Lee County School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Lee County School District Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Lee County School District CEO Murdock Willie (no image)
Murdock Willie
4 Ratings
  1. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Substitute Teacher in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lee County School District for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to have all of my students buy into learning.

    Cons

    There are none. You need to be qualified to teach.

    Advice to Management

    A good place to work.

    Lee County School District2016-06-13
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School 

    I have been working at Lee County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    many opportunities for professional development, instructional guides given by the district provide a lot of support for lesson planning and resources.

    Cons

    demanding schedule, focus on assessments, behaviors

    Lee County School District2019-10-20
  3. "short review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in Cape Coral, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lee County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great environment to work in with great people

    Cons

    lack of advancement available to further career,

    Advice to Management

    Has an awesome management team and team members

    Lee County School District2019-07-10
  4. "Settling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Assistant Teacher in North Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lee County School District for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of days off. Retirement plan. Benefits. Summers off. Decent Pay.

    Cons

    Days off are when kids are out and travel is more expensive. Can't really use the days off time they give you at your leisure. Retirement not easily explained. Benefits not really explained. Pay is negotiated by the union, so you don't get a raise based on your performance, so if you work hard and other people don't you basically make the same money.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting a cap on raises. Make the school year round and allow us to use our days. Stop making current employees just pick up slack when others are out, actually hire a sub.

    Lee County School District2016-08-22
  5. "Paraprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Para-Professional- Computer Lab Assistant in Sumter, SC

    I have been working at Lee County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A small rural school district. The children have great potential to do great things. The superindent has an open door policy.

    Cons

    Limited financial resources to provide the best possible education to the students. The salary is not on par with other counties in the state of SC.

    Lee County School District2016-04-07
  6. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Lee County School District

    Pros

    Get to meet all kinds of unique individuals.

    Cons

    Simply not enough money to keep more coming back.

    Lee County School District2015-08-10
  7. "Eh, place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lee County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are solid, overall architecture of the district is solid, training is widely available, work-life balance is good, teacher pay is good

    Cons

    Administrators are chosen by friends and friends or friends regardless of their qualifications. Many examples of administrator misconduct and complete disregard for district behavior policies. Poor leadership at high levels. Pay scale has just been changed for the worse. Administrators are grossly overpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house and make your review process for administrator positions public.

    Lee County School District2014-12-03
  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elementary Teacher in Fort Myers, FL
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lee County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The staff a pleasant and co workers are friendly. Everyone has a positive focus for the students.

    Cons

    Low pay for experience and degrees and extensive work to be effective. Not much recognition and high expectation with short staff to help

    Advice to Management

    they need to be reminded how it was when the were teachers and be more empathic and take a stand for us.

    Lee County School District2014-05-31
  9. "Substitute Trades Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lee County School District part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great programs and staff support. Everyone on staff are very helpful and supportive.

    Cons

    Salary Low, should offer more in service training.

    Advice to Management

    None that I can think of.

    Lee County School District2014-04-04
  10. "My experience with co-workers was a positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Lee County School District

    Pros

    I worked at a middle school and was able to learn all office functions within the school.

    Cons

    Office support was on the bottom of the list when budget crisis' arise.

    Advice to Management

    More focus on employee loyalty.

    Lee County School District2014-04-15
Found 11 reviews