Cover image for LegalShield
Logo

LegalShield

Engaged Employer

LegalShield

Add a Review

LegalShield Employee Reviews about "legalshield"

Updated Dec 3, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 311 of over 311 reviews
3.6
65% Recommend to a Friend
75% Approve of CEO

Found 10 of over 311 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
LegalShield Chief Executive Officer Jeff Bell (no image)
Jeff Bell
105 Ratings

The latest conversations about Law

Join the conversation on

Law

90.1K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/law/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=LegalShield~472081
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "great people in Ada who work hard and do the things that need to get done(in 12 reviews)
  • "Good benefits but they aren’t as good as they used to be and they are about to get cut again.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Clean work environment with good pay.(in 9 reviews)
  • "Amazing training and personal development.(in 9 reviews)
  • "I set my schedule, what hours I want to work and how much money I want to earn.(in 6 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "legalshield"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Service / Great Opportunity

    Nov 12, 2021 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    LegalShield provides fantastic personal development and skill development. The skills and leadership gained from LegalShield can transform one’s career whether with LegalShield or any other career opportunity.

    Cons

    You have to be self driven and like working on straight commission with no cap.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LegalShield Response

    Customer Advocacy Director

    Thank you for your review and being a valued part of the LegalShield family. At LegalShield, we believe in helping our independent associates like yourself find empowerment as business owners. We provide everything you need to get started right and keep your business growing. We are happy to hear that you are taking advantage of the training, tools, & incentives to do just that. LegalShield’s process is easy to follow and get started, but work is required. Success is never easy. Thank you for choosing LegalShield and being part of this valuable mission.

  2. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Shady Sponsors

    Dec 3, 2021 - Independent Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only pro is you have an upline but that does not mean they will assist you professionally

    Cons

    There are no benefits with 1099. You do your own marketing, you put a lot of work into it, but it's best to start your own business using your product to get 100% of the profit. It's worth the sweat equity. The commission can change unexpectedly. It can also be taken away from you permanently. You must read the Marketing rules carefully, LegalShield can sue and fine you if you go against their policy. There are way too many rules.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    LegalShield Response

    Customer Advocacy Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. At LegalShield, we believe in helping our independent associates find empowerment as business owners. We provide the tools and resources you need to get started right and keep building your business strong. When you become a LegalShield Independent Associate, we value your commitment and outline our commitment to you in return clearly in our associate contract terms and conditions, which must be agreed to in order to become an associate. This business model is not for everyone. LegalShield’s process is easy to follow and easy to get started, but work is required. Success is never easy.

  3. Join the LegalShield team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Environment of energy and cooperation

    May 25, 2021 - Mobile Development Intern in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Despite the size, everyone at LegalShield is highly connected to one another and is always helping each other out. Everyone is excited to work to make the company better and they understand that they must help others and ask others for help in order to do so.

    Cons

    Unnecessary meetings across the company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Not A Good Fit - Political and Strange Culture

    Oct 8, 2020 - Digital 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - High salaries. Legalshield is generous with their salaries and will pay industry standard or more for roles - Good profit-sharing options and healthcare - Flexible working hours, some partially remote options even before COVID

    Cons

    - Divided company culture. The home-office culture is conservative and old-school, while some of the other departments are at direct odds with that. Swearing isn't allowed on slack, etc. - The company has a multi-level-marketing aspect which inflates the reviews on glassdoor and across the board. It's difficult to get things done in the company because everything needs to be agreed upon across several different "lines" of business and the associate's team doesn't want the same things as the other areas - Political, dishonest practices at senior levels. What you say won't be carried through the same way that is promised and some of the more senior people in the company are more caught up in politics than in how to make impactful business decisions - Dishonest about job descriptions and roles. Recruiters will tell you that you will have one type of job and you'll end up doing something different - The CEO is forceful, performative, and driven by emotions, not sound business decisions. - Not a cutting edge company. If you want to learn from experts in development/product/marketing/digital you shouldn't come here. They have been taking steps to introduce more expertise but they are behind when it comes to these areas

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    LegalShield Response

    Brand Reputation Monitor

    Thank you for the feedback. Every employee's opinion matters at LegalShield. We understand that changing environments can be difficult and that a company's individual culture may not be a fit for everyone. We have multiple offices and teams around the country. But we share the same values – Mission First, Constantly Improve, Join Forces, Extreme Ownership, and Live Passionately. Most importantly, we are in a transformation as we diversify to a multi-channel distribution model from a reliance on MLM prior to 2012. This introduces great opportunities for the right people, and diversity amongst the channels is also one of the biggest strengths of our company. Under the leadership of Jeff Bell, CEO, LegalShield has set new membership, revenue and profitability records each of the last 7 years. Changing from being a call-center company to a services company driven by great marketing and software is not easy, but to fulfill our mission of equal justice for all, we will never stop until we succeed. Thank You!

