Learning Care Group "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Learning Care Group Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Learning Care Group CEO Mark R. Bierley
Mark R. Bierley
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The ratio is always high for one teacher and they are always low on staff since people keep leaving due to the high pressure job and low pay(in 19 reviews)

  • "The upper management doesn’t care about the teachers working in the school(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director-Creative Kids Learning Center-Las Vegas in North Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Great resources in different departments for help if needed. Many opportunities for growth, learning opportunities and educational benefits. I was worried when our local owner decided to sell Creative Kids to LCG two and a half years ago. My worries were that we would lose that family feel that we had in the past and become a number in a large corporate company. I didn't need to worry, all of upper management has been wonderful. From head of HR, Safety department, regional Vice President, my district manager (who was also working with Creative Kids before we were LCG) and other district managers who have helped along the way, I have felt like we were adopted into a huge caring family. I feel like there is so much support with whatever problems may arise. Also many new training opportunities. I am so happy to be a part of the LCG family.

    Cons

    Long hours and many tasks to complete each week/day. Lots of paperwork.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2019-08-25

    Learning Care Group Response

    October 22, 2019Digital Reputation Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review Learning Care Group! We are happy to hear that you have had a positive experience at your center, and appreciate your feedback. We know that working in the ECE field can be challenging at times so we appreciate everything you do for the children and families we serve!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Feels like home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academy Director in Fenton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I recently left a company after nearly 25 years. The company went in a direction that was unfavorable and was negatively changing at a drastic rate. It was time to go for myself and many of my peers as well. Learning Care Group has the values that I had grown to admire within my previous company. CEO and Upper management very approachable and wants to make you succeed. Very supportive on all levels. It was extremely refreshing as well as a little disturbing to go to a training at support central and meet so many individuals who also had left me former company. It was eye opening and confirming that I had made the right decision. I highly recommend this company

    Cons

    None I can think of at all! This company has yet to give me a con.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2015-05-23
  3. "For Profit Childcare Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Real Estate Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people they hire generally are very good to work with

    Cons

    Upper management created a very micro-managed environment to work in.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2019-09-24

    Learning Care Group Response

    October 22, 2019Digital Reputation Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review Learning Care Group! We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience while working with us. We know that working in the ECE field can be challenging at times so we appreciate everything you contributed to the children and families we serve!

    Continue reading
  4. "Greedy corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no pros for working in the company

    Cons

    The upper management doesn’t care about the teachers working in the school. They hire you for one position that pays so little and make you do twice the work than what you’re paid for. My director fired the house keeping people and asked the teachers to mop the floors, pathetic. When you ask the director to raise your pay because you’re working way more than what you’re hired for they’ll just straight up ignore you. The ratio is always high for one teacher and they are always low on staff since people keep leaving due to the high pressure job and low pay. There are always shortage of supplies in the classroom yet they are quick to charge the parents money for any reason they can find. How can teachers give quality care with such poor management and pay. Also the directors should stop playing favoritism and treat all the employees same since all of us work hard in our classroom. Just because some teachers love to gossip and chit chat with the director,they are given special treatment and favors.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2018-12-22

    Learning Care Group Response

    January 11, 2019

    Thanks for the review. Your feedback is concerning, since the situation you’ve described isn’t in keeping with our values and high standards of operation. As a company, we strive to provide a supportive work environment that offers a development path for a meaningful and fulfilling career. As part of that, we regularly evaluate employee compensation and benefits to ensure they’re competitive within the industry. If you are open to sharing more details on your personal experience, please call our Employee Hotline at 866-384-4277, and we will ensure that your concerns are addressed. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "No support from upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Management in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    working with children, competitive salary, paid time off (if you get to use it)

    Cons

    No support from upper management, peers have no team work, weekly conference calls are about the same stuff, benefits, hiring staff (very difficult), labor guidelines are impossible to meet and run your school effectively, company is about money instead of the children.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2018-01-20

    Learning Care Group Response

    January 31, 2018Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback as a current Learning Care Group employee. We strive to ensure a supportive work environment for all employees, and are sorry to hear that you have not be receiving this impression. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Former Assistant Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Watching children grow and learn everyday. Establishing good and lasting relationships with the families. LCG does have a really fabulous curriculum in place for the children to grow.

