Legal Sea Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Legal Sea Foods Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 252 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Legal Sea Foods CEO Roger S. Berkowitz
Roger S. Berkowitz
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employees also have the opportunity to take a free wine course with a renowned Master of(in 22 reviews)

  • "fast paced, good money, great people(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, difficult to move up, management plays favorites(in 18 reviews)

  • "There is a decent amount of side work once your shift is completed(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Legal Sea Foods full-time

    Pros

    Great money, great people, easy job

    Cons

    "TEAMWORK" Definitely need to look out for each other more.

    Legal Sea Foods2019-07-30
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Legal Sea Foods part-time

    Pros

    Trained us well, and were fair

    Cons

    sometimes not enough staff to keep up with the rush

    Legal Sea Foods2019-07-25
  3. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barback in Braintree, MA

    I have been working at Legal Sea Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accessible management Work with your schedule Training provided

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Legal Sea Foods2019-07-23
  4. "Management doesnt care!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Legal Sea Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tips, Location, Staff, Discount, Food.

    Cons

    Management is poorly staffed, too corporate, management is a revolving door. No personality, staff members are just numbers to them.

    Advice to Management

    Start caring for your employees and stop treating them like numbers.

    Legal Sea Foods2019-07-25
  5. "No one cares / abuse is daily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Legal Sea Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good wine classes, good locations, some nice family meals

    Cons

    impossible to move up, everyone is leaving, low pay, management clueless.

    Advice to Management

    You should contact EXIT interviews if you really care to have your good employees stay. Every good employee I knew has left.

    Legal Sea Foods2019-07-24
  6. "Managers are clueless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Legal Sea Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good money and hours when you can get scheduled.

    Cons

    Management, leadership, corporate makes decisions knowing nothing about how restaurants work.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to evaluate and value the staff that is devoted to the company and worked for years and good at their job.

    Legal Sea Foods2019-07-18
  7. "Legal Harborside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Barista 

    I have been working at Legal Sea Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers were friendly people

    Cons

    It got busy at times, and I got no tips

    Legal Sea Foods2019-06-11
  8. "Family like company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Legal Sea Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for with wonderful people, lots of $ can be made, great management, promotes learning.

    Cons

    Tourist trap sometimes, could be more environmentally friendly

    Legal Sea Foods2019-06-08
  9. "Legal Sea Foods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Legal Sea Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are great people, good pay compared to many other restaurants.

    Cons

    Management could very much improve

    Legal Sea Foods2019-06-06
  10. "U can learn a lot from here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Legal Sea Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free wine class And high ability to make good money on a daily basis It's a server boost camp

    Cons

    management team can be a bit hard to work with sometimes

    Legal Sea Foods2019-05-30
Found 252 reviews