Learning Care Group Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Learning Care Group Teacher Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
19%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Learning Care Group CEO Mark R. Bierley
Mark R. Bierley
1 Rating
  1. "The Children's Courtyard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Concord, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Learning Care Group is a corporation with a clear mission and core values which represent a company that seeks to provide the best care available to children along with a high quality curriculum. The opportunities for career growth are exponential and the investment the company puts into their schools, and in staff training and retention creates an environment where teachers feel valued and appreciated. They have resources in place to help staff grow professionally, as well as training modules which cover many topics. Support is available to all staff members, from the on site admin team all the way up to the corporate level.

    Show More

    Cons

    The performance expectations are high and require a high level of commitment, loyalty, and dedication from all staff members. New events and issues arise regularly and sometimes with minimal notice so it requires being flexible, focused and self-motivated. Professional and consistent communication remains an ongoing challenge at the center level, as well as controlling workplace gossip; both of which are ongoing issues with any company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage the staff regularly and show appreciation for what they do to meet the high company standards, not just on special teacher appreciation weeks, but every day in the little things they do to help a child or a co-worker. Communicate clearly, consistently, and respectfully. Set the example by your own character and work ethic for the high standards you expect of your staff, and hold all staff accountable for these standards without showing favoritism. Follow the same company rules and policies set for the parents and staff members, without acting above them because of position or title.

    Show More
    Learning Care Group2019-02-09
  2. "Not the best place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in East Greenbush, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing teachers, fun children and families. Bonding.

    Cons

    Poor Management and shady business methods.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest to your staff, parents, and all will be happy.

    Learning Care Group2019-11-22
  3. "Good if you like kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    watching the children grow up

    Cons

    schedule overworked little to no advancement

    Learning Care Group2019-09-18
  4. "I have no review tbh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant in Richmond, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of my coworkers are awesome

    Cons

    The management at this site is the worse

    Advice to Management

    Should be friendlier, should not show clear favoritism.

    Learning Care Group2019-07-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Run."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Pre-k Teacher in Prosper, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I want to preface this by noting that I sincerely believe the biggest problem isn't necessarily this Company but the fact that daycare in this country is absolute garbage. My Director, Manager & Office Manager were working their tails off. They were doing so to no avail because they literally can't. Company policies and Federal/State Regulations account for most of the reason these Managers appear to be incompetent. In fact it is exactly the opposite and I've never had a Supervisor work harder & longer than I saw here. The only 2 Pro's i could recall: * All of my children and their families were amazing, they were the ONLY reason I came in every day. * Relaxed dress code

    Show More

    Cons

    *First of all, ignore these clearly planted glorious reviews. It's a huge red flag if there are compliments in the Cons section. It is my opinion that this Company is adding fraudulent reviews...what's worse, they aren't even good at it. *You are NOT a Teacher, you are a Babysitter *Despicable pay. I honestly still cannot believe how hard I worked for so little. *Equally disappointing benefits. When I needed antibiotics (generic, not name brand), a State Assistance card gave me a better discount. *They have an iPad App that you will be required to update constantly with ZERO free time to do so. In addition, you will need to update an archaic sheet, because what is better than taking your eyes off the kids even longer to re-do the same work?? *Ratios, Texas is 2nd to the worst in the Country, but I've been told they're terrible even in California, where the ratio's are almost half. *Special Needs, Learning Disabilities & Physical Disabilities should ABSOLUTELY be considered in Ratio's *No bottled water. That's all I'm going to say about this. *Work Orders are fulfilled in a timely manner....roughly a year. "Locked" doors were unlocked for at least 2 months, damaged playground equipment never fixed going on 5 months. *Strange choice of Food & Snacks (not healthy at all or too healthy for children's tastes)- boiled eggs, granola, bean crackers, cream of wheat, lentils, wheat pasta, black beans, soy crumbles, processed oil cheese with saltines, plain pancakes and hummus...Who's Hungry?? *Don't expect company created emergency plans to consider child safety, the focus is always on liability. Your Director will probably be forced to come up with the best plan(s) *Lesson Plans are disappointing in that they have little thought and creativity put in to create them - I'm pretty positive my 4 year olds could have put together better activities. They are somewhat engaging but far from educational. *Zero room for growth. This is the peak. *I'm left to assume not a one person making decisions about the "classroom" has ever been in one before.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    START appreciating the Leaders in your buildings who have to not only endure but try to adhere to so many unnecessary policies. If not, you'll continue losing good people who truly care about these children. I'm sure LCG will respond to this with the same canned response they've done with all others. It's sad really, your current & former employees deserve more than copy & paste.

    Learning Care Group2019-06-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice and friendly people work here discount for your own child

    Cons

    no growth a very low annual increase

    Learning Care Group2019-05-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "McDaycare at its worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The things WE build as teachers and staff. The relationships with each other, the children and the families. LCG may capitalize on this, it looks great in a brochure, sounds great on a tour and works great when it’s time to explain minuscule raises (“If you get more, someone on the team will get less”...”If we spend too much on salaries there will be a tuition hike and the families won’t be able to afford care.”) but the company doesn’t appear to prioritize things that don’t impact the bottom line.