    Cons

    Staff is encouraged not to gossip, yet the director does so herself. And from attending several management meetings over five years, this is the way most centers are ran. When the issue was brought up several times to upper management, it was ignored. Upper management and corporate love to bark orders and raise rates. Twice a year they raise rates on these families yet the teachers see 25 cent increases per year. It’s absolute bull not to care about the teachers enough to give them a decent raise. Average corporation where money is, and will always be the number one priority.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2017-11-28

    Learning Care Group Response

    February 1, 2018Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Learning Care Group is dedicated in our mission of caring for children and families, and creating a supportive work environment is a large part of how we enable our employees to contribute towards this mission every day. We are sorry that you have left the company without this impression. The concerns that you have mentioned regarding management are ones that we take very seriously and will be noted for further action. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group

    Pros

    Family relationships, free education through TEACH, watching children flourish and grow, parent involved activities, safety is a key component for children, staff, and families

    Cons

    This company doesn't appreciate their staff/ management, pay does not equate to all the jobs/ responsibilities that are expected, did not feel supported by upper management

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2017-11-11

    Learning Care Group Response

    November 28, 2017Recruiting Coordinator

    We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. A strong network of peers, school leadership and corporate support all contribute to providing a positive environment for our school-based employees. We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the level of support you received. Thank you for sharing your perspective.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great for families not 4 employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great kids and families. Career advancement

    Cons

    Low pay,yearly raises are a joke they are usually 15 cents - 36, Director and upper management are the only ones who get bonuses no one else gets recognized

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2017-07-23

    Learning Care Group Response

    February 1, 2018Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for the review. Not only are we as a company dedicated to the children, families, and clients that we serve but we are dedicated to creating a positive work environment for all our employees. LCG is continuously analyzing the compensation and benefits offered to employees to ensure that we are competitive. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we thank you for all that you do for our children and families.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (20)

    "Top heavy boys club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Novi, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In general people are friendly. With most managers work/life balance is ok.

    Cons

    The organizational structure is getting increasingly top-heavy. Executives get big bonuses while merit increases for school staff are pitiful. Those at the staff level are taking on more and more work. Positions are either not refilled after people leave or not increased to reflect additional support we're expect to provide to the field. There is no meaningful professional development. There is no clear path for advancement and tuition assistance won't even cover a single credit hour of graduate work. Men seem to be promoted at a much quicker rate than women, regardless of competence or work ethic. Several women were left with old, broken furniture for years and repeatedly given excuses for why it couldn't be replaced while men were given the latest and greatest. The new boys club often takes credit for the work of others while avoiding responsibility for any mistakes they make. Morale is taking a nosedive as long-term employees become increasingly unhappy. Upper management seems more interested in the latest buzzword idea than in using the knowledge of those at the front lines to create solutions that will work for our somewhat unique business. Health benefits are mediocre at best. There is no 401k matching. Despite their supposed commitment to families, the "flexible" schedules are so limited as to be nearly non-existent.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2016-02-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place if you love children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager AKA Director/Teacher/Front Office in Spring, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Learning Care Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The families were nice, the kids were the highlight of the day. A select few of the upper management were a lot of fun.

    Cons

    I worked in front office, was supposed to be in charge of ARs and family accounts as well as some enrollment. While there I was Admin Assistant/ Director/ manager/Teacher. High staff turnover rate so there were days when I had to go into a different classroom every 2 hours so that the teachers could take their break. Even some of the teachers would sit at front desk to take their break so they could answer phone. Everyone was overworked and underpaid.

    Continue reading
    Learning Care Group2016-01-11
Found 15 reviews