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A ”Side Hustle” for the Aspiring Con Artist

    Oct 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Let me just preface this review by saying that you will NOT make money as a LegalShield associate. I've spent a long time as a member of the corporate associate services team, I've seen the numbers, I've talked to the sales force, front line newbies and upper-echelon long-timers, and I know that the deck is stacked against anyone except the upper .1%. You will pay your associate fee, buy the material, sign up for the training, go to the events, and it will net you nothing.

    Cons

    All the money that you sink into ”setting up your business” just gets funneled up to the top level guys. That's the game. We sell the ”opportunity” and the money you spend on training is how we pay the commissions that you will likely never see.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    No place better!

    Aug 7, 2016 - Independent Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am an independent contractor with LegalShield. Simply means I own my business and am a commission-based associate. Great thing about this is that I get paid in direct relation to the effort that I put into my position -- not what someone else feels that I'm worth. A+

    Cons

    Because our company pays on a networking marketing model that is sometimes viewed as a negative in the marketplace -- this has nothing to do with our product / service, it's simply how it's independent contractor are paid. Don't judge before you understand what we do.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    LegalShield Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the kind words in your review and for being an independent sales associate with LegalShield. We appreciate and applaud the entrepreneurship that comes from our sales force and look forward to helping you be successful with YOUR business in any way we can!

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Love it!!!

    Aug 7, 2018 - Director - Independent Associate in Marietta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with LegalShield for almost 12 years as an Independent Associate as well as a member. I have used my membership countless times and have been astounded at the response by the Legal representation by every law firm I have encountered. I will first and foremost never be without the membership. Secondly, as an associate, I have thoroughly enjoyed not only recruiting people to join this venture but introducing people to a service that empowers you and your family. We all have questions and those questions usually have a legal root, so why have to check your wallet before calling an attorney. LegalShield gives you the freedom to get the advice and consultation on ANYTHING legal based.

    Cons

    I really can't think of a downside to sharing an incredible service like LegalShield.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing opportunity if you are willing to put in the time and effort!

    Jun 21, 2016 - Independent Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with LegalShield for about a year and a half, and I love the company, they give an ex excellent work from home business opportunity that allows you to do as little or as much as you would like and to continue to recieve residual income for years to come! This residual income can also be willed 2 generations. I love the incredible training opportunities and software support. LegalShield is constantly looking to improve itself and make things better for customers and associates.

    Cons

    Need to be self-driven Can take some time to build up a sizeable income

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Business Opportunity

    Mar 1, 2013 - Independent Associate in Galena, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being self-employed has many benefits, i.e., being able to work the hours that we choose to work (time freedom); to earn as much as you would like in any given month; to meet many new business professionals by having the ability to join different associations and organizations. You need to be a self starter and be teachable and coachable.

    Cons

    You need to work because if you don't work you don't get paid - you are self employed! LegalShield is simple, but not always easy!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Access to our legal system

    Sep 20, 2015 - LegalShield Associate in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    LegalShield does NOT have quotas. But they do have incredible incentives. You can start your own business for $249 (plus whatever your state may require). If you are a teachable self-starter there is no limit what one can do with LegalShield.

    Cons

    You are not trading hours for dollars like a traditional "job". If you want a "job" then go get a "job". There is so much training and learning possibilities that one can become distracted. If you want to "sell" and just make money this may not be for you. If you are passionate about opening the legal system to everyone then this IS for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with LegalShield Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at LegalShield? Share Your Experiences

LegalShield logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

LegalShield Photos

+ Add Photo
LegalShield photo of: LegalShield Headquarters
LegalShield photo of: LegalShield Auditorium
LegalShield photo of: LegalShield Main Office Interior
LegalShield photo of: Home Office
LegalShield photo of: Award
LegalShield photo of: Legal Shield Corporate Headquarters
LegalShield photo of: Legal Shield HQ
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

LegalShield Job Seekers Also Viewed

Harvard Risk Management Logo
Harvard Risk Management

4.3

126 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 311 LegalShield reviews submitted anonymously by LegalShield employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if LegalShield is right for you.