Lebara Reviews in United Kingdom | Glassdoor

Lebara UK Reviews

Updated November 9, 2017
127 reviews

Filter

Filter

United Kingdom

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Lebara Chief Executive Officer Graeme Oxby
Graeme Oxby
1 Rating

127 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • I found this to be particularly upsetting given the competence and dedication of the staff in the firing-line, which explains the high staff turnover (in 6 reviews)

  • The excellent people mentioned above are generally under-appreciated by senior management (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Awesome company to work with an iconic CEO as Rathees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Head in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Head in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lebara full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Last 4 years with Lebara was awesome, tons of learning. Felt really sad when leaving.
    - Entrepreneurial culture where one can take risks- huge plus away from the monotony of daily work life.
    - Rewards performance handsomely both with higher position & monetary benefits.
    - Iconic founders, they are truly inspirational to work with- Leon, Rathhes & Karan are very down to earth & people's manager.

    Cons

    - Not really any however should do more town halls for that last mile connect which was missing in last 1 year.

    Advice to Management

    - People are the core strength of Lebara, please keep on inculcating talent by spending time on mentoring them.

    Lebara Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    We are really glad to hear you have had four awesome years with Lebara, we have been thriving on the entrepreneurial culture that Ratheesh, Leon and Karan brought in to Lebara since our inception. We... More


  2. "Change is not always good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lebara full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Founders were great and big opportunity to develop. the understand the value of a great team.

    Cons

    New owners been advised by people without experience and new owners vision seems bit faded.
    HR is taking advantage of their powers!!! TREATING employees badly, sad to see that and when you act against you will become a target.

    Advice to Management

    Don't only look at P&L and Excel.........look at the people!!! why some people just vanished!!! Is it the individual or HR targeted success.

    Its the people who made this business a successful one.

  3. "It was great working for this company as part time while studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Promoter in Manchester, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Promoter in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lebara part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It is a great growing company to work for

    Cons

    Pay would be better

    Advice to Management

    It can take care of employees better, would have appreciated if there was more connect between higher management and emoloyess

    Lebara Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your positive review – we are glad you had a positive experience as part of the Lebara family.


  4. "Avoid it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lebara part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The location is good: the City

    Cons

    --Unsocial shifts
    --Impossible to grow up in the company
    --It seems like a cult
    --They relocated to the most of its staff

    Advice to Management

    --Pay more
    --Less workload

    Lebara Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    We are pleased to have phased out shift patterns over the past two years, due to the social impact of these hours. We are proud to have distributed workforce and third party partners in many global... More


  5. "Started off a good company to work for but then deteriorated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Projects in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Head of Projects in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lebara full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pragmatic environment
    Lots of energy
    Drive to succeed
    Nice offices

    Cons

    Heavily biased on nepotism
    Rewarded poor performance in individuals that had been part of initial growth of the company

    Advice to Management

    When you have a clear out of dead wood make sure you do it on merit and not on the opinion of the dead wood itself!

    Lebara Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for the review and information provided. The pragmatism, energy and drive of the Lebara family is something we are very proud of. We also love our offices!
    A company like ours can only... More


  6. "Just awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CS Agent in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - CS Agent in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lebara full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Localisation of the office (Morgate)

    Cons

    Unfair treatment
    Letting people go without a notice or explanation

    Advice to Management

    None

    Lebara Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
    We are really sorry to hear that you feel you were treated unfairly. We always ensure we follow best practices, fulfil contractual obligations and... More


  7. "Assistant PA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative Assistant - Part Time in London, England (UK)
    Former Contractor - Administrative Assistant - Part Time in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lebara as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great working environment and supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    Wished it could have been permanent!

    Advice to Management

    I felt I had good support from the management and that my opinion was taken into account when asking for advice.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing, but challenging work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lebara full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have been working for Lebara in different roles for a few years now and have enjoyed every step along the way. Even if you have days that challenge you on a professional and personal level, be it by not followed through processes or cultural difference, the people you work with will pick you up, motivate you and challenge you to improve your own behavior.

    The “start-up” mentality can be challenging when you are used to a process driven, corporate environment, but if you like constant change and having the feeling that your personal contribution can make a difference, then you will be able to deal with the culturally driven process failures and the day to day stress due to a constantly changing business.

    Cons

    There is currently a lack of vision and communication on whats expected of each individual to achieve a therefore unclear goal.

    As Lebara has always been about the vision and passion for the cultural backgrounds, this is a loss and would help improve overall atmosphere and motivation.

    Advice to Management

    Improve your communication and stick to set processes instead of constantly making exceptions.

    Lebara Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Head of Talent and Resourcing

    Thanks for your review. We’re glad you’ve enjoyed every step along the way. It’s certainly been an interesting journey for all of our staff and we’re still creating fresh challenges by bringing new... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lebara full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Colleagues' relationship is the best

    Cons

    Lots of politics, poor HR! They need to know how to treat employees! They are impolite and rude

    Advice to Management

    No worth working there, athmosphere is bad and money wise isn't great! Employ you for sometime and they are planning to off shore must of the roles

    Lebara Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Head of Talent and Resourcing

    Thanks for taking the time out to share your feedback. It’s sometimes difficult to hear when things haven’t gone so well, but we appreciate your honesty, and we’re glad you met some good colleagues... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lebara (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    none really whatsoever....can't think of any

    Cons

    too much politics, no strategy, completely chaotic, bad vibes, impossible working conditions, place full of lies

    Advice to Management

    not worth giving any advice

    Lebara Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Head of Talent and Resourcing

    We’re sorry to hear that you don’t feel positive about your time at Lebara. We’d like to be able to talk with you, so if you want to reach out, please feel you can email in confidence to... More


Showing 127 of 198 reviews
Reset Filters