    Show More

    Cons

    From the moment we clock on we are in ratio with a room full of kids, until the number of kids drops and we’re sent home for the day, sometimes before the scheduled end of our shift. No allowances for prep time or paperwork. This is a problem because the paperwork demands are high. Multiple daily safety checklists, diaper cream release forms (renewed weekly), “Milestones” (imagine the DRDP rewritten by a committee of people with business and marketing degrees) and weekly lesson plans. In addition, large classroom displays have to be updated monthly. This is all in addition to preparing educational activities for the children and addressing the regular caregiving, cleaning, laundry and classroom organization that needs to be done. Somewhere in there we try to find time to meaningfully connect with the kids. There was a time when we could manage to keep up with the chores by working like crazy during nap time, then someone realized centers could cut back on the duties of the custodians and save money by having teachers mop during nap time and take out all the garbage several days a week. It isn’t unusual to have after-hours social activities, such as holiday celebrations for the families, staff attendance is mandatory. Annual conferences are scheduled at the parents’ convenience, teachers may have to return to school after their scheduled shift to meet with them. President’s Day is a mandatory inservice day, ostensibly for teaching us new skills, in reality it’s hours of customer service approaches and corporate propaganda wrapped up in a thin veil of pseudo-educational language. There are also frequent after-hours staff meetings, occasionally on Saturdays. We are not paid overtime for any of this. Annual pay raises are tiny, and they’re “merit based” so we have to jump through hoops to get them. If we use more than the maximum number of permitted sick days in a given year we may forfeit our right to a raise. Turnover is heavy and salaries don’t keep up with the cost of living so eventually, when current salaries stop attracting new applicants it isn’t unusual to find that a new co-worker with less experience than current teachers is being paid more. This deficit is not made up for in subsequent raises. I don’t have personal experience with the college reimbursement program, but a co-worker was disappointed to discover that the director decides which courses count towards the program and only chose to pay for classes which directly applied to ECE. Get more information before you count on this “perk.” We have very limited freedom to personalize our classroom. We are representing a brand and appearances are a priority. Teaching is a challenge because individual children are shuttled back and forth between classrooms daily to balance out numbers in order to use staff efficiently. Oh, and we do our job on camera with parents live-streaming via an app. LCG has seriously compromised the quality of care and education for the kids, and the quality of life for teachers and staff, settling instead for the appearance of these things. They market us as teachers and treat us like babysitters. The brochures and posters are gorgeous, I wish I worked in whatever fictional school they based their materials on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good directors can only mitigate the impact of corporate demands, apparently their hands are tied because they have to defer to the district manager, whose hands are apparently tied by her manager. If there’s a woman in our region’s chain of command with enough clout, or the inclination, to advocate for the quality of life at the classroom level I haven’t met her. If there is a SINCERE desire to improve the daily life of teachers and students, SOMEONE needs to value our directors’ insights into the needs of the staff and someone needs to step into the classrooms and earnestly listen to the teachers. Occasional email memos telling us we’re “Rock Stars” aren’t cutting it, ladies.

    Show More
    Learning Care Group2019-05-25
  8. "Love this Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Morgan Hill, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Children, Current staff is really friendly. Room for opportunity

    Cons

    Understaffed, some unqualified staff

    Advice to Management

    There is a lot a catering to safe, needs of the company should come first

    Learning Care Group2019-01-30
  9. "Money is Top Priority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Teacher in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Easy to get hired *Career Development

    Cons

    *Money trumps all issues no matter what location you’re at *Management is just AWFUL (in my experience, all of the awful management teams that I’ve worked with were trash because management had not received proper training) *Teachers are forced to go above & beyond without being fairly compensated *Teachers are allowed to be assaulted by children without holding the children or their parents responsible *Corporate figures visit schools and as to contact them when you need assistance or advice but never respond when you do. They just go to your director & ask them a million questions. *Certain schools NEVER receive help, so directors are forced to make tough staffing & ratio decisions. *They beg for the wrong teachers to stay & do not care about losing high-quality teachers. I could go on & on about the negatives that I have experienced in the four years that I worked there. My point is that this company truly does not care about everything that goes into caring for children. I understand that it is a business at the root of it all, but this is not the field to be involved in if you’re only about a dollar. The policies work against the good employees & force management to make decisions that will ultimately negatively affect their staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting for your staff & families. You may be under fire on the regular but your efforts do not go unnoticed or unappreciated.

    Learning Care Group2019-02-15
  10. "I Love my Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Pre-k Teacher in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities for advancement and relocation!

    Cons

    Not enough time in a day to do all I want to do in my class! I’d work on Saturdays.

    Learning Care Group2018-12-20
Found 65 reviews