Legrand North America Reviews | Glassdoor

Legrand North America Reviews

Updated September 21, 2017
42 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Selldorff
22 Ratings

42 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Director Product Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Middletown, PA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Middletown, PA

    I worked at Legrand North America full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Growth oriented company, invests in new technology

    Cons

    A lot of acquisitions, so every few years the organization get reshaped, too driven by top level management

    Legrand North America Response

    Sep 17, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you for your review. Yes, we set and achieve high growth targets - both organically and through acquisition. It's a relatively flat organization and Product Management is typically a very... More


  2. "Service Operations Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Operations Representative in Birmingham, AL
    Current Employee - Service Operations Representative in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Legrand North America full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility and work like-balance are good

    Cons

    The BCS Wattstopper division restructures the company too often and gets rid of good knowledgeable employees.

  3. "Great experience in a short time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer - Test Automation in Somerset, NJ
    Current Employee - Software Engineer - Test Automation in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Legrand North America part-time

    Pros

    Highly flexible to fit employees needs, encourage community outreach, comfortable working environment,

    Cons

    More cross department work and summits would be good for each branch.

    Legrand North America Response

    Aug 20, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thanks so much for the positive review and great suggestion.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Application Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Legrand North America full-time

    Pros

    Interesting products, great opportunities to be involved in construction design and the submittal process, large organization with significant resources

    Cons

    Limited training opportunities, culture of not valuing the people and their experiences, changes occur without obtaining adequate team feedback

    Advice to Management

    Have structured employee training, improve the culture valuing the people utilizing their experience, integrate employees more into change management

    Legrand North America Response

    Jun 4, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We're proud of the product diversity and the opportunity that affords for getting involved in stimulating projects.

    We hope you will take advantage of the... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "IT Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Middletown, PA
    Former Employee - IT Director in Middletown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Legrand North America full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good people throughout the organization

    Cons

    Growth though acquisition results in high turnover

    Advice to Management

    You need to consolidate business systems

    Legrand North America Response

    May 15, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of the quality of our people throughout the company. Our turnover is measured and benchmarked quarterly, and is on target with industry norms... More


  6. "Review of Legrand North America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Legrand North America full-time

    Pros

    Growing company with numerous opportunities in marketing, , engineering and manufacturing. Multiple locations and wide range of products.

    Cons

    Company is overloaded with accounting and financial leaders who try to drive the business by squeezing vendors for cost reductions and manipulating payment terms.

    Advice to Management

    Look deeper into the core business and focus on product development to drive long term results vs chasing the budget every month.

    Legrand North America Response

    Apr 30, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you for recognizing our amazing growth trajectory, global presence, wide project range and tremendous number of open-posted roles.

    We pride ourselves on profitable growth and on driving... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Heading in the Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Legrand North America full-time

    Pros

    Most leaders encourage ownership and accountability at the various skill levels. Communication regarding corporate performance and the current initiatives is very good. Social media presence is great - interesting and well-done content!

    Cons

    Better communication across the various business units (brands), the different offices, and even at the department level is needed. So many platforms to communicate, it's hard to know where to look! (Yammer, Salesforce, Sharepoints, Chatter, etc.)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work - and keep your heart in it!

    Legrand North America Response

    Mar 25, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you for this positive review. We are very aware of the challenges with the multiple communication platforms, appreciate your candor.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "You have to be willing to play their game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Moraine, OH
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Moraine, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Legrand North America full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, hours, work life balance

    Cons

    Management is horrible( at least mine). They don't promote off of talent. They only promote their friends. If you are able to play their game. The advancement is endless outside of Ohio office.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time in the office an pay attention to who you have in charge.

    Legrand North America Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you so much for your input. We are glad to see that you are pleased with your compensation, schedule, and your work / life balance.

    We do provide specific feedback to all internal... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place for a Career - Not "JUST a Job""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Legrand North America full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Legrand is a large electrical manufacturer that provides solutions that satisfy the needs of many aspects of the electrical industry. Solutions that span from the home owner to the industrial plant, from the education market to healthcare, from commercial buildings to hospitality. Legrand understands that it is the customer experience that must be satisfied. They are a leader in innovation and the only electrical manufacturer to be listed in the Forbes Top 100 Most Innovative Companies.

    Cons

    Only cons are that it is a large matrixed organization which produces unique challenges that also companies of this magnitude present.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to Invest in Innovation

    Legrand North America Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you for this helpful review. Managing a matrixed organization structure definitely requires good collaboration skills, which we value highly.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Investing in future leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director
    Current Employee - Director
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Legrand North America full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Legrand values development and education of emerging leaders to ready them for future leadership opportunities. It is refreshing to see the dedication from current leaders in terms of time and effort in educating and coaching employees with high potential. The company encourages lateral movements and relocation to accommodate career growth and employee satisfaction.

    Cons

    Located in snow country ...

    Legrand North America Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – VP, Talent Management & Development

    Thank you! Definitely making good strides here and have lots more we can do!


Showing 42 of 47 reviews
Reset Filters