Lee Murphy Law Firm Reviews | Glassdoor

Lee Murphy Law Firm Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
James Lee Jr.
20 Ratings
  1. "Truly the best place and people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lee Murphy Law Firm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at LMLF 4 years and had the opportunity to work in different departments-I learned a lot and met great people! The firm offered outstanding PTO, health benefits and incentives for hard work. The partners were approachable and had a way of making you feel you were working "with" them and not for them. I saw them bend over backwards to help and accommodate employees, investors and clients alike. I am Hispanic...

    Show More

    Cons

    I could have worked there forever but had to leave due to personal reasons.

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2018-12-20
  2. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lee Murphy Law Firm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, always learning new things. Great management/bosses who are incredibly understanding. James has always been good to me and I wouldn't rather work for anyone else.

    Cons

    Long hours (But that comes with working in the legal field)

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2018-08-16
  3. "Fast-Paced, Team Oriented Local Law Firm with National Reach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lee Murphy Law Firm full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salaries, broad range of projects, great co-workers, good office location in Montrose

    Cons

    Fast-paced sometimes means moving between projects during the work-day; lots of detail work; repetitive client communication

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2018-04-04
  4. "Great law firm that rewards hard work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lee Murphy Law Firm (Less than a year)

    Pros

    During my contract work period, I found Lee Murphy to be a fast-paced law firm that valued hard hard work. Just like any other job, you have to perform your job well to move ahead.

    Cons

    Being downtown, parking is sometimes a problem, but that is manageable if you're clever

    Advice to Management

    Try to weed out bad apples sooner.

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2016-06-10
  5. "paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lee Murphy Law Firm part-time

    Pros

    Nice office, impressive docket, structured well with other firms, room for growth, training is thorough, learn a lot, well known firm in downtown.

    Cons

    Parking is a problem

    Advice to Management

    Employees who are appreciated will always exceed expectations.

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2016-03-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Cowboy Law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lee Murphy Law Firm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros are that you may work in a bunch of positions, if you get in good with the right ppl.

    Cons

    You will be underpaid, and the ceo has problems with minorities.

    Advice to Management

    Fair pay for fair work, and promote more minorities.

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2015-12-08
  7. "Intake Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intake Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lee Murphy Law Firm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel blessed to have this job. I have learned a lot and the benefits are great. Plus they pay any overtime and there are lots of opportunities for promotion. Very nice people!

    Cons

    30 minute lunch but it's understandable because that's our busiest time and we get additional breaks

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great people and let them know they're doing great!

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2015-09-21
  8. "assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lee Murphy Law Firm

    Pros

    Hard work, sometimes pays off. PTO is great asset to have. Nice and very friendly coworkers if you need help they will be more than happy to help.

    Cons

    inadequate people, a lot of miscommunication

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2015-08-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Law Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lee Murphy Law Firm

    Pros

    Nice people with a very friendly environment

    Cons

    Low pay and unreasonable expectations.

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2015-08-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lee Murphy Law Firm

    Pros

    Paid Time Off, Kitchen area

    Cons

    Unprofessional Managers, Bullying,Low Pay, Hostile work environment,

    Advice to Management

    Get better leadership.....start with HR and better management.

    Lee Murphy Law Firm2015-08-08
Found 28 reviews