LegalZoom Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
LegalZoom CEO Dan Wernikoff  (no image)
Dan Wernikoff
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bagels on Friday, Portos once a month; bringing in healthier food and drink options(in 41 reviews)

  • "Carnival day, cake day, free bagels, karaoke, golf tournaments, kickball, company Olympics, and much more(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They also need to get it together on what teams need to be in Austin vs(in 15 reviews)

  • "Turning into more of a customer care role rather than sales(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company with appetite for growth

      May 5, 2021 - Senior Director in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super smart exec team, data driven

      Cons

      no regular stock grants for top talent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      LEGALDOOM - “SET YOUR CAREER TO DOOM”

      Apr 29, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health insurance, cool facilities that our CEO won’t let us use or go back to, match for 401k, great coworkers.

      Cons

      Too many to mention. I’ll keep it brief. I used to think this was the greatest company ever to work for. Money was great, and excellent work-life balance. Ever since new CEO took the helm, he has tried his hardest to destroy the old culture. Zoomers who have been here for close to a decade or more are fleeing. He has brought in a lot of his buddies from Intuit magically thinking expertise in the tax space will translate into the Legal space. He is wrong. Recently we got changed to hourly from salary, had our salaries reduced, goals are too high to get commissions, and metrics used are unfair for what are considered a “sales call.” This is despite the record profits they keep bragging about which are certainly not flowing into our pockets. Most people are burned out, and turn over is increasing. Anyways I would not recommend working here as morale is plummeting, and this once great company is being run into the ground. I won’t be sticking around much longer either.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      LegalZoom is growing and the future is bright!

      May 3, 2021 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being inspired while working from home isn't something I ever thought was possible - yet here I am, truly inspired every single day. Is LegalZoom perfect? No, but neither am I. Neither are ANY of us. What makes LegalZoom so special is the fact that everyone here works together towards the same goal, respecting one another's opinion, and celebrating that we're all in this together. There's no place I'd rather be. Onward and upward!

      Cons

      Not being able to meet everyone - YET

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Top Notch Place to Work

      May 3, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Glendale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Onboarding of new employees is fantastic. The staff is super kind and supportive. The company has made a work from home environment, during the pandemic, super easy. Leadership listens to employees and the company, as a whole, really feels like I belong to an amazing work family.

      Cons

      I have not encountered any cons to date!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Was a good job until the corporate regime change

      Mar 19, 2021 - Sales Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a decent starter "office job" for those looking to get out of service or retail. Working from home is nice. Everything else about this company is awful.

      Cons

      Way to many to actually list here. The main issue is that corporate changes our bonus structure almost 2x per year. And each time we're being asked to produce more for either the same pay, or even less. This is the only sales job I've ever been at where I made about 20% more revenue this year compared to the previous year, but got paid less somehow. The final nail was on "employee appreciation day" we we're told that our base salary was going down (a pay cut) and we had the opportunity to "more than make up the differance" with monthly bonuses. That sounds great, however the sales quotas are 150% higher than previous years in the midst of a historic economic downturn. As a top performer, I've been able to tread water for as long as possible, but the recent changes in our bonus structure and quotas resulted in about 50% of the sales team not getting a monthly bonus. There is no accountability from any of the leadership, there is zero trancparency within the sales organization, the tools and systems needed to perform my duties are outdated or just don't work a lot of the time. The culture is toxic, DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY IF YOU VALUE YOUR MENTAL HEALTH!

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Building a great culture with strong growth potential

      Apr 23, 2021 - Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Awesome All Star Leadership - Humble People - Focus on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion - Team Work - Business is doing well - Working on cool projects and challenges

      Cons

      It is a work in progress by the team already but continuing to work on career, culture, and learning and development to support the evolving team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing Business / Full Remote

      Apr 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I decided to take the offer mainly from having the full remote option. Company supports full remote; provides devices and equipments and IT supports. Average compensation. Fast growing business.

      Cons

      There seems to be more manager/leads/principal engineers than the junior/mid level engineers. Full benefits don't kick in til 1 year full time period from the hire date. Mediocre benefits.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      May 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team of execs and employees

      Cons

      Long hours but worth it!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      CAUTION: Dead End

      Apr 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros? Really? Nah, there’s nothing to “pro” about with this sad company.

      Cons

      Let’s see... where should we start.... Mass layoffs during a pandemic? Compensation? Incapable C-Suite? Work-life balance, or lack there of? Ancient technology? Phone routing system less competent than a car without fuel? Empty promises? Pay cuts? Culture that’s at rock bottom? Honestly, thinking about it makes my stomach churn. Dan Wernikoff and team have destroyed this company. The company was once fueled by a great culture that treated its employees right. Forget pay, that comes with hard work at any company... but only when you’re with a company worth working hard for. Modern LegalZoom is not that kind of company. There were leaders who were with the company since the beginning of time who were blindsided with layoffs because these were positions that were no longer necessary (YES they were necessary, you’re killing your managers). Not to mention the notice of termination was announced at the end of October, but indicated that the employees would be paid through December... whooppeee! Speaking of pay... who comes into a company with the promise of “change for the better” and ultimately cuts your pay by the end of their first full fiscal year. Salary lowered, then turned hourly... you have to fight for OT. Goals as high as Mt. Everest yield absolutely no commission. The company is pulling profit out of thin air... believe me, that’s all we hear about. If that’s the case, then why is my wallet so light? I would love to see our CEO answer these questions. Most CEO’s would, he wouldn’t though. Incapable C-Suite? None of them would be transparent. Instead that wrap heavy news in a bow and in a passive way make announcements over email without any follow up. This team of intuit executives have 0 experience managing a company founded on the premises of helping people... employees, customers, everyone. I had mentioned work-life balance... that seems so small compared to the other problems, but it is in fact a problem. On to the next... If you are determined to work in a certain field or department, look anywhere but here. Every department seems to bleed together. Customers are constantly transferred to the “wrong” department, after waiting 4 hours on hold.... to be honest, I don’t think there is a right department. Us employees are in the dark without a flashlight. “Hybrid” sales originally meant inbound/outbound sales and pipeline management. Now, “hybrid” means customer care/sales mix. Our customers are pissed, rightfully so. Our system is the equivalent of a 1995 dial-up system trying to fit in 26 years later. I mean honestly... can we just send calls to the right department? Everything is always “being worked on” yet nothing is being fixed... in fact I think it’s getting worse. I think 500+ employees would back that statement. This of many thing were due to be fixed... not because we hoped for it, but because we were told it. Just cut the crap and stop lying to your employees... we are all in line to get out. It’s a shame for the new hires who will never know what a great company this once was. The culture at “LegalDoom” has hit rock bottom, but I fear there’s a trap door.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It wasn't always bad

      Apr 6, 2021 - Account Representative III in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Coworker, Good Benefits, Sales Bonuses

      Cons

      Had 2 other Tech Company Offer me same time as Legalzoom When I started I was happy to do something I believed in . In that first quarter I seen CEO, ASM , and C level management leave after a Year I barely recognized the place. The Company makes alot of changes but no real direction, Cut Bonuses down to merely nothing after taxes (30%) Hire managers who have zero experience and no connection to the clients or team In Hindsight I wish took the offer from LinkedIn instead

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 359 Reviews

    Popular Careers with LegalZoom Job Seekers

    Sales Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at LegalZoom? Share Your Experiences

    LegalZoom logo
    or