposed to do and are just left to figure things out on your own).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Learning Care Group Response

    Recruiting Manager

    We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear the level of support you had received from management. It is important to us that our employees feel they have the support they need to be successful in their role. Thanks again for sharing your perspective.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Do not Work Here

    Aug 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Kids Its a job I guess

    Cons

    Everything else pretty much Little to no supplies or food and everything is extremely low quality and cheap May mess up your pay causing you severe headaches when you try to get it fixed several times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Childcare Center

    Aug 9, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits for staff members

    Cons

    Lesson plans don't benefit the children.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I enjoyed my time there

    Aug 6, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Professional, learned a lot from other teachers and director, and it’s structured.

    Cons

    Management can be petty and yours get cut

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Undervalued and Under-compensated

    May 26, 2022 - Assistant Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The kids were great to work with

    Cons

    Not enough staff to run the program but kept encouraging centers to enroll children, which caused staff to work extremely long hours and feel burnout often. According to the staffing matrix, though we were fine because of the number of kids that were enrolled. District Manager would put directors on a pedestal and anyone under the directors were viewed as expendable. Amount paid was not comparable to the amount and quality of work done by staff. Most staff were not making over $9/hour in 2018 and the average cost for full time care for a child was $300/week.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Learning Care Group Response

    Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the review. This is upsetting to hear, we can promise you that the children and the families we serve, as well as our staff are our main priority. Learning Care Group is dedicated in our mission to care for children and families as well as creating a positive work environment for all our employees. Thanks again for the review.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    NA

    Jul 11, 2022 - Team Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff Growth PTO Great management

    Cons

    Breaks are never for sure Leaving on time Vacation time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 354 Reviews

Learning Care Group Reviews FAQs

Learning Care Group has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 372 reviews left anonymously by employees. 49% of employees would recommend working at Learning Care Group to a friend and 45% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Learning Care Group employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Learning Care Group. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

49% of Learning Care Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Learning Care Group 2.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.0 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Learning Care Group to be workplace, career development, coworkers and the cons to be culture, management, benefits.

Popular Careers with Learning Care Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Learning Care Group? Share Your Experiences

or

Learning Care Group Careers

Cover image for Learning Care Group

Serving Children with Seven Unique Brands Headquartered in Novi, Michigan, Learning Care Group, Inc. is the second-largest for-profit...More

  • Brands
  • Management
  • Careers
  • CEO Message
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Learning Care Group

14 days ago

Company News
Learning Care Group has appointed a new Chief Academic Officer, Dr. Johnna Weller. Welcome, Johnna!
Shared image - Learning Care Group on LinkedIn: Learning Care Group Names Johnna Weller Chief Academic Officer
Learning Care Group on LinkedIn: Learning Care Group Names Johnna Weller Chief Academic Officer
bit.ly
See all

Learning Care Group Photos

+ Add Photo